We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Peaceful”
Review of Hotel Coral Reef

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Coral Reef
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We searched out the best value we could find online. We couldn't have dreamed how beautiful the Hotel Coral Reef would be. The staff is so helpful with setting up activities. The beach is gorgeous and right outside the oceanfront room. The bed was so comfortable, and the crashing waves and breezy palms drifted us to sleep each night. Leaving was the hardest thing to do!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilovehawaii070806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2010

It was our first trip to Kauai. We wanted someplace clean & affordable, with a pool. The pictures of the Hotel Coral Reef Resort rooms here on TA & on their website looked great, but we had no way of knowing. We booked, thinking we could look for something else if it wasn't that nice once we were on the island.
The Hotel Coral Reef Resort looks small from the road, like an older motel. But you could see the fresh paint, that the property was clean and taken care of. George, Rhonda and the other staff made us feel at home for almost 2 weeks. They left us to relax and were helpful when asked about the island ie. places to go, things we should see, where we could eat. The room really was just like the pictures, beautifully renovated a couple years ago. The wall of windows and sliding door allowed us to watch & hear the ocean from bed. Can't say enough about the value vs. the room quality. It had a mini kitchenette with fridge, microwave, coffee maker & sink, so we didn't have to eat out every single meal. Laundry facilities were also available, useful since we'd already been to another island.
There are two minor things other travelers should know, neither of which took away from our wonderful experience. First, the 'continental breakfast' might not fit your
expectation, but is a little something to tide you over. It consisted of coffee/tea & packaged pastries in the lobby. If you're lucky, Rhonda might be making her
delicious banana bread while you're there. Secondly, there is wireless internet, but it hadn't been expanded to the oceanfront rooms yet. So we had to go to the lobby or enjoy the outdoors while checking in with the kids and business back home, not a big deal at all.
We're so glad we took our chances, and will definitely go back to the Hotel Coral Reef Resort if we have an opportunity to return to Kauai!

P.S. Wish we had found JAVA KAI (down the street) sooner, for that quality cup of coffee I love. I am a black coffee lover, and this was the best cup we found in Hawaii, other than Kona Joe's coffee plantation on the Big Island of Hawaii, of course. If you want a diner-style breakfast, go to the KOUNTRY KITCHEN restaurant across the street. It's busy because the locals eat there too. Rhonda told us we could ask for no oil, but we didn't take her advice & found it greasy. If you order pancakes, don't get a larger stack unless you're really, really hungry. There are three of them, plate-sized. Way too much to eat.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whichislandnext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Despite the negatives we experienced, I would stay here again because of the price/value, location and bed/linens. It's right on the ocean, with a small grassy area then the paved walking path, then non-swimmable coast. Very small, so an ocean front room is that, literally (not 3 city blocks away). The king bed was very comfortable and linens very nice, ocean breeze through room lovely, could walk to restaurants. We loved Kapa'a, some great food here and nice yoga class. It's a good base for exploring the north and east side of Kauai, which we did before heading south.

Negatives: bathroom extremely dark, the nice furniture way too big for size of room so walking/sitting very cramped, could not get a non-decaf coffee packet (maid kept leaving 2 decaf!) and after asking 3 days in a row at the office they treated me like I was a coffee hoarder!, parking lot a lake during rains so actual park-able spots at a minimum, so-called spa or whatever non-existent and/or closed, continental breakfast a joke. With all the above, still totally worth the price.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PacificLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

George, Ronda and staff are all great! If you don't want a huge resort this is the place for you...sm. frig, and microwave with a great bed and everything was soooo clean. The pool was warm and gated. We had an ocean front room, for 8 nights, it just felt like Hawaii, relaxed, friendly, warm and being able to enjoy a coffee while watching the ocean was very special. When we return to Kauai, Coral Reef, George and Ronda will be our first call.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denhoffdkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Mahalo to George and Rhonda for making feel like part of your ohana (family) during our stay. The friendly service and the unexpected gift basket made our anniversary memorable.

We stayed in a clean and comfortable budget room ($85). Located near the street, there was a little street traffic noise but nothing that prevented a good nights sleep. The location of the hotel near downtown Kapa'a, a paved bike/walking path, and beach couldn't be beat. The location was also ideal for excursions to the north, south, and west shores ... about 45 mins to Hanalei or Waimea.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtaylor19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Our recent 8 day stay in the Hotel Coral Reef on Kauasi was like a little piece of heaven.
The central location in Kapaa was great, easy to go north or south. Lots of great restaurants and shops so did not have to travel far if you didn't want to. The Kountry Kitchen across the street for breakfast was wonderful. Getting in and out of the parking lot was a bit challenging with the traffic, but many times people were great and stopped for us. The manager Georege (and his wife) and Susan at the desk were so very helpful
and friendly what wonderful people. The rooms were absolutely beautiful and clean, just like the pictures on the web. We got the Ocean Front King room and it was perfect. You are only 50 ft from the beach, sunrise every morning coffee on the lani and watched the chickens chase each other. The walking/bike trail in front was very nice...really want to rent bikes next year...yes we definitely WILL go back. I did not want a big high rise nor spend a fortune on a room, so this was absolutely perfect. Felt very homey, quiet, calming, peaceful which is exactly what we wanted. No you can't swim in front of the hotel but the pool was very nice.....and there are lots of beaches to go to....Recommend this hotel HIGHLY!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purplewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Coral Reef is a wonderful getaway, clean and updated, this was the 2nd stay and we are very pleased.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgcarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
4.9 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,421 reviews
2 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#9 of 11 in Kapaa
96 reviews
2 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Garden Island Inn Hotel
16.7 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
1.7 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coral Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coral Reef

Address: 4-1516 Kuhio Hwy, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1830
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: £118 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Coral Reef 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore beautiful Kauai from our centrally located OCEANFRONT Hotel! Hotel Coral Reef, built in 1956, is known to be the island's original boutique hotel. Located in the historical town of Kapa'a, which features a variety of unique stores and restaurants for visitors to enjoy, Hotel Coral Reef invites you to experience our beautiful oceanfront guest rooms located 50 steps from the warm waters of the Pacific Ocean. Perched on a gorgeous coral reef area, great for snorkeling, our intimate setting allows you to connect and reflect with "The Garden Island's" natural beauty. Direct access to the Ke Ala Hele Makalae ("the path that goes by the coast") allows you to bike, walk, run, or stroll the magnificent East-side coastline. Scenic vistas offer glimpses of pounding surf, spouting whales, and if you are lucky, a visit from one of Hawaii's elusive monk seals. Our King and Double Queen rooms will allow you to relax, unwind, and rejuvenate your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Coral Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Reef Kapaa
Hotel Coral Reef Kauai, Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing