We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Coral Reef
Nearby Hotels
US$1,457
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$296
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$493
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$434
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kauai Shores Hotel(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
US$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Plantation Hale Suites(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lae Nani(Kapaa)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveller rating
245
100
26
13
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
100
26
13
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtcontinental breakfastpeggy suesmall hotelboutique hotelbike pathocean frontjacuzzi tubbanana breadevery morningfree bicyclespaved walkingbeach towelsseveral milespalm treesrooms were very cleanthe entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 398 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2012

The staff here was very friendly. It was good to get to know the staff personally. The sunrise views are spectacular. The sound of the ocean is very soothing. Kappa is a nice town. It has a lot of local joints and most people are very friendly. The room was also nice. The shower was really nice. The bed a little worn but nice. The furnishings were also very nice. Jacuzzi tub was really nice also. Really enjoyed it I would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DJ989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

From the outside it may not look like much, but from the inside...every detail is richly embellished. what a wonderful night (stayed there on election night 2012 and enjoyed the big flat screen tv with the breeze from the ocean blowing in the room).

the jacuzzi tub was a nice addition to my morning wash.

1 issue was that there was no clear way to turn the fan on when turning off the lights. in the middle of the night when i was too hot i fumbled around and found some sliders and switches in the closet...wish this was a bit easier. and there seems to be no switch for the a/c unit even though they have one. could be because they are an eco-friendly hotel....so that's fine with me :)

Room Tip: i stayed in room 2207 and tried to use the stairs closest to the pool for beach acess but found it difficult to get through the bushes there. guess the beach access is easier on rooms closer to the middle of hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simplerlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Mahalo again, George and Rhonda for your hospitality at the Hotel Coral Reef!!!! I love this place, it's right on the Kapaa trail, the beach, great location in town, walking distance to everything!! The rooms are so pretty, and the upgrade of the microwave and refrigerator in every room is a big plus!!!! This is my second time I've stayed here, and I will be back for sure!! A big ALOHA from Scottsdale to you in Kapaa!! Mahalo!

Room Tip: definitely go for the ocean front room upstairs so you can leave the doors open and hear the surf all night!!!!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindalomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We REALLY loved this hotel. After an extremely disappointing stay at a bed and breakfast in Poipu, we arrived for the last 4 nights here in Kapaa. We opened the door of our room and our eyes lit up. A beautiful room with an awesome view of the ocean, comfortable bedding, air conditioning, jacuzzi tub.

Problems? 2 lights that were out when we arrived. Fixed in less than 5 minutes. Amazing... service was incredible. The innkeepers were super friendly, and invited guests to several cultural events, which were a lot of fun. They were filled with the true 'aloha spirit'.

A continental breakfast was served early every morning, with fresh fruit, juices, breads, coffee, and a smile. All of the innkeepers were friendly, talkative, and made us feel very welcome.

Oh and they have a very nice pool too, and are right next to the ocean, with a wonderful path to go for walks along the ocean for sunrise, or whenever the mood strikes.

We felt very lucky to have stayed here, and will definitely look forward to returning on our next trip...

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the ocean. You'll be glad you did!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SANFRANBYNIGHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Just had to write a review saying what a wonderful time we had at the Coral Reef Hotel. We only had four days to spend on Kauai and we wanted to feel like we were living in Hawaii again. Staying at the Coral Reef allowed us to do so, and we enjoyed every minute. George, Rhonda, and Kapua were always friendly, smiling, and helpful with our every request. After watching the sun rise every morning, we would look forward to coffee and breakfast with George, talking story and sharing our plans for the day. It's easy to get anywhere on the island from Kapaa, and I love the easy and beautiful drive north from this location. If you enjoy hiking, the west trail to nearby Sleeping Giant is secluded and spectacular. Our room was excellent, we had a ground floor king and appreciated the fine linens and luxurious bedding you don't typically find in an affordable hotel. We are so appreciative for the aloha shown us and are already planning on returning as soon as we are able.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank typingmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews