We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden rooms not so garden-y.”
Review of Hotel Coral Reef

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Coral Reef
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I have only stayed in the garden room. The room I had was upstairs and had no garden in sight, only a view of a vacant lot and old buildings next door. It was close to the road so noise was an issue but if the door is shut and the AC on it can be drowned out. The room could use refurbishing. The tub and tile was the worst. The tub was stained brown and old. The floor grout almost black in the heavy trafficked areas. The room itself was nicely furnished though a little worn from use. The comforter had toothpaste, or something, on it from a previous guest. I took it off the bed. Everything else looked clean. This is the bargain room so no in-room coffee, small frig, wi-fi, or any other frills. I understand the ocean view rooms are much nicer, also more spendy. If you just want a place to sleep that is pretty clean and reasonably priced, although a little worn, the garden room works. The people at the front desk are talkative, helpful, and friendly. It's Hawaii, how much time are you in the room anyway?

Room Tip: If it is in your budget, go for the ocean view rooms rather than the garden rooms. I am sure the exp...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Greekdreams2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Coral Reef
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2011

Hotel Coral Reef is a great place to stay - the ocean front rooms are exactly that - fabulous views of the ocean around 100 yards away. Its a small family run place - so don't expect the Grand Hyatt - but they make up for the small size with very comfortable and attractive guest rooms, great location and absolutely reasonable rates. Best of all is that the staff is friendly, welcoming and very helpful. The hotel rents bikes for about $5 a day and there's a several mile long bike/walk/jogging path directly in front of the hotel. The TV's in the rooms have lots of channels, so you have something to do during down-time.

The area is good because its kinda in the middle - between the north shore and waimea - and not too far from the airport. We had no trouble getting around the island and appreciated the central location of Hotel Coral Reef. There are also many nice restaurants within walking distance or a short drive away.

When I go back to Kauai, no question, I"ll stay at Hotel Coral Reef again!

Room Tip: If you can afford the few extra dollars and if you'll be hanging out in the room sometimes, go f...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edmund S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed 5 nights at the Coral Reef for our whole stay in Kauai. The price was a bargain, but due to an outdated website, we thought we had booked a Garden King Bed room. When we checked in, we found out that there were no Garden King Bed rooms, only Garden Queen Bed rooms. To get a king bed, we would have had to upgrade to an Oceanfront room, which would have represented a $150 price hike. Yikes!

LOCATION
Great location. Right off the main road. Kapaa is a central place in the island and it’s totally feasible to drive around the island from Kapaa. In fact, we preferred that to having to change hotels during our stay. However, bring your earplugs. Because it is so close from the road, it can get a little noisy.

ROOM
Room was pretty spacious, with A/C. Bed was comfy. No Wifi in the room, but you could connect in the common areas.

SERVICE
We were a bit disappointed by the service. We had specifically written beforehand that our plane would land in the evening and that we would get to the hotel pretty late (wrote twice, never got and answer back). When we arrived at the hotel at 9:30 am, no one was there. There was only a small general note to call a number in case of “emergencies”. We had no cell phone, so we had to try to find a public payphone (that’s hard!) and left a message in a very impersonal voicebox that only said “Please leave a message”. We prayed we had dialled the right number, and then waited. And then waited again. 45 minutes later, a man showed up, very relaxed and unapologetic. Then we had to fight for the room: our booking said “Garden King room” and he said there was no such thing. We tried to get upgraded to an Ocean Room to get the King bed, but he wouldn’t flinch. We finally settled for a $10 a night rebate. All this pretty much left a bad aftertaste in our mouths.

CLEANLINESS
It was OK.

FOOD
Pretty lousy. The website said “free continental breakfast”, but that translated in melon and cantaloop pieces and grocery store pre-packaged pastries, which were kind of gross. Don’t expect to survive on their breakfast, that’s all I can say.

VALUE
Despite all the problems we had, the Coral Reef is still a bargain. Probably the cheapest you’ll get in the whole island for the quality. Just don’t expect a resort-type service and room. If all you’re looking for is a room to crash after a good long day of beach, surf, snorkelling or hiking, then it’s perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sauerkraut80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

stayed here passing through...stumbled upon this motel...simple, clean and a bit charming too. lovely location - great coffee shop right across the street and everything within a short walk. staff are pleasant and helpful (and the young grandkid of managers hanging on the porch was so cute and funny!). great place to stay for a night or few! Good value, clean, roomy, simple motel...just book it.

****you must go to the southern BBQ just down the road on the highway...can;t remember the name...its a shack outside....nothing like this place...love it!!***

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruntoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

For comfort, fair prices, a wonderful staff, and an an overall amazing place to stay on Kauai, look no further than the Coral Reef Hotel in Kapaa, Kauai, Hawaii. I came to the island to stay with friends, but the hotel was so much more comfortable, I decided to stay there instead... And it was so nice, I didn't want to leave!

The rates were affordable, and the rooms were clean, well-air conditioned, and tastefully decorated. It was so much fun to wake up to the breakfast (fresh fruit and delicious toasted coconut coffee included with the stay-yum!), chat with the amazingly friendly and knowledgeable staff, and relax at night to a movie (the front desk had a nice selection of DVDs) or watch cable on the huge screen tv.

The best part of my week in Kauai was finding and staying at the Coral Reef Hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Stumbled upon this beach front boutique hotel, when my Vacation Rental By Owner booking was a disaster. This hotel was amazing. We snagged one of the ocean front rooms at a $139/night rate that I thought was more than reasonable. The bed and linens were sooooo comfortable. The air conditioning was cold and the room decor made you feel like you were staying in a home, not a hotel. Walking distance to many restaurants, coffee shops and stores. The hotel fronts a boardwalk that is between your ocean front room and the ocean. The offer free wireless Internet, but I couldn't get it to working room 2206. The warmth of the staff really make this place a delight to stay at for your short stay on Kauai and the town of Kapa'a is perfectly situated in the middle of the island for activities in the North or the South. We will be back and we highly recommend!

Room Tip: Stay in the ocean front rooms on the second floor. We stayed one night on the first floor and the pe...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I stayed at The Coral Reef Hotel on my vacation this summer. I found the hotel to be clean, comfortable, and so relaxing. Every room has an ocean view and I couldn't have asked for better service from the staff. The property managers George and Rhonda are great!

Room Tip: Any room is good
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gialovesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
4.9 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,335 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
2.0 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
8.6 mi away
Garden Island Inn Hotel
14.1 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coral Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coral Reef

Address: 4-1516 Kuhio Hwy, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1830
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: £114 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Coral Reef 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore beautiful Kauai from our centrally located OCEANFRONT Hotel! Hotel Coral Reef, built in 1956, is known to be the island's original boutique hotel. Located in the historical town of Kapa'a, which features a variety of unique stores and restaurants for visitors to enjoy, Hotel Coral Reef invites you to experience our beautiful oceanfront guest rooms located 50 steps from the warm waters of the Pacific Ocean. Perched on a gorgeous coral reef area, great for snorkeling, our intimate setting allows you to connect and reflect with "The Garden Island's" natural beauty. Direct access to the Ke Ala Hele Makalae ("the path that goes by the coast") allows you to bike, walk, run, or stroll the magnificent East-side coastline. Scenic vistas offer glimpses of pounding surf, spouting whales, and if you are lucky, a visit from one of Hawaii's elusive monk seals. Our King and Double Queen rooms will allow you to relax, unwind, and rejuvenate your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Coral Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Reef Kapaa
Hotel Coral Reef Kauai, Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing