We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't be disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Short stay due to difficulties getting a return flight with my frequent flyer miles. Although I have stayed a several Courtyard Marriott hotels before this much more than I expected. The room was clean and had a great view. The lanai was a little small as was the bathroom, but then a gain the view was great. In the morning there is a hula greeting to the sunrise and many additional nice touches. Restaurant / bar was excellent, pool area with fire pit and a short walk to grocers and additional dinning.

Room Tip: Asked for a garden room but was given a complimentary upgrade.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,746)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

877 - 883 of 1,746 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice hotel, clean, and close to the airport. Stayed here for 5 nights for a wedding nearby. Staff was helpful and rooms are clean. Balconies are small as other people have indicated but I never used it. Hotel restaurant was good and prices competitive, but birds are aggressive and annoying if you're eating outside. Bath tub flowed a little slow but was manageable. Bed springs feel old and make lots of noises when trying to sleep. Had a Garden View room but a palm tree was all I was able to see out the window. It may seem that there are ample parking at first look, but if you come back to the hotel at night, it may be extremely difficult to find spots.

Resort fee that they charge seems to be overpriced for what it's offered and sort of misleading as a Courtyard is not a resort. Only paying for parking is $6/nt cheaper but depending on what you want, may be worth it to just go with the resort fee.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed here for four nights. Hotel is central to either side of the island. Close to the airport and shopping.
Rooms were nice but balconies were small.
Hotel restaurant/bar lounge food was excellent and great value for the price.
Nice pool with a water/fire feature.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clementine1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Arrived a day early for family vacation and stayed here overnight before going to marriott resort. Nice hotel with beach front. The breakfast buffet was great. Room was typical of marriott courtyard hotels.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Lesta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This Courtyard property is beautiful, and mostly what you would expect to see from a Marriott Courtyard--setting was great, grounds well-kept and clean, staff was friendly and helpful. However for us our room had bugs in it, the toilet leaked all over the floor, the mattress seemed like a mattress from a fold out couch (bouncy and felt the springs) and unfortunately our one meal at the restaurant was average at best (ribeye and dinner salad). None of this ruined our visit. But considering it was a Courtyard and also considering what we paid, it was disappointing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dpejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberlee C, Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Aloha dpejr,
Thank you for your review. We are deeply sorry to learn about your experience as this is not typical of the resort. While we are happy to hear that you were pleased with the maintained grounds and courteous staff, our team apologizes for the inconsistencies you experienced with the room imperfections and meal service. It’s unfortunate that we did not exceed your expectations during your recent stay. Your comments and feedback are very important to us and will be shared with appropriate Management at the resort. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was a bit of an older hotel but fairly well maintained. Lobby area was small but inviting and tropical. Friendly, helpful staff. Hotel was just four stories in height, our room on the top floor was very quiet. Pretty mid-size swimming pool with small waterfall and evening fire pit. Hotel was situated on a non-swimming beach (rocky shoreline) offering a beautiful ocean view. Chairs and benches by the beach were well placed and utilized by many guests but still felt intimate. They occasionally have a free evening hula and fire dance show that we really enjoyed. The hotel lounge food was decent but nothing special, reasonable prices, happy hour. Restaurant buffet was a bit pricey ($40) for the offerings. Nearby restaurants in Kapa'a recommended by the hotel were good, the Italian restaurant was excellent. They do not have an airport shuttle but a one way taxi is approximately $25. Not large grounds but no hotels on either side. Luggage storage available. Nearby shopping mall within walking distance did not have many shops, but did include a convenience store, a few souvenir shops, small restaurant with bar, a take out sandwich place that was recommended by a local resident. Kapa'a town (.05 miles) had several restaurants, two supermarkets, fast food, gas station. Hotel location at the center of theisland was great for travel in both directions. Many sights nearby, Wailua River, Opaekaa Falls, Wailua Falls, and ancient heiau (Hawaiian temples). Nearby activities include kayak and standup paddle board.. Parking was not included and a bit pricey ($14 or $20 resort package (includes yoga and two mai tais) daily). Overall a very good experience. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We booked the ocean view room because I wanted... well nice ocean views. This is how the room was described in the confirmation email: "Cinnamon-coloured shutters open up to sweeping ocean views from a private terrace in this room" = very misleading. You just get to see the ocean but for the sweeping views you need to book the room with PREMIUM ocean view which for this property is not worth the extra money.

PROS:
- large and comfortable room with air conditioning
- decent sized safe and storage for clothes in the room
- location is good: Kapaa town is not far and this is a good central location to explore the whole island
- nice large beach

CONS:
- no character, pretty standard
- small balcony: two chairs is all that can fit in that balcony
- balcony oriented away from the sea towards the pool/hotel and courtyard so you cannot sit on the chairs and see the sea!
- view of the sea is nothing special. You get to see a bit of the sea if you stand at the window but do not expect sweeping views as in the description.
- a bit dark and dingy because of the orientation of the room and the way shutters are designed
- old fashion fixed shower head (impractical but good pressure)
- additional costs for added services: parking fee $14 per day, or $20 per day for the resort fee which gives you parking, daily free Mai Tai (which makes up for the value however it is served only between specific hours: we missed this for most of the holiday because we would be always out and about), complimentary yoga and activities, beach towels etc (overall the resort fee is good value but only if you plan to spend most of your holiday inside the hotel; we only went back to sleep!)
- If you come back late at night it can be a struggle to find a space in the car park
- not much going on at night and restaurants seem to finish serving early
- the polynesian night was scheduled for a dinner between 5 and 6:46 pm (we were still on the beach in a different part of the island!)

Overall it is an OK hotel with a reliable service but nothing special. The property is a bit old fashioned but it seems to be kept in reasonable state (apart from the fire alarm going off one night for no reason).
There is a nice pool in front of the beach and a jacuzzi but we didn't use either.

Personally if I was to go back to Kauai I would not stay in this property again. There are other properties in the vicinity and in Kapaa town that have more character and prettier views over the sea.

Room Tip: If you want a decent sea view go for the King or Queen Room with Premium Ocean View
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ros_in_wonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberlee C, Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Aloha Ros,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. I apologize that you felt mislead after comparing the description of our rooms to the actual room you were assigned. I have spoken directly with our Director of Reservations and Revenue Management and together, we have updated the descriptions of our rooms accordingly. I have also brought your suggestions to the appropriate Department Managers who will be addressing each matter individually. I truly hope the rest of your vacation on Kaua’i was enjoyable. If your travels bring you back to the Garden Isle, I hope to welcome you back to the Courtyard Kaua’i in hopes that you will get to experience the developments we have achieved since your last visit. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,330 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.6 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
6.8 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1402 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: £127 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard Kaua'i At Coconut Beach Kauai, Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing