We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spotless clean but Rock Hard Bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spotless clean but Rock Hard Bed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

The facility was beautiful and super clean. Location was good if you like to spend time on the north and south shores. Complimentary coffee in the Market Place in the morning was nice. Especially REAL cream. Complimentary Mai Tai's in the evening were also enjoyed. My only complaints are: 1. The bed was the hardest bed I had ever TRIED to sleep in. 2. Paid extra for ocean view but so many coconut tree's that there was not an ocean view, also the buffet tent was set up right in front of our window. If they ever upgrade the beds I'd love to stay again. I love sleeping to the sound of the ocean but we couldn't leave the sliding glass door open. There was no screen to keep the insects out. Also, the AC was wired to kick off if the sliding glass door was open.

Room Tip: Don't waste money on an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaFBurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom H, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for reaching out to share feedback on your recent stay with us. Please know that your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us, and we will be utilizing your comments as we look for new ways to improve our guests' experience. I apologize for the disruptions you experienced, and for the frustration you must be facing. We are dedicated to ensuring your satisfaction, and hope you will give us another opportunity to impress should you return to our area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    699
    233
    82
    41
See reviews for
307
947
81
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Upon check in discovered there was an error on our date. Clerk gave us a beautiful ocean view room on top floor honoring our pre booked price. The room was clean and the bedding was heavenly, sheets soft and silky. The bed was firm but comfortable. Large TV, small lanai. The grounds are beautiful right on the ocean. Poolside service is a bit slow but we were not in a hurry. Friendly, helpful staff. The free mai tais were a treat as well as free coffee in the morning. Food is a bit expensive in the restaurant, but pool side menu quite reasonable. I like the location in Kappa better than Princeville because it is less rainy. Close to most things, less than a half hour from the airport. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the ocean and the green belt, very pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingonSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

As last year, we stayed again at the Marriott Courtyard in Kapaa and it was nice to see how the staff welcomed us back and once they realized we we're repeat customers went event further out of their way to make our stay wonderful. Kapaa is a great base for day trips on the island, affordable and the hotel offers several amenities which we really value, such as the big whirlpool, the lava pit etc. On our next stay on Kauai we will certainly stay here again!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike_the_Voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapaa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Kauai Marriott courtyard is beautiful, great location has a wonderful 5 star staff. Quiet and soothing ocean views / sounds/ breezes. A perfect vacation spot. Coffee is weak and food overall so so but we'll definitely be back for the ambience and aloha spirit of the entire staff!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlmurraymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at the Courtyard in Kawai and were able to use category 5 coupons earned from previous Marriott stays...nice to see the location on the beach, and overall appearance seemed like a great place to spend 3-4 days while in Kawai. Hotel staff was great and very helpful, bar overlooked the pool and hot tub, which was nice....overall view of the ocean from rooms and pool area was nice also. Balcony's were very tiny...2 people could sit but that's it! Also, as others pointed out, the beds were terrible...not up to other Marriott and Courtyard standards for sure...front desk said they were being replaced. Proximity to good restaurants and general location on Kawai was great. You can walk to Hukilau next door for great dining or other choices are a short walk also...rain on this side of the island is only issue I have with this time of year in Kawai...but sun can be had with a short drive to Poipu area...and besides, it's Hawaii; what's not to like!

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor, overlooking ocean....back side of building has nice sunset and is secluded fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We spent a week in an Executive Oceanfront room, and very much enjoyed our stay. We had a few negatives, and many positives during our stay. Negatives: The mattress was old and moderately uncomfortable--definitely not as good as in most 2-star lodging; sheets fit poorly, often didn't quite cover at foot of bed; RESTAURANTS UNDERSTAFFED-----slow service the first night, and NO service on a subsequent night. We gave up waiting for service poolside, went to dining room and were told the manager would not allow guests to be seated there due to lack of available servers. Disappointing! On the positive side, room was large, well-appointed, with fabulous view. Beach was great, with really nice walk in both directions. Great hot tub and very nice fitness room. Evening mai tais were tasty and fun. Facility was clean, as was our room. Would stay again...and would hope for mattresses to have been upgraded.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mommacita321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

The beautiful landscaping really beckoned us right away and made us feel welcomed. I didn't give it a 5 because there were several small things in which we were disappointed, and I have communicated those to the management. I would stay here again in a heartbeat regardless.
Free coffee in the lobby from 6:30-9 which was wonderful. Expedia concierge had great maps and snorkeling suggestions. We were able to rent beach chairs to take to the other side of the island, and they also had mats and umbrellas for rent. Parking was plentiful. Great chairs and recliners out at the beach with several trees for shade. Our complaints were small- a small lanai which barely fit 2 chairs, a very rusty and almost inoperable sliding door to the lanai, small black ants which congregated above the fridge where we kept some food (a small note on the counter warned us that they were having problems with ants and to keep the lanai door closed), and some disinterested front desk ladies.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.6 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
14.9 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
6.8 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Property: Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1402 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard Kaua'i At Coconut Beach Kauai, Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing