We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel and that's about it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aston Islander on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Budget hotel and that's about it.”
Reviewed 19 September 2006

Went to Kauai from 9/8/06 till 9/12/06. The trip was ok, cloudy intermittently.

The hotel was average, but clean. No elevator, so expect to flex your muscles to haul your luggage if you live on 3rd floor. Internet costs money at the lobby. You cannot swim at the beach outside the hotel, the current is quite strong. But, it a great hotel to watch some gorgeous sunrise. Pool is tiny, but you can find a few bbq grills next to the pool. Public laundry room is available, as well as daily newspaper. I had no problem with parking space; I was back to the hotel usually by 8pm.

On the good side, you can't beat the central location. 10-15 mins to Walmart, 5 mins to Food-land, Longs, and a variety of local restaurant. 1.5 hrs to Ke beach, 45 mins to the base of the road to Waimea Canyon.

In summary, it's a good budget hotel with A/C, you definitely want A/C since it can get humid in Kauai. Just don't expect any Hilton or 4 stars amenities here (no restaurant at the hotel).

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — no elevator
  • Tips/Secrets — Just don't expect too much from this budget hotel, but it's clean and at good location though.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank yadaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    674
    248
    81
    50
See reviews for
215
1,020
78
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, HI
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2006

I am from Honolulu and I've stayed at the Islander about 7 years ago with my boyfriend (now husband) and thought it was a basic hotel no frills, no complaints, we had fun. I've read through trip advisor reviews and the hotel website that they did a "multi-million dollar" renovation and I was excited to stay there so I booked. Here's my experience.

Stayed there 3 nites to have a little "get away" with my cousin, her 1y/o and my 2 y/o and to visit with relatives.
Staff: Very friendly and helpful even opened up a new crib for us. They were the best part of the hotel.
Free parking! Free coffee! Free coffee to go at Front desk!
Rooms: Smelled like smoke, the rooms are suppose to be non-smoking but people smoke anyway and there's no way to police that. We asked to be moved to another room ended up on the 3rd fl (good exercise for me that week, no elevators) which was the only room with double beds. We asked if the balcony was safe for kids the front desk said "yes" but that's not true at least not for our kids so we stayed off the balcony. That room smelled like smoke and mildew but we were tired and just settled. Rooms are not child friendly so if you have children under 5 I wouldn't recommend it. They have tiled/concrete floors, or let's just say hard floors NO CARPET but surprisingly my feet did stay pretty clean. Yay housekeeping! Even the railings from the walkways comming to the rooms are IMO very dangerous for kids. The positive about the room...Coffee, better than avg refrigerator, oh!!! and we can't forget to mention MICROWAVE!!! :) I love the fact that it had a decent sized refrg and a MICROWAVE. Saved us money and headaches!
Pool: small and it had mold/mildew on some parts but it was refreshing after a long hot day. And my son loved it, but my son loves swimming anywhere.
Not much else to mention, but if you do decide to stay there there is no sign comming from the main hwy, so look for the Coconut Market Place and it's the hotel area right behind that.
Just wanted to warn you parents out there. It's good for couples, honeymooners. Parents with older kids.
Next time I'm springing for the marriott or sheraton!

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank MICHELE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracioc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2006

We couldn't have asked for a better honeymoon!

We booked our stay with the ResortQuest Islander through a AAA Pleasant Holidays package, and it was one of the best values on the island. The package included airfare, hotel and car for a week. We were told to never go with a package, but we had NO problems and would absolutely do it again!

The hotel was clean and lovely. The view from our room was pretty - we paid for an oceanview and it was well worth it. The staff at the hotel was absolutely wonderful. We had a great experience and would definitely stay there again! The restaurant at the hotel was okay, but there is a buffet on Friday nights that is rumored to be AWESOME! (We missed it unfortunately.) The luau right there on site was really good, and the food was very enjoyable. It's nice to stay on site with the luau so you don't have to drive afterwards - can anyone say OPEN BAR!?!?! =)

The hotel is not on a swimming beach but its located in the middle of the island, so its really easy to drive anywhere from there. They are doing construction on the highway so there is a bit of traffic, but you're in Hawaii, so it's not a big deal! The only issue we had was finding parking at the hotel during the luaus, but we

We had the book "the Ultimate Guide to Kauai" and lived by it while on the island. It never steered us wrong! If you're planning a trip to Kauai, you need this book.

There is a breakfast restaurant called "Eggberts" in Coconut Marketplace right around the corner from the hotel. We went there every day for breakfast - the Eggs Benedict can't be beat!!!

We would definitely stay in this hotel again. Its in a great location and the staff was very friendly. We had a beautiful honeymoon. If you're a honeymooner - Kauai is the place for you!!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and proximity to the rest of the island
  • Disliked — Tough to find parking during the luau
  • Tips/Secrets — Go to Eggberts for breakfast! Go to the onsite Luau! Get the Ultimate Guidebook to Kauai before you leave!
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank tracioc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2006

It was our first trip to Hawaii, and we were very happy with our stay at Resortquest Islander on the Beach. Because we were getting married during our stay, the staff upgraded our room to a partial ocean view. It was the perfect room with a beautiful view of a lush courtyard and ocean in the distance. We were glad we weren't right next to the pool, which did seem noisy at times. Our room was extremely clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the airconditioning and the refrigerator in the room.

We were married in the southern town of Poipu, near bigger, more luxurious resorts. Although we thought they were beautiful, we were truly happy to return to the more quiet and relaxed atmosphere of Resortquest. Our room felt like our own apartment without all of the hustle and bustle of the larger resorts. The beach is a bit tumultuous for swimming, but it is beautiful. There are comfortable places to sit near the water and enjoy the crashing waves and charming little crabs that crawl out of holes in the sand.

We would likely stay at Resortquest Islander again, and we would certainly stay in Kapaa when we return. It is not as touristy as the North or South coasts--it is a friendly little town where you can chat with local residents while ordering a muffin and juice at the cafe down the street. We can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — relaxing, comfortable, clean
  • Disliked — pool is small, crowded
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for a room away from the pool if you want quiet; expect that you won't be able to swim at this beach--go to nearby Lydgate park for good swimming
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PinkertonLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 July 2006

This was our 2nd stay at the Islander. We were there the fist time 12 years ago. The renovations that have been made last year were delightful! We have stayed at the Grand Hyatt Kauai before and the rooms are no better there. All of the touches of carved pineapple in the wood furniture was beautiful.

They keep all of the grounds absolutely perfect. This takes a lot of work. Someone was always raking up fallen leaves. We stayed for 1 week and wish we had planned to stay longer. The Hawaiian Monk Seal beached there every day during our stay. Sometimes he stayed from sunrise to sunset. He was fun to watch. Great picture opportunity!

The Coconut Market place has also improved since our last visit. This is steps way from the hotel. The theatre had the #1 movies playing and only $4.25 for matinee shows. Many great restaurants right there for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Lots of places to buy a token gift or a bottle of water.

Make sure you eat breakfast at Gaylord's when you first get there. You get (with a coupon in 101 things magazine) $25. gift certificate for shopping and another $25 for other places and activities around Kauai. Then talk to Yoshi as she walks around helping with questions. She can set you up with a timeshare talk and get you buy one get one on a sail trip. She has a great personality and also dances in the Luau that is next door to the hotel. If you don't do any other activity while in Kauai do the Na Pali cruise on a sail. We sailed with Holo holo Charters! Best vacation experience!!!

I think you'll be happy with The Islander. The Garden view rooms are the same as the ocean view and most have a partial ocean view. Relax - you'll be in Kauai!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2006

Islander on the Beach in Kapaa, Kauai was everyhing I was hoping for in a Kauai hotel. We opted for the ocean front room and spent every morning with a cup of coffee watching the sun rise from the lanai. Although the rooms are rather small, they are clean and little noise can be heard from other rooms. The grounds were immaculate with beautiful landscaping. The pool area was nice and the beach was only a few steps from the building. The snorkeling was ok there but there are better snorkeling beaches on Kauai. The beach by the hotel had a young monk seal visit almost every day to sleep off his meal.
The employees were all courteous and attentive to any request.
A small shopping center is within walking distance with several good restaurants and loads of shops.
Although we had many activities planned throughout our trip we did spend a few afternnoons relaxing on the hotel beach. We will definitely stay at Islander on the Beach next time!

Helpful?
12 Thank florafauna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2006

My husband and I just got back from our honeymoon of which we spent 1 week at the islander. It was like a poster said, a super 8 but nicer. The price reflects what you get. Maybe we could call it a best western. Everything was fine, but not wow. We did tell them at booking that we were honeymooners and when we checked in my husband reminded her and she then gave us an upgrade. I also did see a couple locals at the pool one night but they weren't annoying. The grounds were nice but it actually bothered me a little to see them working on them every day. I know that they need to be worked on to be maintained and the workers were respectful, but I don't relax when I know someone else is working hard. The grounds are nice but the ones next door are much nicer. In about a year the grounds will probably be beautiful, they are probably improving them since turning into a resortquest. My biggest complaint is a common one. Why isn't the pool bar open??? They say it is not open due to unforseen problems, What is going on? Overall I was happy but it wasn't very special. Also the coconut marketplace is very worn down and not that attractive, but it is convient. They also do not have adequit parking and we sometimes had to park in the coconut marketplace, which only made our walk about 20 feet further but still. Book this place if you need to save money and or want to spend money on your meals and activities instead.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Beachlover742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
549 reviews
14.8 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
6.5 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Property: Aston Islander on the Beach
Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a stunning oceanfront location, Aston Islander on the Beach offers true island hospitality with warm service and convenient amenities. Contemporary tropical-inspired guest rooms include air-conditioning and private balconies. Sitting on six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, Aston Islander on the Beach features a sparkling pool with a poolside bar, lush gardens for strolling, and a beautiful beachfront location - popular for viewing Hawaiian monk seals. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. It's impressive oceanfront and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. Please note: The hotel collects a daily amenity fee which includes DVD movies and Playstation 3 game rentals, Airport Shuttle service (must call hotel direct at least 24-72 hours in advance to make arrangements), a refreshing welcome drink per guest, daily newspaper, daily coffee and tea, in-room safe, WiFi internet, and local & toll-free calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai, Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing