We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I booked this hotel through American Airlines vacation packages and after the flight cost, I was paying about $90 a night plus the parking fee. I stayed 9 nights at the end of Nov and first of Dec. So I thought this was a good value. It is very close to the airport and within a short drive of many restaurants. The best restaurant on the island, Hukilau Lanai, is a 30 second drive. The furniture in the room was nice and I thought the bed was comfortable. The balcany was small, but I only used it dry my wet stuff. And as mentioned by other reviews, the bathroom is small, but this is an older hotel and bathrooms were small when it was built. It was OK, but I would have liked it to be a little bigger. The pool wasn't heated like other hotels, they could improve that. But they had a lot of nice chairs around the pool. I liked that it was a short walk to the car, unlike other hotels in Hawaii which has sometimes taken 15 minutes to walk to the car. Overall, I recommed this hotel if you want value, a nice room, and a location that makes the north and south shore a 40 minute drive to each.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinkles200000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,040 - 1,046 of 1,783 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was the second hotel we stayed in on our honeymoon in Kauai, and was definitely the better of the two. As soon as we drove up, we knew we would enjoy our stay here, and when we walked inside, we were positive. Berenice at the front desk was really sweet and helpful, and when she discovered that we were on our honeymoon, she had a bottle of complimentary champagne sent to our room!

The hotel is clean and updated, and has a beautiful property. We were on the fourth floor (top floor), with an ocean view room, and had the most beautiful view from our balcony. Every room has a balcony, and I'm sure that no matter where your room there is something amazing to look at through the window.

There is a restaurant and a lounge/bar on the premises, and there is a really nice pool/spa. The hotel is also right on the beach, which makes relaxing on it or walking along it at sunrise or sunset very easy. The employees are all very nice and accommodating, and each night they have complimentary mai-tais for their guests. We spoke with Blake almost every evening when we stopped by for our mai-tai, and he was always fun to talk to.

We will definitely plan on staying at the Marriott again on a return trip to Kauai, it was absolutely gorgeous and we didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, and if you can, get an ocean view - it's worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This hotel is not your ordinary Courtyard by Marriott. First of all, the hotel has a beautiful private beach with plenty of lounge chairs. The pool has a beautiful fountain and cozy fire pit with comfy chairs to hang out in the evening. There were several hammocks under the palm trees for napping. The bar will deliver your drinks poolside and was open all day and evening. One nice surprise was the full service restaurant. The food was excellent as was the ambience. This hotel also had a spa, but I did not have a chance to try it out. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to my family and friends.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Kpride59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Great location, loved the Wednesday Sunrise and Evening Hula Show, adored the view of the beach, a lot of nearby restaurants within walking distance, and we enjoyed the fireplace near the pool. Comfortable beds, friendly staff and concierge. Pool and jacuzzi were refreshing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed here one night in between weeks at 2 different resorts. The rooms are quite small but adequate. They have been redone and everything was in very good shape, new and clean. The bed wasn't the most comfortable we have slept on but it was adequate. We were fortunate to have a 4th floor ocean view room which had vaulted ceilings. The bathroom was quite small and hard to move around in. The lanai was also extremely small. The property is ocean front, so there were lots of lounge chairs on the lawn to sit on and enjoy the view. The courtyard area with the pool was quite nice and also had nice seating areas to enjoy. The property is centrally located, so if you are touring both north and south it would be a convenient location. There are also a lot of shops and restaurants in fairly close proximity. The highway is very busy along this stretch, but the resort is back far enough that it is nice and quiet. All in all, it is a decent place for the price and we would be inclined to stay again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

If you want a hotel where you can relax, eat well, swim in a lovely pool or look at the ocean waves flow onto the adjacent beach, this hotel has it for you. It is an older hotel with very small bathrooms and small balconies, unless you choose the ocean facing rooms. But it does have travel services which can arrange tours and trips for you. What you can't do is swim safely in the ocean, as there are signs to warn you against doing this. The bedrooms are a good size and the choice of TV stations is generous. This hotel has services for meetings and very good restaurant services with reasonable prices. The pathways along the beach areas are very pleasant to walk. The staff is courteous and helpful. The free wi-fi is appreciated, however, they are having some problems with their internet service, which hopefully will be corrected soon. You can walk to malls on either side of this hotel, which is useful, as rooms have a small fridge. Our 5 night stay was very pleasant.

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean facing room as balconies are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Otty15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a loud resort then go somewhere else. We were pleasantly surprised given how little we paid per night for this place. Beautiful view. One downside is that this isn't really a swimming beach. We chose to stay here instead of poipu due to how central it is to our activities.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jeremiah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,395 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.6 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
6.8 mi away
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1402 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: £136 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard Kaua'i At Coconut Beach Kauai, Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing