We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Kauai”
Review of Pono Kai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pono Kai Resort
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013

If there is a more beautiful place on earth, I definitely want to go there. Pono Kai is located in Kapaa, basically located in the middle of the island. Though I went by myself this trip, I would recommend it to anyone. If you are looking for shopping, nightlife and big city life stay in Waikiki. If you want peace, beauty and beautiful unspoiled beaches visit Kauai. Plenty to do. As for Pono Kai itself, the rooms are nice and spacious. Laundry room is downstairs. On site is a pool, hot tub, tennis courts, workout room, putting greens. Located on a nice beach walkway. Staff are all real nice and helpful. Only drawback is that you have to go to the front office area to use the free wi-fi. Otherwise this a great place on an absolute beautiful island. Another hint for those who have not traveled to Hawaii before, stop off at Costco or wal-Mart in Lihue for food. Groceries at Safeway,and Foodland are fairly expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

Great location in Kapaa, room was nice, nice pool and large hot-tub. Grounds were very well kept. If you want to go to a luau, the concierge will make your reservation and get you front row seats. This is a perk they offer for Pono Kai guests. The concierge can also save you $100.00 per person on the helicopter tour at Princeville airport, we found this out the hard way. The welcome reception was informative and didn't take much time, but they did offer good rates and almost everyone in attendance received a two for one special. We would definitely stay here again. Kapaa is a great place to stay in the middle of the island, with shops and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We traded our Grand Cayman timeshares for two one bedroom units, one with full kitchen, one unit with mini kitchen. Both units were well maintained, the 2nd floor beachfront unit had noise from above for one night, the ground floor garden view could not have been quieter. The grounds were beautifully maintained. The resort is within walking distance of shops and restaurants. The employees at the front desk were great as were housekeeping. The concierge meeting on Sunday was too much like listening to used car sales persons, but you do get a free donut, and can leave anytime. The concierges were helpful and polite, though one woman on the late shift seemed more interested in a personal phone call than in helping me. Security personnel are at the resort but more exterior lighting would help. Overall the Pono Kai should be rated as a 3 or 4 level resort but no lower.

Stayed: November 2013
5  Thank ChuckUpstateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Centrally located so you can go to the North Shore and down to the South Shore within 40 Minutes. The room was clean with everything you could need for a weeks stay... Towels & Bathroom necessities provided & plentiful and all the necessities in the kitchen to cook a nice dinner with a barbecue right outside our sliding door to small Patio. Perfect view of the sunset... Opt out for a ocean view. Worth the upgrade...Grounds are neat and clean... Pool area could be updated. Very courteous are reception and helpful... The only bad part they should have some sort of breakfast to accommodate the people on the resort...Be prepared to pay at least $25+ for a simple breakfast any restaurant nearby. Resort perfect for family who want to explore Kauai but make sure you go to supermarket and be prepared to make at least breakfast and lunch. Small fortune to dine in Kauai..

Room Tip: Ask for oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toniD_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

1st time to Hawaii! This resort was amazing. Not only was the location great the grounds and service were amazing! The rooms were not new no, but what hotel is? We had a 1 bedroom condo, on the 3rd floor my husband and I were in love! It was beach front, we only used our rooms for breakfast and sleep. We truly stayed out on the island except at night! Now when I was going to Pono Kai I was worried. I saw the reviews, but I found the Condo to be clean extra sheets, and I am a neat freak so we refused housekeeping every day but we could exchange towels, sheets and blankets. The service was amazing, Concierge, front desk, and housekeeping.

It was noisy but it's on the main strip so we heard everything the town closes up at nine but opens up early. The grocery stores were very expensive, 8.00 for a loaf of bread, tomatoes were 5.00 a pound, so try farmers markets. Big Save is very close to the condo its the best deal on produce and Walmart is the best deal as far as Beer and Wine goes. But Walmart which is close to the airport has zero fruits or vegetables and all their meat is frozen. But low selection on meat at Walmart. Big Save is 2 minutes from Pono Kai.

All in all I didn't want to leave this beautiful resort. Maybe some of the younger people expect a lot because they are used to Hotels, but I for one will never go back to Hotels the condo was amazing. Maybe the bad experieces have to do with getting the room at Pono Kai through a third party, but this was not only our first time to Pono Kai, but our first time to Hawaii and we can not wait to return! Please feel free to ask me any questions! Kapaa was amazing!

Tips: Fly straight into the island if at all possible, do not use Go airlines! We were delayed! Do not eat at Olympic Grill, do try Ono Family restaurant near walking distance you get 10% off if you tell them your staying at Pono Kai, and its cheaper than cooking but they only serve lunch and breakfast!

Room Tip: Rooms are grouped A, B, C, D and E. We stayed in A walked the grounds enough to see the lesser rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Deedrahsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We were looking forward to our stay at this resort as the grounds looked awesome and it was on beach. Once we checked in and got to our room that is where it all started to do downhill. The room smelled like mildew/mold and we could hear step we took in the unit as well as the unit above. As we looked over the room we found a gap in the entry door of at least a quarter to half inch between the door frame and the door, mold/water stains in several places, and there were pipes in the window jams of this second floor unit for "security". When we contacted the front desk about the problems we were told there were no other rooms available but they could put an air cleaner and freshener. It took two calls to maintenance to get this done. After toughing out a sleepless night we were given a second room that wasn't much better. The second room had mold behind the toilet and termites in the kitchen along with the water stains and creaking floorboards. When we complained again the front staff was "sympathetic" to our issues by explaining that our issues were the very reason "they would not stay at the resort themselves." Avoid this resort unless what you are interested in something similar to a motel 6 with great grounds.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Pono Kai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback about the Pono Kai Resort. We agree that the grounds and oceanfront location are superb, but saddened to hear that the room quality you experienced did not meet your expectations. Our vacation rental company manages a minority of the vacation rentals at the Pono Kai Resort (some of the ones not managed by the front desk) and we stand behind the quality of our condos we manage and would be happy to vacation in any of them. We hope you give the Pono Kai Resort another try.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed 5 nights...it was the perfect location to get all over the island, and yet rent bikes for the bike path or just walk into town for breakfast. Unit had anything you needed but didnt bring...Will be back

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank tillnextcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
4.5 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,448 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
1.6 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#7 of 11 in Kapaa
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
0.4 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#2 of 11 in Kapaa
383 reviews
14.2 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pono Kai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pono Kai Resort

Address: 4-1250 Kuhio Hwy, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1658
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: £139 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pono Kai Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pono Kai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pono Kai Hotel Kapaa
Pono Kai Kapaa
Pono Kai Resort Kauai, Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing