We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ocean View Front rooms Quiet Resort”
Review of Pono Kai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pono Kai Resort
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
CHICAGO
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Ocean View Front rooms Quiet Resort”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Great Location in Kappa,
We had a Ocean Front Balcony on 3rd floor.
We were able to see pods of Whales from our Balcony.
Full kitchen with room. Rooms are somewhat dated.
45 Min to South end of Island
35 Min to North end of Island
from Kappa. Grounds are well kept..Friendly staff.
Resort has 10 pm 8 am quiet rules
free parking... workout room and small Pool..

Room Tip: 3 rd floor has best Ocean front views. also, if on 2nd or 1st floor you can hear people wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHICAGO049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Pono Kai Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Mahalo for your review of the Pono Kai Resort. I am not sure if you stayed in one of the condos our vacation rental company manages, but glad to hear you were able to see whales from your lanai! Guests also like to walk along the paved beachfront trail and look for whales. We hope to see you at the Pono Kai again in the future.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    309
    114
    51
    34
See reviews for
203
356
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is a wonderful resort and our condo had a gorgeous view of the beach. Most everything in Kapaa was within walking distance of the resort. We enjoyed walking on the boardwalk that is between the beach and the resort. The grounds are gorgeous. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jltpeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego, ca
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Pono Kai is an older resort which is half time share/ half vacation rentals by owners. C-305 is a VRBO newly remodeled with AC in the bedroom and available through a rental agent at a price lower than renting a condo from the resort. If this unit is not available, only go for the oceanfront buildings which are A,.B, C, D. Go for level 3 for the best ocean view and quiet--and make sure the units is air conditioned (note:Over 50% of the condo units on Kauai are NOT air conditioned. Do not believe the"You don't need AC because of the tradewinds" story some rental agents will give you. It is not true! Pono Kai grounds are well kept, and resort is well located for island touring, shopping. Parking is free. PK is a good value--C-305 is a real find.

Room Tip: Go for the oceanfront buildings only and go to third level for best ocean views and least amount of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank salesproSanDiego_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here for a week at Christmas time. This is a lovely, spacious resort and we had a large two bedroom unit. The decor was good and the unit was well appointed. The grounds were immaculate and well landscaped and it was only a short walk to the beach. Unfortunately, the only thing that let down the unit were the floor boards. They were extremely noisy to walk on and we had to tip toe around in order to try and make it quieter for the people below. I did ask the resident below if he could hear anything, and he said he could hear it all the time. It is a real pity about the floor boards as this could otherwise be a lovely relaxing resort.

Room Tip: Take a top floor unit if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ANNE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here in January 2014, at Building B on the ground floor. We faced the ocean and we were literally 25 steps from the beach. Our view of the ocean, especially in the morning as the sun rose, was amazing. Overall, we were happy to be in Kauai and would return to this resort under certain conditions.

If you are used to Marriott, this place is not the Marriott!
Here are the Pros:
1. Great location right on the ocean with a great view, especially if you get a unit along the beach.
2. Kauai hiking path is right outside the patio door, 8 miles of cement/paved sidewalk along the beach, great for walking or cycling. Awesome morning walks with the sun rising over the ocean!
3. Close to lots of little coffee shops and little restaurants in the area. You can get a Starbucks down the road or go to one of the home-grown places
4. Good size unit for two people, with adequate storage and good bed.
5. Nice grounds.
6. Friendly staff.

Here are some Cons:
1. Room smelled musty. I am sure it was cleaned but the smell made it feel dirty.
2. Air conditioning in the unit was added after construction, and only covers the kitchen and living area effectively. We found our bedroom at the back of the unit to be quite warm and the air conditioning did not really help us back there. Leaving the fan on over night did not really help either.
3. The pool is not a drawing card, compared to other resorts. It is a basic pool and the deck cement is cracking/crumbling/uneven in spots. I would rather go to the beach anyways.
4. We did have some noise above us at night, almost as if the unit above us had hardwood for a floor. If it had carpet, would we have heard so much?
5. The TV had lots of channels but was pretty small. Not that we watched much TV, but places today have larger than 23 inch screen in the bedroom. It was more like a computer monitor size than a TV
6. There is no free internet in the rooms. But you can get free wifi at the lobby.

We would come again if the price was right and availability required it.
Contact me if you have any questions.

Room Tip: Ask to be in building A, B, or C
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EdwardTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We were here from the 21st - 28th of Feb and had a great time. We were concerned at first given the reviews about noisy rooms and such but when we got there we were pleasantly surprised. We stayed in E205, although considered garden view we also had a nice view of the the ocean. Yes the rooms are a little dated but our room was very clean and one night we woke at around 3am to hearing our neighbour snore, but it wasn't enough to keep us up all night. The grounds are immaculate and the BBQ areas are also well kept and clean.

The location is awesome, walking distance to restaurants and pubs, shops and beaches if you don't feel like getting out for the day plenty to do otherwise. We rented a car and spent most of our time on the sunny-side of the Island (South West). We enjoyed our stay and our room, oh and anyone who complains about the rain is just looking for something to whine about, Kauai is one of the wettest places on the planet, so please don't come on here and moan about it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed first week February 2014 and had a great time. We were in the second building, room 203 overlooking the garden. We were near the main road and noise was not a factor at all. The grounds are immaculate and the small Koi pond was beautiful. We had a 2 bd, 2 bath and it was a very spacious unit. The furniture and carpet were a bit outdated, but I'm in Kauai.....why would I be in the room, so who cares!!!! The room was very clean and did not smell. Many reviews are not kind. The staff was very friendly. The ocean is a very short walk and the location of this property is ideal! In 6 days we put 868 miles on our rental, so trust me, this is the place to stay. Traffic is very heavy and it makes it easy to go North or South to get out of town. There are chickens everywhere on this Island, if the city folk don't like the roosters crowing 24 hours a day, stay home, don't come to this beautiful place the chickens call home! Have plans already to return in September and looking forward to it! I highly recommend to take the Capt'n Andy's sunset/dinner cruise to the Napli Coast o the Southern Star. It's absolutely amazing and worth every cent! The concierge can help you book it and may get a small discount. I packed a bottle of Rum Chata from home....don't bother, the liquor prices are no higher then the mainland! The Shrimp Station is right up the road and a the food is quick and tasty!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Pono Kai Resort, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your review of the Pono Kai Resort. While our condo management company does not manage the exact condo you stayed in, we do represent a collection of condos at the Pono Kai Resort. You hit the nail on the head with your review of the fantastic grounds and ideal location. That is great you got to explore 868 miles of Kauai! This central location is great for exploring all the treats the island has to offer.
We look forward to seeing you at the Pono Kai Resort again in the future.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
4.5 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
1.6 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#3 of 11 in Kapaa
341 reviews
1.2 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
0.8 mi away
Waipouli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pono Kai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pono Kai Resort

Property: Pono Kai Resort
Address: 4-1250 Kuhio Hwy, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1658
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pono Kai Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pono Kai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pono Kai Hotel Kapaa
Pono Kai Kapaa
Pono Kai Resort Kauai, Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing