We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pono Kai Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$363
US$319
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$354
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$774
US$622
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Plantation Hale Suites(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
US$256
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (791)
Filter reviews
791 results
Traveller rating
234
344
125
54
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
344
125
54
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsherb gardenputting greenocean frontwalking pathliving roomthe kitchenvacation internationaletennis courtsbuilding btimeshare exchangeevery other dayshuffle boardisland orientationkoi pondono family restauranttime sharewithin walking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
726 - 731 of 791 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2007

I'll start off with the pros because theres only two.
Pros are, beach front view and cable tv.

From here, it goes downhill.
Towels have rust on them. Luckily, we brought our own towels.
CLoset smelled very bad so i never opened that.
Kitchen cabinets smelled very badly didnt really go in the kitchen cause it smelled.
Bathroom smelled like urine.
Fridge had hair inside.
Was not managed well, not maintained at all.
Everything had rust on it. from every light switch to the shower head. Did i mention the towels had rust on them?

The other condo that our friend was in had a roaches.
Highly not recommended to stay here.
Better to thoroughly do your research and read reviews than to just book it because of the inexpensive with ocean view aspect. seriously.

We decided to pack up and stay at the Marriott.
Bad part of staying in a condo is you've gotta contact the owner for guest services and not the front desk.
Very inconvenient.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Lovecat63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2007

Pono Kai is a condo complex, not a hotel. So there is no bar or gym or restaurant - but all those things are close by, most in walking distance.

The units are basic, but clean, comfortable and fairly well arranged in lushly landscaped grounds, right on the ocean, and many have been redone recently and some (ours) have new AC units - unneeded during our stay. We stayed in Building B, about 20 paces from the water, a wonderful setting for watching sunrise every morning. Athough the noises from other units can sometimes be heard, the complex is quite calm and quiets down early each night. Units have full kitchens, high-speed cable internet ($10/day extra), and balconies facing the ocean.

There is a walkway on the ocean side that extends for several miles - great for exercise and even better for people watching. Locals use it too.

The pool is tiny. The beach in front is diminishing and never was terrific, but nice ones are a short drive away.

Know what you are getting, and you will have a wonderful stay. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank oscar505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2007

Our visit to the Pono Kai was wonderful. We enjoyed our room location. We had a wonderful view of the ocean which made the mornings so beautiful. The grounds were gorgeous. The staff was very helpful. The concierge was wonderful. They arranged all of our activities for us and if it wasn't for them I'm sure we wouldn't have done half of the things that we did. Be sure to attend the orientation at the resort. It's very helpful on things to do while you are there. I plan on returning to Kauai and I will stay at Pono again. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank tishap0729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2007

Rooms were nicely appointed. Had anything you'd need. Only compaints were the elevators were dirty, smelled, and had no ventilation. Also, the air conditioning in each unit was in the living area, near the balcony. Well, the bedroom was in the front of the unit and would never cool down being so far from the AC. Other than that, the place was fine. The shopping in the area was not too pricey. Location was great being in the middle of the east coast, you could drive up the coast one day, down the other. The pool gets a bit crowded, but we still enjoyed it. The staff was very friendly, always. We were there with lots of other family members and had 4 units total, one being ocean front. Each unit was very similar. Had a lovely stay! =)

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Shellybells82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2007

While there are nicer resorts in Kapa'a, Pona Kai was clean, and if our room was any indication, it is well kept . Our unit had been completely redecorated with new carpets, furniture, and draperies. The grounds were very nice and the kitchen herb garden was awesome - if you cook with fresh herbs.

We had a third floor room, so there was no noise from other units, however chickens are all over the place; and they do crow very early each morning. They reminded me of being in the country as a child, so I kinda liked it <smile>.

The staff was pleasant and we had one small maintenance issue that was addressed very quickly. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kayeteekaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews