We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Islander on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
california
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We actually rented a unit from Aloha Condos within the complex. It was a small studio, but we knew it going into to it. One thing we would have preferred was a larger bed. Everything we needed in the unit was there for us. Parking was a problem, often had to get a pass to park of the street. We especially enjoyed the quiet & the ocean views. We were up every morning to see the sunrise. We have been to Kauai before but never stayed on the beach, this was so fantastic. Location was central for us, we like to get in the car & go.

Room Tip: We did notice the ocean front rooms had large flood lights, we stayed on an ocean view which was gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    657
    245
    80
    49
See reviews for
209
996
75
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brownstown Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed for a week and loved it. Got up every morning to watch the incredible sunrise right from our private balcony as we had breakfast. We saw whales every day out on the horizon and sea turtles right at our beach there. We loved the fact we could go anywhere on the island easy as we were right in the middle of the islands main road. We rented from "KrellersGetaway.com Brad was very friendly and on top of everything to make us feel at home. The complex was quiet, very well maintained, and manicured. Nice pool and hot tub but we chose to enjoy the beautiful sandy beach with great snorkeling right there. Coconut marketplace was right across the parking lot for anything we needed.

Room Tip: You have to get an ocean front room and see the sunrise from your private balconyo
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

In all fairness this property is quite pleasant, nice pool, nice gardens,small kitchenette with fridge and microwave, laundry service and close to the beach. Its in a good location if you have a car.

Our issue was that room 271 did not have a router for wifi but obviously we were still going to get charged the resort fee. Staff knew there was no router in the room but did not tell us. We were told to try connecting to another rooms wifi and assure us it would work. It didn't. Staff weren't too helpful with this issue and also they never offered us use of the computers in the lobby to compensate. When I asked if we could use the computers instead it was frowned upon. I didn't find the staff friendly or helpful.

Another issue is that we didn't have much sleep here for our entire stay of 6 nights. The roosters here are the local alarm clocks and love waking people up at around 4am. For a light sleeper like me that made my stay unpleasant. It was a long 6 nights. I was certain the rooster was right outside our door. When I checked one very early morning sure enough I was right, he was very close to us. The chickens/roosters are very annoying and ear plugs don't help. I should of listened to our Lonely planet guide. It stated that to "when booking accommodation check with hotel if they have roosters nearby/hearing range". But then again would hotels be honest about this issue with the roosters? I doubt it. I know Kauai is overtaken by roosters/chickens but I am sure there are properties elsewhere that are quieter. I would love to return one day but I will definitely do more research next time.

There is a problem with parking but I guess that its just not for hotel guests as there are many restaurants and touristy gift shops close by. Also I found it very strange that the pool bar did not have a price list. Obviously just charge you what they like???

Overall unfortunately I would not choose this property again. Like I said at the very beginning its a nice enough property but lack of sleep really makes it unpleasant. Also paying resort fee for services that do not work aren't acceptable. This was discussed with the manager who was the only staff member I found that was pleasant and at least friendlier than other staff. When we checked out and asked if we enjoyed our stay, well my reaction wasn't overally great but it also showed me they couldn't really care less anyway.

P.S. Kauai is a incredibly beautiful island.

Room Tip: smIf you are a light sleeper do not stay here. You will be woken by annoying rooster every morning a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Butterflygirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our first anniversary, and we were very happy with the resort, particularly relative to the competitive price. The only drawback was that the furniture was a little bit dated, but that was a superficial drawback compared to the oceanfront location, pool, spa, poolside bar (serving $6 beers!), and central location right by the Coconut Marketplace. Don't miss out on the Hukilau Lanai restaurant right next door to the resort (easily walkable) and Trees lounge (also right next door). These are two of the best establishments on the island, and we strolled between them and our hotel room. We saw plenty of families, but even with others' kids around, we still felt very cozy and romantic while there. When we come back to Kaua'i, (if we aren't millionaires yet and can afford the St. Regis), we will definitely come back to the Islander on the Beach.

Room Tip: Definitely opt for one of the ocean front rooms. The sunrise comes up each morning directly off your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StephanieJean5326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torremolinos, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

So Aloha! The staff are so accommodating and helpful. They make you feel truly welcome..The rooms are spacious & bright with a private lanai - most with an ocean view. There is no sound from neighboring rooms. Buildings are situated so that the beach is a very short walk away.
The grounds are large lawns with quiet, cement pathways, lots of trees and flower gardens.
The sliding doors open opposite to the one-way drapes which can be awkward.
It would be nice if pools in Hawaii were heated just a little.
Laundry facilities are clean and maintained, but 4 washers are not quite enough.
This is by far one of the best accommodations on the beach in Kapaa.

Room Tip: We had corner rooms each time with an extra window but all the rooms are bright as the end wall is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Our experience at this hotel was not very good on the beginning but at the end it was not terrible.

This is a condo type of hotel and those condos are privately own, so maybe other rooms will not have the same type of problems we faced during our stay.

We got condo with a queen bed, a Microwave, small fridge and small sink. There is no kitchen, just a couple of plates and utensils.

When we got there the room was stinking mold really bad, the pillows were also stinking mold, i couldn't connect to the WI-FI and the AC was not working.

The staff of the hotel was really great and they fixed the AC and gave us some fresh pillows right away. They offer us another room but we had all our luggage in there already so we decide to stay. After turning the AC for couple of hours the mold smell got milder, and I decided to not use the WI-FI(they offer to fix that too).

The hotel is very well located, lots of shops and restaurants close by (walking distance) and it is kind of in the middle of the Island because it would take us an hour to go either to the North or south shore. There is a playstation in the room and once I pay the $15/day resort fee you have access to movies and games.

The beach in front of the hotel is very beautiful but it is not recommended for swimming or snorkel.

It has a good pool, with a BBQ grill and a large jacuzzi.

Overall I would rate it as 2.5 due to our experience and would not stay there again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank claudioasfilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaniela N, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Aloha..

Thank you for sharing your experience while staying at the Aston Islander on the Beach. I apologize for any inconvenience that you may of had during your stay with us. I have discussed the "mold" issue with my Housekeeping Manager and we are working on several ways to enhance the airflow and smell of our rooms. Although this issue is not a common experience, I feel it's important to ensure that all guests are recipients of a great experience while staying at the Aston Islander on the Beach. As we work toward fixing this issue, I hope we may be able to accommodate you and your Ohana on your next visit to the beautiful Island of Kauai.

Mahalo,

Kaniela Neves
General Manager
Aston Islander on the Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Booked this through Expedia and it did not disappoint. Room described as partial ocean view was accurate, clean and tidy. Not sure why others have complained about car parking, we always found plenty available at all times of day. Great to be able to walk out of your room and be on a sandy beach just meters away.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T0nyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
14.8 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
6.5 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Property: Aston Islander on the Beach
Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1420
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a stunning oceanfront location, Aston Islander on the Beach offers true island hospitality with warm service and convenient amenities. Contemporary tropical-inspired guest rooms include air-conditioning and private balconies. Sitting on six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, Aston Islander on the Beach features a sparkling pool with a poolside bar, lush gardens for strolling, and a beautiful beachfront location - popular for viewing Hawaiian monk seals. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. It's impressive oceanfront and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. Please note: The hotel collects a daily amenity fee which includes DVD movies and Playstation 3 game rentals, Airport Shuttle service (must call hotel direct at least 24-72 hours in advance to make arrangements), a refreshing welcome drink per guest, daily newspaper, daily coffee and tea, in-room safe, WiFi internet, and local & toll-free calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai, Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing