We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,965)
Filter reviews
1,965 results
Traveller rating
707
800
297
105
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
707
800
297
105
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit parking fee resort fee vaulted ceilings nightly entertainment ocean view small balcony hot tub pool area mai tais free mai tai per day hotel restaurant free coffee nice property oceanfront room open air
Filter
Updating list...
1,758 - 1,763 of 1,965 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2011

While the lack of wireless internet was annoying, I found everything else about this hotel to be exactly what I was looking for. Immaculately clean bedding, fantastic location if you are intending on getting out and about, lots of options to sit outside near the beach, good place to watch for sunrise on the island that time of year, helpful staff. I didn't eat here but it's close to lots of great local places, but I definitely enjoyed the time I spent there. I would definitely stay here again above all other hotels in the area. You can't go wrong!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank staasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Mahola for staying with us and for the great review! We pride ourselves on ensuring all our guests have a remarkable stay and come back to visit. Next time you join us we will have your wireless needs fixed; as you probably noticed we are under a rejuvenation period that will include wifi throughout the hotel as well as the Marriott’s “elounge.” Part of our rejuvenation also includes new seating throughout the pool area and beachside – which you enjoyed while watching one of Kauai’s enchanting sunrises. Thanks again, we hope to see you back when all is completed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Overall, I had an excellent stay; I love Kauai and Kapaa because it is more laid back than the high end tourist spots. I was happy to be able to get my Marriott points in this relatively out-of-the way place. Room was updated, clean, and comfortable. Drawbacks were that "oceanfront" is a dubious designation; the rooms are at an angle to the ocean and the balconies are TINY. Also wifi is needed in the rooms and not just the lobby.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chica77843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for the four star rating. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your room; next time you visit please let our front desk staff know your preference in views, we would be happy to accommodate your needs in one of our rooms directly facing the ocean. I am sure you noticed our current "Transformation," which will be finished before the first of the year and will most definitely solve your connection problem. I apologize for any wifi issues you had during your stay. Not only will we have new wifi throughout the hotel but also Marriott's "elounge" will soon be the high-tech meeting place for everyone to stay connected. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Good: staff was very nice and provided good service

Bad: old rooms, damp carpets, mild smell, needs renovation, got ocean view but view was not ocean view, ac was loud and came straight to face while sleeping.

I wouldn't go there for honey moon, but if you are looking for a cheap place that is closer to the north side, it's adequate.

Room Tip: This is not really a resort, better for casual travel
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

We appreciate your business and honest review. As mentioned in many other comments we are about to get some great property upgrades. Improvements to the air-conditioning units is just one to those upgrades. We are very excited about our rejuvenation and hope you will return to share it with us. Thank you for the kind comments about the staff. I will be sure to share with the entire team. We pride ourselves on providing "Hospitality with Aloha"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Overall satisfaction with this place. We had a perfect view from our albeit small patio which faces at an angle onto the tiny balcony. Great for putting your wet stuff on, but wouldn't spend much time there as the ocean is so close anyway. The pool was in front of us, with the ocean in the background so not picture perfect but at night with a full moon you can see to the horizon. You will hear kids at play, but if this bothers you close the heavy patio doors and you'll hear nothing. We were in room 354, king size, requested a week in advance if you want the same call ahead.

The food is okay, comparing to San Francisco, and actually better than more extravagantly priced places on the island. Happy hour at the bar will save you some, but the hotel is located near a lots of shopping choices like Safeway within walking distance, and has a fridge in the room. Would recommend for breakfast if you don't feel like leaving the hotel but it is slightly expensive. However, portions are decent.

Construction warning: they are updating this place, and when we stayed it was very minimal with some background drilling noise and no eyesore. However, they are planning to build a new entrance and update the lobby area extensively soon so if you show up to a construction site, hopefully you scored a good deal to begin with! They are finished with the pool area and courtyard which looks great for a small hotel.

Rooms still a bit outdated, old tube TV with crappy cable service, carpeting etc. Bathroom is small, shower is decent and sink area adequate, just getting in and out that is the problem. No sign of bugs or other infestation. For two people we felt a little squashed on account of all our stuff, but hardly spent much time at the hotel. plenty of chairs and surfaces to put things though.

Staff are generally friendly, although beware that the 'concierge' actually represents Pleasant Holidays Travel Center, so they can only recommend stuff in there 'system' although some of the staff will help you out with advice but ultimately they want to push you into activities in which they receive royalties I think. Cleaning, lobby and restaurant staff were great.

Overall, great place to stay at a moderate price to explore both the north (which we did three times) and south/west of the island.

Room Tip: Room 354 is decent as it faces the ocean. Not the most romantic place.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onthegers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It sounded like you enjoyed yourself and that is what vacation is all about. Don't fear renovations........I have been through many and it can be done without interruptions to the guest experience. And if necessary reach out to any of our dedicated team members and they will take care of any situation that may arise. Please come and celebrate our Transformation and enjoy the staff. Soon all rooms will have new flat screen televisions, enjoy a new state of the art fitness center and Marriott's Market Place located in our totally new lobby. Hopefully we see you again soon and thanks for the business. Aloha!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Kauai in general is rather boring for the kids, and it is more for couples than families. We stayed here for $99 a night, with our platinum upgrade we then got ocean view 2 king beds on the third floor. Excellent location to near by Kapaa. Drove kids to Lydgate park for enclosed, safe, swimming. Hotel staff was nicer than Oahu staff, but there were still those nasty ones - they tended to be the older ones. The eating choices were not of the Oahu standard, the service and food taste were not great. The breakfast buffet was limited and not worth it. Go to Eggberts nearby instead. The beach here is not swimmable, it looks nice, but not for swimming. There is an updated pool that is fairly basic, but the jacuzzi is nice. There are golf courses nearby. Not a lot of action for families with kids. Best for a quiet retreat if you are in a lovey mood. The torches at night are a nice touch. The work out area is very basic. There is laundry on site. The free wi-fi was not connecting when I was there. I was having technology and cell signal problems. If you need to get work done while on vacation, or to be in touch with others, this island is too remote and not good for that. This is best for those who want to get away and use the lack of technology as an excuse to avoid your co-workers. It was nice saying, "sorry, hard to hear you, I have limited cell signal here...oops. lost that call." No wi-fi in the rooms.

Room Tip: Special last minute rates and mid week rates.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pickyreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Thank you for your 4 star review. You mentioned quite a few of our great features and some things we are most certainly working on. Our "Transformation" we are finishing up this fall will most definitely solve your connection problem. I apologize for the wifi issues you had during your stay. Not only will we have new wifi throughout the hotel but also Marriott's "elounge" will soon be the high-tech meeting place for everyone to stay connected. Come back and visit us soon. We recently changed all our dining menus to answer the suggestions of our customers. I am certain you will be much more impressed especially with breakfast!! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we appreciate your business. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews