We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Islander on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Port Moody, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, Great staff”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at the Islander at end of June and really enjoyed our stay. I like the low-key atmosphere. Over all, this is a great resort – a bit dated, but that did not impact our enjoyment. The location is fantastic, the staff members are great, and the beach and pool are lovely.The concierge was very friendly and helpful and not very busy, so she spent as much time with us as we needed. I don’t know if I’ve ever seen such happy staff who seem to enjoy their jobs.

Our unit was on the second floor and our deck (lanai) faced the ocean. We had breakfast every morning watching the morning light on the waves. We could see dramatic weather fronts roll in, shower us briefly, and move on, sometimes leaving a rainbow behind. The rooms are standard hotel room size (not a condo), the partial kitchen was good for preparing daily breakfast. We used one of the shared bbqs out by the pool to cook supper one evening, grill tools were available to borrow from the front desk.

The beach is gorgeous with chairs in the sand for watching the waves. Swimming is not recommended but the pool is nice and clean or it is only a ten minute drive to Lydgate Beach, perfect for families.

Across the parking lot are two good places to eat - the Trees pub had great ribs (but is definitely a pub atmosphere, not be good for little kids) and the fish takeout place has delicious wraps with ahi or ono. We splashed out one night for a wonderful supper at the Hukilau Lanai, in the Kauai Coast Resort next store, delicious and well served.

The nearby Coconut Market Place has a well-stocked general store (including alcohol,juice and milk) and several shops.The market is a bit sad due to many empty shops. Even so, I found good souvenirs in the shops that are open. For food, there is a take-out place, a café and an ice cream place (highly recommended).

Grocery stores are a short drive into town and by day three, we realized we could walk along the path by the ocean and get to the stores in 20 minutes on foot.

Yes, there was construction noise but it did not bother us and we knew beforehand, because we read the reviews on TripAdvisor. Our unit faced the ocean (well worth the extra we paid for it) and the sound of the waves was all we could hear when in our room. The noise was in the inner courtyard during the day.

One minor annoyance is the $18 per day surcharge, and although we were forewarned about a charge, I don't recall if I knew the amount. I would prefer that it was included in the room fee up front rather than adding it on. Not a show stopper.

We loved Kauai and really enjoyed Islander on the Beach. The central location (and our rental car) allowed us to explore all coasts of the island. We would definitely stay there again and we would again pay for the ocean front suite.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shelley604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    678
    251
    81
    50
See reviews for
217
1,028
78
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We got a deal on our week-long stay here and didn't know what to expect. We were bowled over by the friendly and helpful staff. (Everyone is friendly in Kauaii-they seem to value tourists) We were equally impressed with the air conditioned room with an ocean view even though our building wasn't directly on the ocean. The pool and bar by the pool seem to be a locals hangout and one can learn a lot there about where to go and what to do. They have free internet access from the room which worked well-they didn't try to charge for it. ( A mistake many hotels make). Ice machines, plenty of towels, and free DVD checkout were all amenities we did not find at the place we stayed the following week. The continental breakfast was served on weekdays and seemed to be a hit or miss operation. The Hawaiian coffee was great, but somedays the food ran out immediately and other days we just got bananas. Mostly it seemed to be prepackaged sugary rolls. That said, it was better than nothing. I still give them credit. We made use of the laundry facilities that were clean and well maintained. There are several shops and eateries out front in walking distance that we liked. While parking was listed as limited at this facility, we did not experience any problems finding a place. I would go back to the Aston Islander on the Beach. Kapaa isn't Poipu Beach or Princeville, but offers nice beaches and is centrally located.

Room Tip: No elevators and we were on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mtngrltyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvard, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and u stayed one nt, so we could take our flight the next am. We paid the lowest price and got a 1st floor rm next to the parking lot. We found that parking lot was full when we arrived in to checkin and made the good decision to not give up our parking spot. We rented a movie using the rental DVD kiosk. We got dinner at the fish restaurant and walked to crazy shirts store to get t shirts. Hotel gave us a coupon book that we used at crazy shirt store. We rented condo at hanalei bay resort prior it this hotel using vrbo.com. Great beaches for snorkeling on the north shore!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Fly 1/4 way round the world only to arrive to LOUD jackhammers and demolition. Wanted us to pay $40 a night to be placed away from construction. Honestly, they should take $40 bucks off per night to stay. We would not spent our trip to Kauai this way if we'd known. Ice machine in our bldg is broke. Probably a decent place to stay next year or if you're hearing impaired. Room decor is nice. A/C cools well. But this construction noise is not what we expected. Ocean drowns it out so if you're tolerant stay but know going in or call ahead to find out progress of the project or stay on the ocean front. Why can't the resort run a huge special? At least one would know what to expect b/c it seems like we've been taken advantage of showing up to find this and not being informed.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 4meowsers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaniela N, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Aloha..

Thank you for sharing your experience with us while staying at the Aston Islander on the Beach.. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay.. We truly understand that there is never a good time for exterior improvements but we make every effort to accommodate our guests.. I hope you enjoyed your time on our beautiful Island of Kauai.

Mahalo,

Kaniela Neves
General Manager
Aston Islander on the Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canyon Country
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We spent our final night of 8 days on Kauai at This Islander. The beach front location is inviting with chairs and lounges provided. The on going remodeling will be a nice touch when completed. Great dining and shopping in Kapaa!

Room Tip: The Ocean Front rooms offer the best views and great sounds of the ocean waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RagsCanyonCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quartz Hill, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My new husband and I stayed here during our honeymoon and were happy with our stay. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful! My husband went fishing almost every night and whenever he caught a fish he would go to the front desk and they would find someone to help identify the fish. When we first arrived we weren't overjoyed with our room, it was upstairs (there are not any elevators) and it was smaller than we expected. We tried to upgrade to a suite but unfortunately they were under construction. We eventually got used to the size of the room and I guess it doesn't matter too much since we didn't spend too much time in there. They have a place to do laundry and gas grill you can cook on which is pretty awesome. My husband's main complaint is that the curtains were installed incorrectly so it can be a little frustrating to access the sliding door and have privacy. Definitely not the best hotel in the surrounding area but also definitely not the worst.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage request a down stairs room. Also, request a room on the end, there'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alyssa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Islander. During our time there was construction going on but it was not as noisy as I expected. The view of the ocean and gorgeous moon was amazing from our lanai. Everything was perfect, the staff were friendly and accommodating. There was a laundry mat on the property that we were able to walk by and get laundry done before we packed back home. We didn't sit by the pool except for one time. Grills were in the area and the bar for happy hour.
Loved it and we were satisfied with the location. FYI we actually traveled the end of May 2013.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
563 reviews
14.8 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
6.5 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Property: Aston Islander on the Beach
Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a stunning oceanfront location, Aston Islander on the Beach offers true island hospitality with warm service and convenient amenities. Contemporary tropical-inspired guest rooms include air-conditioning and private balconies. Sitting on six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, Aston Islander on the Beach features a sparkling pool with a poolside bar, lush gardens for strolling, and a beautiful beachfront location - popular for viewing Hawaiian monk seals. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. It's impressive oceanfront and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. Please note: The hotel collects a daily amenity fee which includes DVD movies and Playstation 3 game rentals, Airport Shuttle service (must call hotel direct at least 24-72 hours in advance to make arrangements), a refreshing welcome drink per guest, daily newspaper, daily coffee and tea, in-room safe, WiFi internet, and local & toll-free calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai, Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing