We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aston Islander on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Honeymoon awesome!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here in room 353 oceanfront for 4 nights. Incredibly happy with the hotel and location. If you are one who likes lavish continental breakfasts and room service, this is NOT the property for you. However, if you like having a little kitchen, super nice staff and some quiet, stay here. We were here for the first leg of our honeymoon and were incredibly happy with the experience. Quiet and beautiful beaches, great pool and good shopping. Great location for getting around. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Upgrade to oceanfront. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    674
    248
    81
    50
See reviews for
215
1,020
78
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This was a great oceanfront property, with good views and access to other activities. From here we went to Waimea Canyon, on a Na Pali cruise/snorkel tour, to the Kauai Coffee Co., to see the play "South Pacific", and to the north shore to the lighthouse and beyond. We slept to the sound of the breaking waves every night.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Kauai unit (and the other matching one on the other side) have the best oceanfront view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We rented a unit at Islander on the Beach from a private owner and were very happy with our choice. The resort itself was quiet except for the remodeling of the lanais while we were there. The pool area and tiki bar is a great place to relax. We did not have to pay a separate amenity or parking fee which was a nice break. We never had any trouble finding parking, but we were back at the condo early in the evening. It might have been more difficult if we had gone out to supper and came back later. The shops across the parking lot had lots of nice souvenirs and clothing. We ate at a couple of the restaurants that we could walk to and found them to be good too.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank futureFloridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is a nice hotel right on a beach. The grounds are very pretty and well maintained, great sunrise views! Nice pool area. As others state, the room is rather small, but, didn't spend all that much time at the room. For the most part, the hotel is pleasant and very quiet. Parking, however, is awful. That is basically the only reason I would not stay here again. No one travels 4,500 to fight for a parking place at the hotel they have paid for. Also, the beach isn't recommended for swimming (I can't even recommend it for walking on) It would be a lot better if they would rake the sand to keep it clean of debris so you could walk bare foot without getting injured. There are a lot of sticks & sharp things from the trees on the sand, so you really cannot walk the beach without shoes. They had a small breakfast (some pastries, apples (I didn't see any other fruit), & water / coffee. It was ok, but wasn't really worth waiting in the line for. Nice touch though. This Aston seemed a little cheaper (for lack of a better word) than other Aston's I have stayed at. One thing that stuck out to me was that they didn't have the nice bar soaps that the other Aston's in Hawaii have. (Personally, I really love that soap, so I missed having it at this hotel). I believe there is laundry on site somewhere, but I didn't use it. The pool has a bar, but I don't know if they had food for purchase there. There's a great little place called Harley's over in the coconut market place that has good food at very reasonable prices. Get it to go & take back to the room!
Feel free to message me with any questions :)

Room Tip: Ocean front is the way to go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grain190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Good location, older resort, a little short on parking, you'll be charged an amenity fee of 15.00 a day plus parking fee of 10.00 a day on top of the room rate. It does have wireless, refrig. & Microwave. Our Queen size bed was Not comfortable. Coffee, juice, pastries, and fresh fruit from 8-9 am, but they were out of the fruit by 8:30, not available on Sundays.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank All4Aloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The room was small but very functional. Air conditioning, Fridge and microwave worked well. Very clean, You can sit out at night at your room on a good size patio. Good size, very clean pool close the beach

The $15 per day additional amenity fee was a surprise and would have been quite expensive for a longer stay. Our wifi did not work - They use an eight digit alpha numeric access code which was difficult to enter. The coconut shopping centre was close by.

Overall it was a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Beware of the $15 per day amenity charge above the posted room rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selah, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This place was paradise!! Loved everything about it! Great location right on the beach, pool and hot tub was excellent with a poolside bar that has a big screen to watch sports, live music by the pool on the weekend evenings. The staff was awesome!! So friendly and helpful. Free pastries and coffee each morning. Very clean, the grounds were beautiful with all the plants, flowers and palm trees. It was the perfect central location for exploring the whole Island. I would highly recommend this resort for anyone wanting to visit Kauai.

Room Tip: I prefer the ground floor so I can just walk out my door and be on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
550 reviews
14.8 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
6.5 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Property: Aston Islander on the Beach
Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a stunning oceanfront location, Aston Islander on the Beach offers true island hospitality with warm service and convenient amenities. Contemporary tropical-inspired guest rooms include air-conditioning and private balconies. Sitting on six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, Aston Islander on the Beach features a sparkling pool with a poolside bar, lush gardens for strolling, and a beautiful beachfront location - popular for viewing Hawaiian monk seals. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. It's impressive oceanfront and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. Please note: The hotel collects a daily amenity fee which includes DVD movies and Playstation 3 game rentals, Airport Shuttle service (must call hotel direct at least 24-72 hours in advance to make arrangements), a refreshing welcome drink per guest, daily newspaper, daily coffee and tea, in-room safe, WiFi internet, and local & toll-free calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai, Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing