We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location”
Review of Mokihana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mokihana
Ranked #10 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is play is a diamond in the rough.

The room is dated and not the nicest, but it provides everything that you need. There are either 2 single or double beds per room. We had the singles and they were surprising comfortable. Our bathroom only had a standup shower, but had great water pressure from the shower head. There are ones that have a bathtub, but I think those rooms might be an upgrade. There is a mini fridge, hot plate, toaster, coffee maker and all the dishes, cutlery and pots that you need.

Every room has a private lanai which face the ocean. We lucked out and had a full front ocean view and watched the sunrise every morning. There is picnic tabes and loungers out on the lawn if you want to watch a little closer.

The main "lobby" has alcohol, snacks and laundry detergent and it is all reasonably priced.

We had maid service twice during the 8 days we were there and this was enough. There is on site laundry which is nice.

You can't beat the location. This is as close to ocean front you are going to get on the island. There is a beach, but we could not swim it was too rocky and strong waves. There is a mini mall right across the hi way and there is a food-land, Safeway, longs drugs, a sports bar, Starbucks, ABC store and a few others.

The pool was nice and was usually warm.

There are three barques but we never used them but others did. They were nice and newer models.

This is/was a timeshare and the 40 year leases are all running out this year and the future if it is unknown, but was told by a leasee that they will most likely remodel and reopen as a hotel.

Overall I was extremely impressed. It's not fancy, but provides a great place to stay with a great price and unbeatable location.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank pitbosskev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

Beyond repair, failed housekeeping standards, faulty equipment, dated furniture and furnishings, terrible mattresses and pillows, filthy carpet and ceramic tiles [must wear flip flops to avoid dirtying feet], dirty and aged-filthy patio chairs and table. Filthy patio door glass. Overall, "avoid at all cost" unless you do not care about comfort.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller1Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I have been to several of the Islands, since 1970 (I was 8) - earliest Island memories waking up - walking onto the sand and watching sunrise......... If that is the memory you are looking for - Mokihana of Kauai is the Place.... this is the 60's there are no phones no t.v. in the rooms (at this point) I personally don't care - I don't go on vacation for television (and I don't care about sports - however you can get a t.v. if you want for a minimal fee - If you want a slower, less commercial pace this is what you are looking for. . .I have seen Moki in spring, late summer and in fall on Mothers Day, Easter, Halloween and Christmas - if you want a family memory. . . . Moki is my choice - I just returned from Moki December 21, 2013. Bittersweet as my family as owned a lease since the 70's - Moki isn't fancy - but if you want the experience - Mokihana is the place.

Room Tip: There are no "bad rooms" at Moki get up early for sunrise - join everyone else at the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wayward64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

No heated pool ,room small and out dated ,not at all what we expected ,they even charged us more for late check out then they had in a booklet in every room.when we pointed this out to the manager hegave us a deal which was still more then the booklet stated.We found a better hotel down the beach for less and room was double the size?

Room Tip: all rooms over priced!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank htrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

There's nothing fancy about Moki and that's the best part! Where else can you be closer to the ocean, watch the whales, visit with folks from different areas in the Northwest, walk to shopping, farmer's markets and have a great meal at The Bull Shed? All the staff are very pleasant and offer ideas of places to eat and things to do, more along the 'locals' line. This year wraps up the time share leases and it will break up many friendships that were created over the years, as many folks stayed for weeks to enjoy the true feel of a beautiful island! It may be aloha to many, but the memories will always be there.

Room Tip: South side ground floor rooms don't get the bright sunshine all day, allowing the units to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonja52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed here for the first time, using my grandma's timeshare. We were warned that it isn't updated and a little "funky", but had no idea how AMAZING the views were from this place. It is literally ON the water and it's gorgeous! We were up every morning to watch the amazing sunrise from our room, fell asleep to the sound and breeze of the ocean, and enjoyed our Lanai for hours each day.
Our room was very clean, even though it was outdated. This place is a hidden jewel in my opinion. As long as you know you're not getting a 5 star resort, it's a must stay. We'll be back again for sure -- Kauai is my favorite place on earth and Moki is awesome!

Room Tip: We were in the A building, 2nd floor -- amazing views, great breeze, and soooo close to the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Br00ke77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We've stayed at the Moki for the past 8 years or so. It has always been one of our favorite places on earth. It's not a single thing that made this so attractive; it's a combination of location, down to earth people, basic and inexpensive rooms and the views. People here have been coming for years, and almost like a large family. If you wanted snobby, stuck up folks, you would not find them here. Will things change now that Castle resorts bought them? Probably. Hopefully not a lot. We just came back two weeks ago and again had a wonderful time. Sun rises that just can't be beat, away from the "real world" and just a chance to relax. We will still plan on coming here next time, and my hope is we will still find the Moki as pleasant as each other time.

Room Tip: Building D has the best sunrises, but my favorites are A or B because you are looking straight out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enjoying_living
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.7 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
72 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,394 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
8 mi away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#6 of 11 in Lihue
383 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#3 of 11 in Kapaa
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mokihana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokihana

Address: 4-796 Kuhio Hwy, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1544
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range: £99 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mokihana 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mokihana of Kauai is located on the Coconut Coast of Kauai. All rooms are studio apartments with two twin beds, table and chairs. The complex has a heated swimming pool, shuffle board, tennis courts,and BBQs for your convenience. Mokihana is within walking distance of Safeway, Foodland, Starbucks, Subway, McDonalds, Long's Drugs and an ABC Store. The Bull Shed Restaurant is on site. Enjoy warm trade winds and a beautiful ocean view. Aloha! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mokihana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mokihana Of Kauai Hotel Kapaa
Mokihana Kauai, Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing