We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had an executive waterfront room which was as described. Service was reliable. Beautiful views of the sunrise. Lived up to the Marriott name. The poolside was amazing and lots of guests gathered there. Live music every evening. We ate at the restaurant our on last evening before heading out and the food was disappointing - the noodle soup was bland, the pizza was good, and the chilli appetizer shrimp was expensive for 4 pieces on a skewer.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Rash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,002 - 1,008 of 1,758 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Our family stayed at this hotel between Christmas and New Year's and were very happy with our choice. The hotel is set back away from the road and very quiet at night, other than the sound of the ocean waves. It also has a lot of open land on either side of it and beautiful grounds with lots of places to sit and relax.

As it faces directly east, the sunrises were spectacular. We would pick up our free coffee in the lobby every morning and head for the beach to watch the sun come up. What an amazing way to start the day!

I read a lot of reviews before our trip, and so was not upset that the beach is not a swimming beach. There are many other beaches nearby and we loved just walking along the beach or sitting outside. In addition to the coffee in the morning, there are free maitais for guests in the lobby every night, which was a nice touch. The staff are very friendly and accommodating and the place has a relaxing, low key quality to it.

It is true that the rooms and balconies are very small, but for the price we paid and the wonderful location, we were satisfied. I would give the hotel 5 stars but the one negative was the housekeeping -- once our towels were not replaced -- also coffee, water glasses, shampoo and soap. The bathroom also did not seem that clean. I talked to staff twice about the housekeeping issues and both times, whatever we needed was taken care of, but the pattern continued. We were told that the hotel was sold out and know that this is the busiest time of the year to visit Hawaii, so took that into consideration and figured the staff was doing the best job they could.

Kapaa is a perfect location -- nice weather, centrally located, and we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brodeia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stay almost exclusively at Marriott branded hotels, and the staff was awesome as usual, grounds were pristine, super clean and right, right, right on the beach. The rooms are sort of stuck in some throwback era and not in a good way. The housekeeping staff does not do a great job. The first night we arrived there were no washcloths, the second day, they didn't give us cups (did replenish out coffee, just no cups to drink it from.) The rooms are not super clean, but we were only in there to sleep so it didn't matter so much. Bathrooms are also very small and not updated. The setup is great though, with most rooms having a decent view of the ocean. We would stay there again, just maybe a different room.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tibby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

This is a solid 3 star hotel with good gym, restaurant, beach, and rooms. You need to set your expectations appropriately. This is not the st. Regis . Service friendly, rooms have fridge, great location as Safeway across the street and 24 hours.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank wvb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

The Courtyard staff are wonderful and provide wonderful service. The rooms are comfortable and immaculate. However, the bathrooms are tiny but functional. The grounds and pool area are well maintained and relaxing. The pool is relatively small but isn't crowded. The restaurants have great service, good food, and are reasonably priced. The only real negative was that our "Garden View" room actually overlooked the trash dumpster, parking lot and a noisy industrial exhaust. However the room was very quite so long as the lanai door was kept closed.

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank geotech1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We arrived right before noon and they were able to get us into our room, I was anticipating a room with a view but as we arrived to our floor and room our view was of the tennis courts and parking lot. The bathroom is cramped, you skim the edge of the toilet as you open the door. The bed was not very comfy but the room was kept clean while we were there. The front staff is wonderful, free Mai Tais every night and great suggestions for dining. We did have two dinners at the lounge/pool area and they were your typical hotel meals, satisfying but nothing to write home about.

The con's I would say are the following, we were told to make reservations for our christmas dinner at the hotels buffet. We called numerous times and no one answered. We went down and were told they did not have any room and would start a waiting list, the manager replied from the back area that no waiting list would be taken. While we were dining at the bar they came out and told another couple that they would now be accepting walk ins for the buffet, slightly disappointing but we were already in the middle of our bar food.

The second con would be the lack of pool seating and lounge chairs. Each day the chairs are filled up by mid morning, some have towels thrown over the neighboring chair but it doesn't appear they have enough chairs for the amount of guests are there.

The location of this hotel was great for us. The staff was always very helpful and polite. We would have no problem staying here again!

Room Tip: Get ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mgodlewski00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

First off, this is not what you would expect from any Marriott property. I understand that this was not built originally as a marriott property but it is very evident that the company has not tried to fix or upgrade anything.

Example: it is the year 2013, and somehow they find it acceptable to present hotel guests with spring mattresses!!! SPRING mattresses. With no cushioning whatsoever. As stated in the reviews above, yes the bathrooms are very small and the LARGE balconies that they boast about on the website holds one person at a time.

We also had breakfast in the hotel restaurant in the morning. The continental breakfast buffet includes what you would expect at any other motel for free. There were some defrosted pastries, tasteless home fries, defrosted waffles, pancakes, eggs Benedict, you get the point. PLAIN yogurt with parfaits? Maybe this is being a little picky but if you're going to have a yogurt bar at least have decent tasting yogurt. The only freshness In their fresh breakfast buffet is the omelet bar (I think) and the fruits. Don't waste your time. For $20 take your money and your inevitable frustrations elsewhere.

The pool is acceptable and a great place to lounge around, but if you think you're going to relax your sore muscles in the hot tub, think again because it is broken and has been for the duration of the stay thus far, with no sign of a repair happening soon.

For location and service, I wouldn't object to staying here again, but the management needs to get their act together if they are going to continue calling themselves a marriott property.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,355 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.6 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
6.8 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1402 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: £129 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard Kaua'i At Coconut Beach Kauai, Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing