We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average. You get what you pay for.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai
Ranked #7 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average. You get what you pay for.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I don't like how they make you choose between "average" and "poor." This hostel has a lot of pros and cons, like all hostels do, and my overall assessment is evidently "average." The pros are that this hostel is inexpensive and relatively clean. It shuts down early at night, though, so don't plan on doing much hanging out. Some of the staff can be a bit too forceful with the rules, and I was not the only guest who wondered if a couple of them knew what the rules were. So, those are the cons. More pros include the fact that the kitchen is well-maintained, albeit small, and that there are lockers. The one major structural drawback is that there are ten dorm beds and a private room per one small bathroom. The ladies seemed to have quite a problem with this in the female-only room. In the mixed room, it was a problem a couple times with having to wait for a couple people to go first.
Much has been said about the attitude of this hostel, both positive and negative, on this board, and I think that you simply need to know up front that you are not going to a party hostel that they go a bit overboard on rules in the other direction. As long as you know, it should be fine. There is really nothing fancy or special in particular that makes this hostel stand out to me, although they do have nice murals. I honestly stay here mainly because they have lockers. One suggestion is maybe chilling out a tiny bit on the no visitors thing because it can come off as rather rude when staff are really forceful about it.

Room Tip: I thought the mixed dorm on the first floor was fine. Consider the bathroom thing before spending fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jayson t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    30
    20
    12
    10
See reviews for
5
8
64
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

This place was truly the best part of my Kauai experience. I was blessed to be there for an extended stay and felt as is everyone became family. it is a wonderful place - quaint, cozy and like home. The managers Autumn and Bill are wonderful people and go out of their way to be helpful and considerate. In addition, you meet the most amazing people traveling the planet :-) I cannot wait to go back. It was truly a joy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

i spent a wonderful, unforgettable time in honuea international hostel in kauai.
the owners, bill and autumn, made me feel like home and were always very helpful and relaxed.
the hostel has good vibes and a great location, right in kapaa downtown;)
i´ll come back next year - thanks!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phoebewibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

I originally booked 3 nights here during the beginning of October 2013 so I could take a no doors helicopter ride around the Na Pali coast..The coast was sooo beautiful I booked another 2 weeks here to do all the hikes, snorkel, and beach fun.. I met a lot of people from around the world including Germans, Swiss, Austrian, Canadian, French, American, English, Spanish, Brazillian, Australian, etc.. There was always some activity setup by the guests down in the outdoor dining area that it was really easy to see many different beautiful places of this island by just by saying "hi", "hola", "hey", "aye", or good old "A-L-O-H-A" and a tagging along or initiating the excursion..This hostel is a great base for exploring this beautiful island.. :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aislesacross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

I stayed at the hostel for around 7 weeks and had an awesome time! The hostel has a really laid back, friendly atmosphere and is a space where everyone speaks to everyone. Weather you are staying for a few nights or a few months it's easy to get involved and meet great people and soon enough it feels like you're staying in a little family.

The location is awesome, Kapaa is a sweet little town with festivals and art walks and a cool farmers market and it's easy to get around, driving or hitchhiking in both directions to the north and south shore.

The hostel staff are really friendly and always willing to give advise to guests on options and tips of what to do, staff and guests often hang out. The hostel is not for the late night party man it has the same vibe as the island which is really peaceful and more about enjoying the daytime fun, but there are bars across the street open til late sometimes with live music and the beach also right across the street, always perfect to watch the rising sun and the full moon :)

Great place to stay, I meet some amazing people here, which made the island even more special. Kauai Island is a place of hidden treasures!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank tarnia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

I stayed almost seven weeks in this nice awesome Hostel. I really had a great time there and I met fantastic people. For my opinion a very friendly good managed place including the helpful nice staff. Its a great meet up place with other travellers for exploring beautiful Kauai together. Its very clean, safe and just across the street you are right on the beach in Kapaa. I travelled a lot in my life and I have many expierences staying in hostels arround the world. Expecially as a solo women traveller I appreciate a place where its easy to meet other people and feeling comfortable.
They have also a nice Kitchen where you can store and cook your own meals. What I like, also cooking together was fun. In the morning you get coffee for free. The only thing what bothered me from time to time, was sharing the bathroom, when the female dorm was packed ;-).
Of course there are some rules, like in every International youth Hostels. It is a quiet place and not a party Hostel, but if you like to party after 10pm, you just take your beer, bottle of wine and make your own party on the beach, what is really easy going and very relaxed in Kauai or you go to some close Bar´s in Kapaa, whatever.....there is a lot to do...I loved it and I can really recommend this place.

Room Tip: If you like it more quiet you can also book a private Room, there are two posibilites. It depends on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maleny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

This place is awesome and as soon as I rocked up it felt like home. Compared to other hostels I stayed in on Hawaii it was by far the cleanest. The rooms are cleaned daily along with the kitchen and common area. The location is very central for this small island with everything you need just around you in kapaa and the main high way right out front to hitch for a surf up north or catch the bus to the local markets. The staff are very friendly and always willing to help and have the answer to just about everything! Sure it's lights out at 10pm and quiet time at night but Kauai offers so much to do in the days here that sleep is what you should need at night. There are bars 5 min walk away that you party at if needed and the beach is across the road. Management are a happy and very accommodating couple. I have never met such nice people who run a hostel. There is free flippers and snorkels, books to read and games. Kiyaks for cheap and cheap car rentals on island cars. Price wise it's the cheapest place to stay apart from woofing on a farm. It's not the Hilton but its bit suppose to be! I will be your home to lay your head at night, cook some dinner and chill after surfing all day!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzietanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
1.9 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#7 of 11 in Kapaa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
8.5 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai

Property: Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai
Address: 4532 Lehua Street, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1750 (Formerly Kauai International Hostel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha and welcome to our family owned, family operated 34 person hostel on the amazing island of Kaua'i! Our hostel has enforced quiet hours from 10pm-7am. We are not a party style hostel. We hope guests will take advantage of our low prices and quality service so that you may enjoy Kauai hikes and outdoor activities that are our premier location provides. Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai resides in the heart of Kapa'a Town, across the street from Kapa'a Beach Park! Take a stroll or bike down the 7 mile Ke Ala Hele Makalae ("The Path that Goes by the Coast") that stretches from Wailua Town past Kealia Beach Point with amazing surf and spectacular views! Or, do some shopping at some of the best locally owned shops on Kauai. Dine in amazing restaurants or cook your own food in our large, newly decorated kitchen/common areas. We have two dorm rooms with ten beds, women's only dorms, four private rooms (inside the dorms), and two deluxe rooms. All dorms have a private room and a shared bath en-suite. The two deluxe rooms are in the main house, share a bathroom and do not have restrictions on kitchen hours. We have common areas available to all registered guests that include lanai (covered patio), several garden seating areas, hammock and TV room. Snorkel gear, kayaks, and Free WiFi is provided for all registered guests. Please, registered guests and new check ins only. *We most always have room for walk-ins 3pm-9pm, aloha! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai International Hotel Kapaa
Honu'Ea International Hostel Kauai Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing