We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property amazing price”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kapaa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kakalina's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 10 Kapaa B&B and Inns
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice property amazing price”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Spent 7 nights at Kakalina's staying in 2 bedroom suite which she made available to us even though we were a party of just 2 total price a little over $700. When we first arrived in Kauai it was dark and raining and I could not find my GPS (did find it the next day buried in luggage) So I had to call Kathy to help us find her place so gave us directions and was waiting for us in the rain when we arrived and showed us to our room. Room was clean and looks as it did in pictures on website. A Light breakfast was left in room every night, sometimes the cake was eaten as a late night snack. Breakfast was perfect for eating on go before morning excursions. Waking up in the morning you get to see all the tropical flowers that Kathy has on her property. Short drive to beach which provides nice pictures as you come down the mountain especially in the mornings. Heavy rain one day provide a great picture of water falls coming off the mountain seen from behind the property. Yes there are rooster and they start crowing around 2:00 -3:00am and they don't let up, this is an island wide phenomena. During our stay we would have about 7-10 minutes of hot water which made for quick showers after day long hikes. Property is located about 25-30 miles to either end of island but this 25 mile drive will take about hour. On our next trip to Kauai we will stay a few nights at different points in Kauai and will definitely stay a few nights a Kakalina's when we stop over in Kapaa.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venusproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    11
    0
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Landenberg, PA
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We spent four nights in the Hale Elua unit in January. The combination bedroom, kitchen and living area is spacious and well furnished. The price of $85 is quite reasonable, even when the $65 cleaning fee is considered. Although we missed the camaraderie of a shared breakfast, Kathy left an ample and tasty Hawaiian breakfast in the room each morning and provided snorkel and beach gear for our use throughout our stay. This B&B’s location is quiet (except for the roosters everywhere in Kauai) and convenient – about an 8-minute drive from downtown Kapaa. For us, two additional attractive features were the car rental arrangements Kathy made (at a MUCH lower rate than Hotwire offered) and the three acres of lavishly landscaped grounds surrounding the rooms. Kathy kindly provided a guided tour of those grounds.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tillamook
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Our room at Kakalina's and the hospitality we received were perfect for us. Our accommodation was comfortable, colorful and spacious. The flowers and plants all around us, and the breakfasts of absolutely delicious breakfast breads and fruits...all assured us we were in Hawaii! It was so nice to be able to stay at the quiet edge of town and yet quickly reach the beautiful azure ocean at Kealia Beach each day. Kakalina's was a great jumping-off point for all parts of the island. Our hostess helpfully arranged a good car rental for us too. Thanks for everything, Kathy!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzogenaurach, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We spent a week in Hale 'Akahi. Generally, we prefer calm and secluded accomodations - Hale 'Akahi fulfilled all our expectations. We will never forget the romantic tropic evenings in the wooden lanai, the lush flower garden, the nice breakfast (fresh fruit and juice, home made cake) which Kathy brougt to the fridge every evening before. We appreciated to brew coffee and have breakfast when we were up to do so.

The rooms were very clean, nice furniture, the soft bed very comfortable.

We felt to be near to Paradise!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weisbachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Valley, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed here and thoroughly enjoyed our time. Our room had a screened in porch area, perfect for having a wonderful breakfast provided by Kathy, the host. All we could see in any direction was the beauty of the lush tropical plants that surrounded us. At night, we heard no traffic, no neighbors, just the peaceful sound of evening showers.
Every morning we enjoyed orange juice and delicious baked goods like banana bread or poppy seed loaf. And the fruit, what a treat! Apple bananas, papayas, oranges, and pears ---a perfectly wonderful meal before setting off on the day's adventure. Kathy was helpful and showed us the meaning of the word "aloha", yes she is busy---but she helped out with whatever we needed. The neighborhood was quiet and beautiful, we took many morning and evening walks to enjoy the landscape and the tropical breezes. We were located conveniently to all the island has to offer, but could return to our room and feel away from it all. Enjoyed every minute, hated to leave!
Maveh and Joe

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MavehVissers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2012

A trip to Hawaii means living at the ocean, or so I thought. My husband and I recently spent half of our Kauai week at Kakalina's and half of the week in a condo in Poipu. I was able to get my ocean fix with long days at the beaches on the north and east side of the island, yet return in the evening to the quiet and seclusion of our room at Kakalina's, especially enjoying the deep bath tub and the front porch. We fell asleep to the soothing sound of gentle rainfall and awoke to the call of roosters. Kathy, our hostess, did not intrude but was available to answer all our questions, offering recommendations about activities and restaurants. She provided us with fresh juice, island fruits and baked goods, replenishing them whenever we depleted the supply. We definitely prefer the quiet of this location to the congestion we found on the south side of the island and we look forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed 6 nights at Kakalina's. Overall it is very great. Kathy, the host, is a busy woman so the service is not part of it and I felt she had no time to loose with any extra conversation but when I needed something she always picked up the phone and helped me. She is also a fantastic baker, so somedays, when we were lucky, she backed some amazing banana bread or cinnamon cakes... Days without luck we had plain bagels that I doubt she had backed. The rooms/studio are very spacious and clean, prices are more than reasonnable. There is also a bunch of beach towels, short boards, books ect... that you can borrow !
To me the only annoyance was the noise created by roosters ( they are all over the island), it is very very noisy, not only in the morning but it can happen also in the middle of the night.
Overall a very good place to stay in Kauai !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank julilali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
4.0 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
4.0 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
6.3 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
11.2 mi away
Makai Club
Makai Club
#1 of 1 in Princeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kakalina's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kakalina's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Kakalina's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 6781 Kawaihau Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-9033
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Kakalina's Bed And Breakfast Kauai, Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing