We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value - right on the beach, walking distance to town”
Review of Hotel Coral Reef

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Coral Reef
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2010

This was a great find at the right price - right on the beach and within walking distance to town. I loved that it was on the coastal path where you could walk, bike or run. Staff every helpful and sweet - very comfortable and down home. The town and great supply of restaurants are nearby. I was in a room right on the main road, but it still didn't affect my sleep - especially with the price I paid!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveToTravel33301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2010

I stayed at the Coral Reef Hotel for a few days this month and they were very accomodating. The room was clean, and reasonably priced during a time of high season. (the bed was amazing!!) I found the owners, George and Rhonda Tandal to be very nice, as well as all of the front desk personnel, with honorable mention going out to Kawena Bagano, who rose to the occasion when I was experiencing some obstacles while traveling solo. They were informative and friendly and it felt like being part of a family. Undoubtedly, I will see them again especially since I believe in supporting the small/local business owners while traveling when at all possible. :0) Oh... the location was gorgeous, with a boardwalk along the ocean. It was centrally located, and close to galleries, shops, cafes, etc., but still very peaceful.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coolatta30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2009

Nice small ocean front hotel, nice view ,walk to town. Coral reef was a nice, newly renovated place smallish rooms and pool, grounds and rooms were very clean and tidy . The managers George & Rhonda ,and all staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recomend the Coral reef for couples. It was a little small for us and teenage daughter for an extended visit but that was our own fault not hotels. The rooms were nice and enjoyed an ocean view and were quiet expect for surf noise.( not safe swimming in front). I would not reccomend the non ocean front rooms as it appears there would be no View and noisy?
Good breakfast across street at Kountry Kitchen, pre-packaged pastriesand coffee in lobby not so hot.
I would suggest negotiating room rate prior to booking as they were flexible on there $139.00 fall special price. I paid $109 and felt it was good value for $$$.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripstress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

Jackpot! The Hotel Coral Reef was everything we could have hoped for and much, much more. After much research we decided that Kauai would be the ideal island for us to visit and that the Kapaa area would be the most centrally located area to base our daily activities. We discovered Hotel Coral Reef through Trip Adviser and noted that the guest comments were outstanding ever since the renovations were completed in 2007. After visiting their web site we booked a room for a week. It's a week that we'll never forget.

The oceanfront suite, with a lanai, was picture perfect. The room provided all the amenities we could want, from a refrigerator to a safe, from a king size bed to a jacuzzi. Waking up to a Pacific sunrise is a wonderful experience, especially with the music of the nearby surf. Our 3-mile morning walk was along the beautiful pathway that follows the ocean and provides stunning scenery. This path was mere steps from our room.

We didn't want to book in a "name" resort complex because of price, size, and the impersonal corporate environment. The Coral Reef is perfect for our kind of travel, as it has affordable rates, is relatively small (20 suites?) and has a very warm and friendly staff. The proprietors, Rhonda and George, were extremely helpful and generous in providing us with information and booking specials for various activities such as luaus and sunset catamaran cruises. Now we're privileged to consider them our friends. We exchanged many hugs at the end of our trip, including one with our wonderful housekeeper.

After driving daily to the many beautiful destinations of Kauai, it's a pleasure to return to the room and enjoy a beverage or two on the lanai. A real bonus is that there are several fine places to eat just a stroll away, making driving unnecessary. You have all the advantages of being at the edge of an historic town, but as soon as you emerge from the parking lot you become immersed in the beauty of nature on what seems to be a remote part of the island. The location is perfect. During our week of touring Kauai, we never once saw a place that we would rather stay than the Coral Reef. If you are good and friendly people who love to get the full experience of both the sites and the local people when you travel, you'll find a home at the Hotel Coral Reef.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JanBobF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Coral Reef for 5 days in September. The hotel is beautiful and clean with great views. This is one of the better deals on the island and it is centrally located. Alex "three legs" the cat will be your special friend while you are there. He pays no attention to the Roosters! We really enjoyed staying here. The manager (George and his wife) are full of aloha. We arrived late and they were waiting up for us!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jerni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

From the street, it looks like a "no tell motel" which it may have been in the day, but this place has had a significant remodel in the last few years. All the furniture was top notch as were the rooms in general - super comfortable and well apportioned. They really did a wonderful job. The views are to die for - every room looks right on the ocean and being on the East side of the island allows you to watch the sunrise every morning - what a lovely treat! You are literally a stone's throw from the sea (though the beach right there isn't too great) and there's a lovely walking path right there that allows for a lovely morning or evening stroll. You are also within walking distance of Kapa'a town and some of the better restaurants (especially for breakfast) on the island (and pretty good espresso too!). The only complain I have is that the rooms had very little ventilation so leaving the window open (even at night) caused it to be a bit stuffy...but the room had A/C (quiet) and a fan so it was fine. And the price was pretty awesome too considering where you are (we got a screaming deal - recession pricing I guess!).

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DAL504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Spent 6 nights late July. It's a small place so if you are looking for valet's and bell hops facials or massages this is not the place. If what you want is a clean upscale room within walkking distance to restaurants this is the place. Our King Ocean front room was just as it looked in the pictures on their website. There is not a lot of sand on the beach right in front of the hotel but it's better than most place on Kauai.. You won't miss the sand that much though as the pool area is very nice. It's not large but it was never crowded while I was there.
Downside house keeping seemed a little spotty. Some days they forgot to leave shampoo (we were not stashing away any full ones). Some days the new towels smelled great some days a little mildewy. The towels in the rooms were very good best hotel towels I've seen in a while. Upside Very quiet the AC had no cycle noise. There was no noise from other guests or the road. Bed was very comfortable like you would get at a starwood or Marriott property. Grounds were well maintained and made it feel like home. Parking was always available. Kountry kitchen and The Eastside were within walking distance and both were very good. The folks that own the place were always helpful and made you feel welcome. I extended my stay by 1.5 days and wish I could have stayed a month.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SteveMiddleway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
4.9 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,380 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
2.0 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
1.7 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
8.6 mi away
Garden Island Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coral Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coral Reef

Address: 4-1516 Kuhio Hwy, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1830
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: £120 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Coral Reef 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore beautiful Kauai from our centrally located OCEANFRONT Hotel! Hotel Coral Reef, built in 1956, is known to be the island's original boutique hotel. Located in the historical town of Kapa'a, which features a variety of unique stores and restaurants for visitors to enjoy, Hotel Coral Reef invites you to experience our beautiful oceanfront guest rooms located 50 steps from the warm waters of the Pacific Ocean. Perched on a gorgeous coral reef area, great for snorkeling, our intimate setting allows you to connect and reflect with "The Garden Island's" natural beauty. Direct access to the Ke Ala Hele Makalae ("the path that goes by the coast") allows you to bike, walk, run, or stroll the magnificent East-side coastline. Scenic vistas offer glimpses of pounding surf, spouting whales, and if you are lucky, a visit from one of Hawaii's elusive monk seals. Our King and Double Queen rooms will allow you to relax, unwind, and rejuvenate your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Coral Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Reef Kapaa
Hotel Coral Reef Kauai, Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing