We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai
Ranked #8 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No frills traveler”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

If it weren't for my amazing experience in Kauai, I'd probably think a lot less of my stay at Honu'ea. The hostel provided what I needed, but is by no means top of the line. First the positives: the beds were super comfortable- if you are lucky, there will be a foam mattress available when you check in and you can snag it right up. Also, the hostel was located in a pretty good location. Big Dave Waves was right around the corner and many shops and other restaurants were within a 10 minute drive. In addition, I enjoyed the company at the hostel. It attracted people from all over and I had the best time socializing with these amazing people. The hostel does come with some down falls, however. There were many rules such as no shoes in the kitchen... which seems like a simple enough rule to follow, but when you have to walk outside to pass from your room to the kitchen, it's not exactly second nature to remember to take off your shoes. The quiet hours were strict too which was kind of a buzz kill at times. Most note worthy, though, were the cock roaches!! Lucky for me, I never saw one, but I heard plenty of buzz throughout the hostel about cock roaches appearing in peoples' food bags or in their bathrooms. Again I must reiterate, Kauai's too amazing of an island to really let any of that stuff get you down. If you need luxury, this is not the place, but if you're a no frills kind of traveler, I say go for it and you will not regret it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank enk217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    30
    20
    12
    10
See reviews for
5
9
65
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I stayed my very first night in Kauai here. I took the private female room for 60bucks.
The floor was kind of not so clean but all the rest was great. Bathroom was great and clean. Had a great rest. I arrived later than 9pm and the lady waited for me. Was very nice.
It met the expectations I had for hostel. I liked it.

Room Tip: single female private room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XXX2588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

The rooms and kitchen were ok when it comes to cleanliness, but other than that the hostel was a disappointment! The manager had a negative attitude that seems to have spread to the other staff. It felt like you had your mom watching you at all times. The hostel has quiet hours after 10pm which would have been fair enough if you were allowed to talk quiet without music or alcohol. But at this hostel you have to leave the property or go to bed at 10pm! 
In general a bad experience. 

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Corndog_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you thought you were entitled to have a party late into the night, but we are not that kind of hostel. We are a quiet island with very fun and rewarding daytime activities that most people are excited to get up early to enjoy. People that would like to continue to drink and be loud may do so at the bar or the beach across the street. As most places have a similar policy. We have had thousands of happy guests and are truly sorry you were not one. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Easy living stay! The location is good to travel from North shore to South shore of Kauai. The staff is really nice and friendly. There is a lovely garden and the whole place is clean. If i go back to Kauai, i will definitively go to Honu'ea International Hostel! Thanks xxx

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed for 13 days, wich was 6 days more than planned. The location is amazing and Kapaa is a wonderful little town with all you need. The hostel was cozy and homey, with a great kitchen and a small common area with a large table and couches. It was a very safe place to stay and we had no problems leaving all our stuff, incl. phones, ipads and everything behind when we went out.
The best thing though was the staff and managers! Autumn, Bill and Sunny is an amazing and loving team, who try their best to make your stay amazing. We love you guys and we are definitely comming back!

/Sine and Charlotte from Denmark

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sitra88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goleta, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This place has improved tremendously since the last and only other time I stayed here six years ago. I stayed here for a week at that time, and when I left I had decided that I would never come back because the person running the place made me and other guests feel like we were more or less at the mercy of his mood swings and whatever new and strange rule he would institute at any given moment. In short, he was a very peculiar person who generally made others feel unwelcome and ill at ease. On subsequent visits to Kauai I decided that camping in my tent was more pleasant. This year in May I finally decided to give this palce another try because I had learned that it was under new management and read reviews from recent guests that clearly indicated that the place had changed. In the past this hostel got some bad reviews that were deserved, but I would encourage anyone thinking about staying here to consider the newer reviews from the last year or two and pretty much disregard the older ones that are consistently bad.

Autumn and Bill are the new managers, and I found them to be exceptionally friendly. They manage to run the place with a balance of order and casualness that created a pleasant stay for me. The place is clean, quiet enough, well kept, and as well run as any hostel to which I would return or recommend to others. I will certainly return in the future. I should mention that during this stay I stayed in a private room in the main house because it solved one of the problems I had on my last stay, which was not being able to get into the main house to use the kitchen until 8:00 in the morning. In the past that was a problem for me because I like to get up very early and go hiking, but most guests do not seem to be bothered by this because they tend to get up later than me.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

Nice people and lovely surroundings. Its really exotic and the place is good to visit all the island. Staff is very helpful, you re there like un your own family. A good place to be to visit beautiful Kauai!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanazzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
1.9 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.2 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#3 of 11 in Kapaa
339 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
780 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kauai Beach House
Kauai Beach House
#4 of 15 in Kapaa
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai

Property: Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai
Address: 4532 Lehua Street, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1750 (Formerly Kauai International Hostel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha and welcome to our family owned, family operated 34 person hostel on the amazing island of Kaua'i! Our hostel has enforced quiet hours from 10pm-7am. We are not a party style hostel. We hope guests will take advantage of our low prices and quality service so that you may enjoy Kauai hikes and outdoor activities that are our premier location provides. Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai resides in the heart of Kapa'a Town, across the street from Kapa'a Beach Park! Take a stroll or bike down the 7 mile Ke Ala Hele Makalae ("The Path that Goes by the Coast") that stretches from Wailua Town past Kealia Beach Point with amazing surf and spectacular views! Or, do some shopping at some of the best locally owned shops on Kauai. Dine in amazing restaurants or cook your own food in our large, newly decorated kitchen/common areas. We have two dorm rooms with ten beds, women's only dorms, four private rooms (inside the dorms), and two deluxe rooms. All dorms have a private room and a shared bath en-suite. The two deluxe rooms are in the main house, share a bathroom and do not have restrictions on kitchen hours. We have common areas available to all registered guests that include lanai (covered patio), several garden seating areas, hammock and TV room. Snorkel gear, kayaks, and Free WiFi is provided for all registered guests. Please, registered guests and new check ins only. *We most always have room for walk-ins 3pm-9pm, aloha! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai International Hotel Kapaa
Honu'Ea International Hostel Kauai Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing