We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,939)
Filter reviews
1,940 results
Traveller rating
697
789
294
104
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
697
789
294
104
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitparking feeresort feevaulted ceilingsnightly entertainmentocean viewsmall balconyhot tubpool areafree mai taiper dayhotel restaurantnice propertyfree coffeeoceanfront roomopen airparking lot
Filter
Updating list...
1,736 - 1,741 of 1,940 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Overall satisfaction with this place. We had a perfect view from our albeit small patio which faces at an angle onto the tiny balcony. Great for putting your wet stuff on, but wouldn't spend much time there as the ocean is so close anyway. The pool was in front of us, with the ocean in the background so not picture perfect but at night with a full moon you can see to the horizon. You will hear kids at play, but if this bothers you close the heavy patio doors and you'll hear nothing. We were in room 354, king size, requested a week in advance if you want the same call ahead.

The food is okay, comparing to San Francisco, and actually better than more extravagantly priced places on the island. Happy hour at the bar will save you some, but the hotel is located near a lots of shopping choices like Safeway within walking distance, and has a fridge in the room. Would recommend for breakfast if you don't feel like leaving the hotel but it is slightly expensive. However, portions are decent.

Construction warning: they are updating this place, and when we stayed it was very minimal with some background drilling noise and no eyesore. However, they are planning to build a new entrance and update the lobby area extensively soon so if you show up to a construction site, hopefully you scored a good deal to begin with! They are finished with the pool area and courtyard which looks great for a small hotel.

Rooms still a bit outdated, old tube TV with crappy cable service, carpeting etc. Bathroom is small, shower is decent and sink area adequate, just getting in and out that is the problem. No sign of bugs or other infestation. For two people we felt a little squashed on account of all our stuff, but hardly spent much time at the hotel. plenty of chairs and surfaces to put things though.

Staff are generally friendly, although beware that the 'concierge' actually represents Pleasant Holidays Travel Center, so they can only recommend stuff in there 'system' although some of the staff will help you out with advice but ultimately they want to push you into activities in which they receive royalties I think. Cleaning, lobby and restaurant staff were great.

Overall, great place to stay at a moderate price to explore both the north (which we did three times) and south/west of the island.

Room Tip: Room 354 is decent as it faces the ocean. Not the most romantic place.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onthegers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It sounded like you enjoyed yourself and that is what vacation is all about. Don't fear renovations........I have been through many and it can be done without interruptions to the guest experience. And if necessary reach out to any of our dedicated team members and they will take care of any situation that may arise. Please come and celebrate our Transformation and enjoy the staff. Soon all rooms will have new flat screen televisions, enjoy a new state of the art fitness center and Marriott's Market Place located in our totally new lobby. Hopefully we see you again soon and thanks for the business. Aloha!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Kauai in general is rather boring for the kids, and it is more for couples than families. We stayed here for $99 a night, with our platinum upgrade we then got ocean view 2 king beds on the third floor. Excellent location to near by Kapaa. Drove kids to Lydgate park for enclosed, safe, swimming. Hotel staff was nicer than Oahu staff, but there were still those nasty ones - they tended to be the older ones. The eating choices were not of the Oahu standard, the service and food taste were not great. The breakfast buffet was limited and not worth it. Go to Eggberts nearby instead. The beach here is not swimmable, it looks nice, but not for swimming. There is an updated pool that is fairly basic, but the jacuzzi is nice. There are golf courses nearby. Not a lot of action for families with kids. Best for a quiet retreat if you are in a lovey mood. The torches at night are a nice touch. The work out area is very basic. There is laundry on site. The free wi-fi was not connecting when I was there. I was having technology and cell signal problems. If you need to get work done while on vacation, or to be in touch with others, this island is too remote and not good for that. This is best for those who want to get away and use the lack of technology as an excuse to avoid your co-workers. It was nice saying, "sorry, hard to hear you, I have limited cell signal here...oops. lost that call." No wi-fi in the rooms.

Room Tip: Special last minute rates and mid week rates.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pickyreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Thank you for your 4 star review. You mentioned quite a few of our great features and some things we are most certainly working on. Our "Transformation" we are finishing up this fall will most definitely solve your connection problem. I apologize for the wifi issues you had during your stay. Not only will we have new wifi throughout the hotel but also Marriott's "elounge" will soon be the high-tech meeting place for everyone to stay connected. Come back and visit us soon. We recently changed all our dining menus to answer the suggestions of our customers. I am certain you will be much more impressed especially with breakfast!! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we appreciate your business. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We were told that this property has only recently become a Marriott. They are working on bringing the place up to Marriott standards and the grounds, pool & hottub are all renovated and very nice. We had to move from the room we were in the 1st night, as it was damp, bad smelling and we feared a mold issue. AC and frig were very noisy as well. The wood work in the rooms is lovely. Beds were poor. Balconies are ridiculously small (only 1 person at a time can sit on it!). Staff was friendly. Beach was nice to sit at, but not really able to swim in it, due to rocks. Location is nice and lots of terrific beaches nearby though!

Room Tip: If you have problems with your room (damp), asked to be moved, right away. Staff allowed us to check out several rooms and pick one.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynetteWicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Thank you for your review and for choosing the Courtyard Kauai at Coconut Beach!! You are absolutely right.....if you have any issues during your stay any of our friendly team members can assist. We aim to please and delivery the highest levels of customer service. I'm glad my team shared with you the rejuvenation in progress. We are excited about the changes and hope you come and experience a stay with us again soon. Aloha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Were pleasantly surprised by the value and cleanliness of this hotel. It is in the middle of renovations however no construction is currently being done. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. Safeway, Starbucks, coffee bean, coconut grove market place, and several good restaurants are within 5 minute walk! The pool is adequate, nothing fancy...no swim up bar. Quiet and relaxing. The food at the hotel is good, but with hotel prices. The downside, the beach is not swimable because of strong/rough tides and not enough beach to layout on. If you're not renting a car, the bus is a good alternative for $2pp each direction. We visited Hanalei via bus n it was a nice trip.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WifeIsAHotelSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We definitely consider ourselves the best value on the island. We are the Courtyard with all the added amenities. As for the pool bar, how about if I personally deliver you the drink of choice poolside next time you return. It would be my pleasure!!
Great advice about the bus too. It is something we tend to forget sometimes but it is very convenient and inexpensive. Hopefully we see you soon. Aloha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed 3 nites before moving on to our timeshare. The beach waves were rough and not real say unless smaller waves. The front desk advised us of the surf conditions. The pool is nice with nite time seating to enjoy the stars and sounds of the beach. They have a bar and restaurant that's average. It's adequate. The coconut shopping center down the road is easy to walk to and has some food/shops/etc. About a quarter mile up the road is more restaurants/supermarkets/etc in the town of waupoli. We would come back and stay at this property again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Courtyard Fire Feature and the close proximity of the beach (just steps away) make it easy to enjoy all the sounds of the ocean. It is great to hear you had a chance to experience it. We are about the make our restaurants much more than adequate…… with a complete “rejuvenation” happening this fall enhancing the overall dining experience. It sounds like you found our location very convenient. Come back and see us again soon.......next time we want to Exceed your Expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews