We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! What a place. Need I say more.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aston Islander on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We booked in #151, which was a downstairs condo with an ocean view. And what a view it was!!! Out of a two-week stay in Hawaii, this was our favorite place, hands down. We ate every breakfast and supper on the patio, watching the ocean. It was clean, quiet and perfect. The furnishings were new and high-grade--the bed was premium quality. This was a real winner. If you ever dream of an affordable place by the ocean, this is your place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pvsmith2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

544 - 550 of 1,732 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

After a long flight, got here and the room was on the top floor with no elevator. We had to drag our heavy luggage up 3 flight of stairs. The staff was not friendly at all, and spoke very little English. Had to leave the patio door open everyday because the room stayed hot. The airconditioning unit was on a set temperature, that was not adjustable. Don't get fooled by the Coconut Marketplace, very little shopping (3) stores maybe open. All other spaces are vacant. One restaurant on site which no one ate. A rental car is a must, but parking is limited. Not one good restaurant on nor off the island. Could not get a descent breakfast. Ate fastfood the entire time here. Room furniture outdated. Mattress bed, you can feel the springs coming through. Farmers market was not a market. Limited items that people had grown an attempted to sell out of the back of their vehicles. Nothing to do on this island(Kauai) and the people are so prejudiced. My suggestion is stick with the other islands Oahu and Maui. Enjoyed Oahu, better service and a variety of things to do. Enjoyed all the different types of food in Oahu.

Room Tip: Try another resort!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank constance b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaniela N, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Aloha..

Thank you for sharing your experience while staying at the Aston Islander on the Beach. I apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced at the Resort. Although, we are not considered a full service resort there are many advantages in staying with us. Our central location on the most beautiful island in all of Hawaii allows our guests the convenience of location to the West and North sides of Kauai. The Na Pali coast is the most breathtaking place on earth and is used often in electronic and print media advertising due to it's unspoiled landscape.

Should Kauai become a destination in your future travels, I hope that you would consider the Plantation style setting that the Aston Islander on the Beach has to offer. Seven acres of beautifully landscaped gardens and a magnificent Ocean View treats our guests to the most relaxing, affordable vacation on Kauai.

Mahalo,

Kaniela Neves
General Manager
Aston Islander on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week just after Easter. At $100/night through aloha condos it was a bargain! Kirsten was great to deal with. We were in 214 which is a garden view condo situated close to the car park.
The condo had a bed, sofa bed, LCD tv with cable and blu-Ray player, bar fridge, microwave, toaster oven and beach accessories. All facilities were in clean good working order.
Location is perfect; right on the beach and Kapa'a is the perfect location to setup a base for excursions all over the island. Onsite facilities include pool, spa, pool bar, BBQ, laundry, free parking and a couple of restaurants. Trees lounge was a bit disappointing but the fish market was fantastic. You must try the Ahi wrap! The beach has a very rocky bottom and surf conditions were choppy. There were renovations occurring to other areas during our stay but it was not too invasive.
We loved our stay here and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Eden J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed at the Aston Islander on the Beach while in Kauai for a wedding. It was a nice place but they charged a $18/day amenities fee for internet and 'free movies' however unless your a couch potatoe you never are in your room to watch the movies. The weather was off and on, but rained for only minutes at a time so we spent a lot of time outside. Our coffee wasn't always replenished but they did have coffee and juice from8-9 at the lobby every morning if you wanted to venture out. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfy, pool was nice, not a great beach but awesome beaches only a few minutes drive away. No fitness centre, and limited 'kitchen' with toaster, microwave and 4cup coffee maker.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We spent a week here in March 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed it..if you like a Hotel that is laid back, no hustle and bustle, this is the place....very beautiful well kept, lots of trees and flowers.....nice pool with a bar.......on the Ocean.........Coconut Market Place directly behind it...what else would you want........would go back if ever in Kauai again....Bill Strouse

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the swimming pool.......from our room we were looking at the pool & bar fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Opschief136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We've been coming to the islander for many years. There are fancier places, but who cares, we come to Hawaii for the outdoors. We like the Islander because of
1. Reasonable rates
2. If you get an ocean front room you are RIGHT ON THE OCEAN!
3. Clean and comfortable.
4. Friendly Staff
5. We don't use the pool much but it's nice.
6. Lots of shops and restaurants and stores in walking distance.
7. Quiet and not so busy.
8. Great WiFi
9. Did I mention if you get and ocean front room you are RIGHT ON THE OCEAN!
10. Nice landscaping.
The coconut marketplace is pretty vacant, but there are plenty of nice little shops to buy souvenirs, clothes, and food. You can rent some bikes, schedule a Kayak ride, whatever you want.
We will return I hope sooner than later.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and get an ocean front room. Your lanai will be right on the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pasco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed in an ocean view room on the third floor from February 27 through March 3. From reading the other reviews, it appears that we just missed the construction that people are complaining about. While the location was perfect with respect to day trips around Kauai, the hotel itself was underwhelming to say the least. Unfortunately, I think we may have expected a bit more given that this IS paradise. So, rather than draft a long narrative here (since others have accurately described the conditions of the hotel), I'll just summarize our experience here:

Pros:
- Location is right in the middle of the island, which is perfect if you plan on driving around. Some days we would head north; other days south. You're also literally a half-mile or so from a shopping plaza with a Food Land (grocery store) and a Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf. At the next intersection you'll find another shopping plaza with a Safeway and a Starbucks. Keep on going another 1,000 yards and you'll be in Kapa'a, which is a wonderful small town with several must-try restaurants (we particularly liked our breakfast at Ono Family Restaurant). It's also not far from Lydgate Beach, which was a nice place to take our 8 month old (a better place was Poipu Beach - gorgeous!).
- Large, clean beach towels were always available. You ask for however many you need, and you can always swap them for fresh ones whenever you head to the pool or off-site to a beach.
- Wifi was always working. Just be sure to get a PW from the front desk when you check in. If you have not been online in a while, you have to log back in with the PW. The good thing was that the PW works throughout your stay.

Average:
- The price was among the lowest for hotels on the east side of the island. However, the $18.75 a night amenity fee made the value "average". The Wifi is nice, but it also includes newspapers although you have to get them yourself from the lobby. I think it also includes two packets of average coffee and the use of the PS2 in the room, but we didn't have teenagers with us. Perhaps if this was lowered a bit or included better services like housekeepers who wash dishes (see below), I'd feel a little better about this fee. If anything, they should work it into the price of the room. Their marketing strategy, however, may be that they want to be the lowest priced hotel - they'll just make up the difference in this daily fee.
- We "upgraded" for an ocean view room. Unfortunately, what wasn't clear was that our room ended up being in the main building, furthest from the beach. Yes, we did have a "view" of the ocean, but we were probably at the farthest possible point from the beach. A better description of the view from the room (I believe we were in room 306) was that we could see the grassy area between all the buildings and the swimming pool. I'll attach a photo of our view. However, when we could see the ocean, it was magnificent. So while not exactly a "pro", it's still not quite a "con".
- Beach was gorgeous to look at, but you can't do much else. It's not really good for swimming or playing in the sand (too rocky). Just go out for the morning sunrises with your coffee and then pack up and head north or south on the main road for a nicer beach.
- A/C unit was one of those rectangular ones that fit nicely in a corner. It worked great and cooled our room with ease. The reason this gets an "Average" rating is because the larger compressor and fan motor unit is on the patio. You could not leave your patio door open unless you did not mind hearing the humming of the compressor and fan motor. This is particularly annoying at night when you may want to leave your patio door open to listen to the ocean. What you hear instead is either your A/C unit or someone else's. Oh, and speaking of noise - the roosters never bothered us. In fact, our son liked tracking them around the grounds.
- Pool was an average pool, but was not terrible. The hotel staff seemed to do a good job of keeping the pool area tidy. There were also live bands on some nights, which was a nice feature.

Cons:
- Smelly room. May just be the tropic weather?
- Old furniture made us question the $$ we were spending. Bed was akin to sleeping on a hard carpeted floor.
- Housekeeping came every day and always did the bed, empty the trash and restocked our towels, but would not clean a cup in the sink. I guess dishwashing may be above and beyond their normal duties, but I thought it was weird. Just a heads up: do your own dishes!
- No elevators. If you're traveling with an 8 month old, you probably have extra suitcases for clothes, toys and food. And you probably will also go to Food Land for groceries and a case of bottled water and juices. Just be ready to lug all of it up stairs.
- Parking was hit or miss, but it gets a "con" rating for not being consistent. If you get back early from your sightseeing, chances are you'll get a tiny spot in the front lot. I say tiny because everyone's renting Jeeps or SUVs these days. If you don't get a spot, you can park in the overflow lot, which is essentially the back lot of the Coconut Marketplace. The problem with this is that the parking permit they give you says that you must move your car from CM's back lot by 9 or 11 AM, I can't remember which. This isn't a problem if you're early risers like ourselves (since we had our baby with us) but I remember thinking that could be a problem.
- The hotel sells its proximity to Coconut Marketplace as a good thing, but just wait and see for yourself. It must have been a great place in the 70's or 80's, but today it's actually quite sad. It's like walking down a "Main Street" in some now-deserted midwest town. It looked like maybe 20% of the retail spaces were occupied. Lambert's has good ice cream, but it wasn't worth the $14 we paid for two cones with two flavors each.

Overall, I cannot really see myself recommending this place to anyone. I would say maybe only as a place to sleep at night, but then you wouldn't be making full use of the mandatory $18.75 a night fee. Also, ocean front rooms may be the only way to go - don't bother with ocean view because you won't feel like your view is much of anything at all.

Room Tip: We thought ocean view was a waste of money as we were furthest from the ocean. The ocean front room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank applesoranges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
45 reviews
14.9 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
6.5 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kapaa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: £128 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, Aston Islander on the Beach features a sparkling pool with a poolside bar, lush gardens for strolling, and a beautiful beachfront location - popular for viewing Hawaiian monk seals. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. It's impressive oceanfront and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. Please note: The hotel collects a daily amenity fee which includes DVD movies and Playstation 3 game rentals, Airport Shuttle service (must call hotel direct at least 24-72 hours in advance to make arrangements), a voucher for a refreshing Mango Lemonade OR Imua Coffee per paying adult, per one time per stay, daily newspaper, daily coffee and tea, in-room safe, WiFi internet, and local & toll-free calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai, Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing