We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Islander on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

Our ground floor room was large & clean w/ micro, small frig, dishes, dish soap & tea towel. Property is peaceful with lots of beautiful flowers & well laid out with pool, pool bar, self-laundry & free DVD's. Coconut Marketplace next door has a few shops & take-away style restaurants. Other than that, there is little activity going on, but maybe that is just Kuaui! Would be nice to have Wi-fi in rooms & breakfast available!

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank laurenat40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    657
    245
    80
    49
See reviews for
209
996
75
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Aston Islander. Our room was very spacious and really beautiful. I loved the decor and the beds were amazing. We could see a slice of the ocean from our room and lanai. There was a mini fridge, microwave, coffee pot and sink.
The laundry facilities were great, and had a free DVD rental machine inside to use in your room.
There was a small shopping center next door which we visited a few nights. There were some small places to eat, so we would just grab dinner and take it back and enjoy it in our room or on the lanai. There was a lot of parking but it always seem to fill very quickly, we were lucky and seemed to grab the last open spot a couple nights. The staff was very friendly.
I would happily stay here again because I loved the location, the beautiful room and being able to walk down to the beach each morning and night across the lovely grounds.
Kauai is truly beautiful...flowers everywhere and the people of Kauai are wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank slj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

We loved our ocean front, 3rd floor room in the Nihau building! We woke up to the sunset every morning, we slept to the sound of the ocean right outside our door every night. The grounds of the hotel were absolutely beautiful with all the flowers, and lots of plumeria trees. We enjoyed having quieter, older fellow resort guests. I purposely picked the Islander because I knew it wasn't a great swimming beach and probably wouldn't attract a lot of young families. However, we enjoyed the shade trees just feet from the beach to sit in the lounge chairs and enjoy the view and read. Our room had some dishes and knives and cutting boards so we could have breakfast on the lanai. There were restaurants in walking distance, a nice path to walk along the beach, and shopping in the Coconut Marketplace. We experienced no parking issues, just ask for a pass to put in your windsheild to park next door. The staff were always very helpful and friendly. We would definitely go back to the Islander again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ritajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

The Aston is not too far from LIH airport and is pretty much centrally located in getting around the island to the other attractions. We used frequent flyer points to stay here and chose the Aston based on reviews from tripadvisor. We were looking for a clean, nice place within our point budget.
We were pleased upon our late arrival (11pm or so), the lobby desk was closed however our room key was left with the security guard in a sealed envelope w/paper work. No hassles, just checked in when we woke up the next morning. We got a garden view room with two full size beds on the second floor (there are no elevators as previously mentioned, but was not really a problem for us). Our garden view was beautiful as the grounds are well kept yet we had a very nice ocean view at the same time. Bonus for us since we didn't care either way; we would rather view the ocean by actually standing on the beach rather than from our room.
The room itself was very clean; big bathroom, kitchenette (sink, microwave, mini fridge, mini coffee maker, cupboards w/utensils), two full size beds (wish they were queens for a little extra room), clean linens, TV (a tad outdated), playstation2/DVD player, table w/2 chairs, air conditioned, balcony w/ table & 2 chairs. The room was tiled and had granite counter tops. The shower/tub were a little outdated but worked and were clean.
There is a $10 resort fee which we thought should be optional but it isn't. The fee includes free DVD rentals which we utilized since we were paying for it anyway. The selection of DVDs were actually decent and pretty current; playstation games available too.
The pool area was in good condition with nice lounge chairs, umbrella coverings, and BBQ grills available for guests. The pool itself was clean but had minor cosmetic defects (bottom of pool was chipped) but was heated yet refreshing. The jacuzzi was also clean and in good working condition, decent sized, and sometimes a bit hot for such a warm climate.
The bartender was just OK. Nothing to write home about but she did make decent/strong drinks. We didn't spend much time at the bar, we sat down on the beach instead enjoying the surroundings.
The beach was beautiful in our eyes. Yes there is driftwood on the beach itself but we found it pretty. The water is nice but there is not much room to swim/float due to the reef/rocks. We just strapped on our snorkels and floated along the surface and enjoyed the different marine life. We found it convenient to have chairs and lounges provided by the hotel actually on the beach itself. They were not new but they were comfortable and we fell asleep a few times laying out.
Parking did get crowded towards the evening but we never had to park far; an easy 2 minute walk at most.
One more thing to add was that the walls were borderline thin. We could hear people if they were in the hall (some seemed obnoxious and loud in the rooms nearby ours) and in the courtyard. The cons of the Aston are not a deal breaker (for us) but something to add in just to make this review as real as possible.
I think we covered everything and overall we really enjoyed this property and would stay again.

Pros: CLEAN, good location, nice beach, good views, kitchenette.
Cons: resort fee, parking, thin walls, no elevators.

Room Tip: I hope this review was helpful. We are a very active couple and spent most of our days from sunrise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank Byebyebeautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

My partner and I were had a pleasant surprise when we open our door to our ocean view suite at the Aston Islander Resort. We were lucky enough to be offered a corner suite on the second floor of the front facing apartment blocks which gave us great ocean views from the front and side windows. Although you cannot swim along the oceanfront we were not disappointed as we enjoyed the views and sound of the magnificent ocean everyday from our balcony or inside our room if the weather was a bit cool. The room itself was clean and provided everything we needed with a large bed, couch, television, kitchenette and separate bathroom. We also found the resort staff and reception pleasant and accommodating.
We hired a car (we greatly recommend car hire) for the duration of our time on the island and parking was supplied in the parking lot out the front of the resort’s entrance and if the parking was full in that section we were given a pass to use the parking lot adjacent which didn’t bother us as it may have only been an extra minute walk from there to our room from the regular parking. The resort is also in a very central location. There are a great variety of grocery stores and shops that start from a distance of only a 5-minute drive away and some could easily be walked to. Our only little complaint is the pool bar which we attended one evening before dinner. I thought the service was poor and the cocktails very average, although it may be our Australian nature, we found it hard to enjoy our cocktail with the other guests making us feel out of place. But we could just put that down to bad luck or bad timing. Despite that we really enjoyed our stay. We would definitely stay again if we have the opportunity to holiday in Kauai again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatashaandShannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Pro
Modern, nice furniture (flat LCD TV), stone countertops (prob renovated in last 5 yrs)
have a mini fridge, sink, microwave, dishes, utensils in bedroom
large modern bathroom
small table and 2 chairs
cant hear neighbors
clean room and bathroom
porch (with extra table and 2 chairs) was cool, esp with oceanfront view
easy access to highway (with traffic light)
adjacent to mini-mall / restaurants for tourists
< 5 min drive to 2 plazas with 2 grocery stores, mcD, etc

Con
Room feels small. we had queen+sofabed. little floor space if open sofabed.
No breakfast/ hotel restaurant (but have fridge and microwave)
Hard to find parking after 7pm during our 4 nights.
mandatory resort fee of $10/day (for internet, local calls, dvd rentals)

though this hotel fronts the ocean, there is no beach at the hotel. goto lydgate if you wish to swim in ocean. hotel has pool and hot tub and coin-op laundry.

concierge desk closes early around 530pm. front desk at 11pm.

we got a great hotel-car deal from costcotravel.com. this was lower than entertainment book, which was lower than AAA.

Room Tip: ask for 2nd or 3rd floor for privacy (no elevator). ask for end units to get extra window :). ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
itsumi, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Aloha and Thank You for your review

Every review is read by our team here at Aston Islander on the Beach. We read and learn on how to better our services to every guest and owner coming to stay with us.

We agree with you that the beach is not a swimmable beach and we take our families to Lydgate as well. The snorkeling for fishes in the large area is perfect. Take some fish food and they will be right there swimming with you.

Parking is an on going issue, We have addititonal parking on the properties next to us and the property is moving forward to redesigning the parking lot as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Aston Islander on the Beach

With warmest aloha,

Sandi Kato-Klutke
General Manager
Aston Islander on the Beach
440 Aleka Place
Kapaa, HI 96746

Tel: 808 823-7600
sandi.kato-klutke@astonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

I was pretty disappointed in this hotel. I needed an "inexpensive" place to stay one night and looking online, thought this one may fit the bill. The pictures looked nice on their website, but the images you see are far from the truth.

It was not inexpensive, after the taxes and resort fees, even with my AAA "discount" it came to over $150 per night. I paid extra for an ocean view room (what the hell, you only live once) and the room I got was a partial ocean view at best.

I see some complaints about the reception, however both girls I dealt with were very friendly and nice.

The bed made horrible squeaking noises every time I moved. I feel sorry for whoever was in the room beneath me. It was also horribly warped and not at all comfortable.

I had to call the front desk to figure out how to use the internet. Turns out there was a broken cord behind the TV I had to pull out. It fell out of my computer every time I moved slightly and the connection was not good.

Resort fees: They charge you $10.64 per day for one miserable packet of coffee and the crappy internet service. I asked if I had to pay this, I'd skip the coffee and internet to avoid it, but they said no.

The location of the hotel is not good either. The beach it is on is not swim-able, it is the place where trees and driftwood go to die. Also, Kapaa is probably the worst area on the island, kind of an overbuilt nightmare of tacky tourist shops and ugly strip malls with no shops of value.

If you are looking for a tropical vacation paradise, this is NOT it. Poipu or the North Shore are where you want to be if you want a nice vacation.

NOTE: Check http://VRBO.com. (Vacation Rentals By Owner) Some of the units here are privately owned, and go for as little as $60 per night if you deal with the owner directly. However, I do not recommend you stay here. I found an awesome deal on the north shore, a cute 1-bedroom condo with a full ocean view that cost less than this place, in a nice area, and in great condition.

Good luck!

Room Tip: Look on VRBO.com for a better deal. Best bet, stay in Poipu or in Princeville for that enjoyable tro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OcTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
itsumi, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Aloha!

It's always great to hear from our guests and I do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your short stay.

We will have maintenance and housekeeping check all of our beds in the ocean view category. A squeeky bed does not lend to a great night's sleep.

As to the ocean front, Yes, it is not a swimable beach and we do have lots of drift wook. We are currently working with the County of Kauai that has jurisdiction of the beach to coordinate a beach clean up. We will continue to work to this end.

Wishing you a wonderful Summer

Sandi kato-Klutke
General Manager
Aston Islander on the Beach
440 Aleka Place
Kapaa, HI 96746

Tel. 808 823-7600
sandi.kato-klutke@astonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
14.8 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
6.5 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Property: Aston Islander on the Beach
Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1420
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a stunning oceanfront location, Aston Islander on the Beach offers true island hospitality with warm service and convenient amenities. Contemporary tropical-inspired guest rooms include air-conditioning and private balconies. Sitting on six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, Aston Islander on the Beach features a sparkling pool with a poolside bar, lush gardens for strolling, and a beautiful beachfront location - popular for viewing Hawaiian monk seals. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. It's impressive oceanfront and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. Please note: The hotel collects a daily amenity fee which includes DVD movies and Playstation 3 game rentals, Airport Shuttle service (must call hotel direct at least 24-72 hours in advance to make arrangements), a refreshing welcome drink per guest, daily newspaper, daily coffee and tea, in-room safe, WiFi internet, and local & toll-free calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai, Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing