We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hostel in Hawaii!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai
Ranked #7 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Baxter, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Hostel in Hawaii!!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Had an amazing stay at this hostel! It made my trip even better to stay at a cool place like this! The location is perfect, staff is awesome, and the rooms are clean. Couldn't ask for a better place :)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaz_1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    30
    20
    12
    10
See reviews for
5
9
65
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

If you ever want to experience how life in the army can be, visit this hostel.

You get to sleep in a 10 bed dorm and share only one bath. There is no soap but if you're lucky there is toilet paper! If you want to leave your soap, for others to use, staff will through it away.

Talking about staff...a bunch of kids playing the whole day arround and smoking pot with the owners son. No matter which time of the day you ask them for help "it's not the right time to ask for help right now". They always watch over your shoulders and check if you're breaking something...the randomly go through the fridge and check for food without label and just eat it or throw it away.

We left our milk (6$) in the fridge, with our name on it, and we were the last leaving the kitchen. The next morning we stood up very early to go on a hike, and our milk was gone. I saw the staff "cleaning" the fridge when we left the evening before. I put "cleaning" in brackets, because the fridges have not seen daylight for probably months.

If you plan on staying here, make sure to book a morning flight on the day you want to leave, because they will kick you out at 11am. "you can spend the day at the beach" That's very nice, since they don't let you enter the property anymore, to refresh or something. Even if you offer them money, to stay the day, as we did.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank Weltbummler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

It was my first hostel experience so my gauge may be off but it was exactly what I imagined! Basic, friendly people with just basic accommodations- it's good for either passing through or on a budget, if your looking for anything more then that then I imagine a hostel isn't what you want in the first place... If you've ever been to camp, sort of felt like that! Good experience!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bbliss318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

A nice hostel on a nice place. I recommend you this hostel. It isn't expensive and it is relatively clean. If you come to know the staff and you accept the little rules they used, it is funny with them.
i was very surprised about they good service from the hostel staff, when we rent the Kajak for our adventure trip to the secret falls. We had also a lot of fun at the wettest of trip. The manager of the hostel brewed us a special hot chocolate with peppermint-schnaps. Delicious!!!
There is no noteworthy nightlife surrounding.
The disadvantage was the curfew which was already at 10 pm, but therefor i was full of power for the next awesome hiking trails of the beautiful island.

Room Tip: Don't use the private rooms in the Dorm building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

First of all, I was a bit surprised by the number of 1 star ratings here, because when I was there in 2014 there was no crazy manager around, but a generally friendly staff.
After booking on their lousy website, I was also surprised at my arrival that the hostel actually existed, and had good beds in clean rooms, and that's all you really need in Kaua'i. Atmosphere and guests were relaxed, since Kaua'i calm great nature is too boring for most annoying people. There are many places to eat in the close area.
What was a bit annoying was the curfew which was already at 10 pm, when all public areas were closed and you kinda had to go to bed or leave the premises. That was appearantly because of the noise, which is ridiculous.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MondeCanardeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I don't like how they make you choose between "average" and "poor." This hostel has a lot of pros and cons, like all hostels do, and my overall assessment is evidently "average." The pros are that this hostel is inexpensive and relatively clean. It shuts down early at night, though, so don't plan on doing much hanging out. Some of the staff can be a bit too forceful with the rules, and I was not the only guest who wondered if a couple of them knew what the rules were. So, those are the cons. More pros include the fact that the kitchen is well-maintained, albeit small, and that there are lockers. The one major structural drawback is that there are ten dorm beds and a private room per one small bathroom. The ladies seemed to have quite a problem with this in the female-only room. In the mixed room, it was a problem a couple times with having to wait for a couple people to go first.
Much has been said about the attitude of this hostel, both positive and negative, on this board, and I think that you simply need to know up front that you are not going to a party hostel that they go a bit overboard on rules in the other direction. As long as you know, it should be fine. There is really nothing fancy or special in particular that makes this hostel stand out to me, although they do have nice murals. I honestly stay here mainly because they have lockers. One suggestion is maybe chilling out a tiny bit on the no visitors thing because it can come off as rather rude when staff are really forceful about it.

Room Tip: I thought the mixed dorm on the first floor was fine. Consider the bathroom thing before spending fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jayson t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This place was truly the best part of my Kauai experience. I was blessed to be there for an extended stay and felt as is everyone became family. it is a wonderful place - quaint, cozy and like home. The managers Autumn and Bill are wonderful people and go out of their way to be helpful and considerate. In addition, you meet the most amazing people traveling the planet :-) I cannot wait to go back. It was truly a joy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
1.9 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
1.6 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai

Property: Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai
Address: 4532 Lehua Street, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1750 (Formerly Kauai International Hostel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha and welcome to our family owned, family operated 34 person hostel on the amazing island of Kaua'i! Our hostel has enforced quiet hours from 10pm-7am. We are not a party style hostel. We hope guests will take advantage of our low prices and quality service so that you may enjoy Kauai hikes and outdoor activities that are our premier location provides. Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai resides in the heart of Kapa'a Town, across the street from Kapa'a Beach Park! Take a stroll or bike down the 7 mile Ke Ala Hele Makalae ("The Path that Goes by the Coast") that stretches from Wailua Town past Kealia Beach Point with amazing surf and spectacular views! Or, do some shopping at some of the best locally owned shops on Kauai. Dine in amazing restaurants or cook your own food in our large, newly decorated kitchen/common areas. We have two dorm rooms with ten beds, women's only dorms, four private rooms (inside the dorms), and two deluxe rooms. All dorms have a private room and a shared bath en-suite. The two deluxe rooms are in the main house, share a bathroom and do not have restrictions on kitchen hours. We have common areas available to all registered guests that include lanai (covered patio), several garden seating areas, hammock and TV room. Snorkel gear, kayaks, and Free WiFi is provided for all registered guests. Please, registered guests and new check ins only. *We most always have room for walk-ins 3pm-9pm, aloha! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai International Hotel Kapaa
Honu'Ea International Hostel Kauai Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing