We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth saving a few bucks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Silicon Valley, Ca
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not worth saving a few bucks”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

On the surface this hotel looks like a decent way to save a few buck on a Hawaii trip. But the rooms are old, the drains smell, the carpets are coming up in places. The pool is OK, and it's right on the ocean, but for a few dollars more you can stay at the Marriott and it's much nicer. Parking is pretty easy, unless there is function in the hall, then you could be stuck circling for a spot.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelEatRepeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberlee C, Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Aloha TravelEatRepeat,
Mahalo for staying with us! We appreciate the opportunity to serve you as a guest here at The Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the shortfalls you mentioned. We take all feedback seriously and can assure you that your comments will be addressed. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future to demonstrate our growth and signature hospitality for which the Marriott brand is known.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    707
    235
    83
    42
See reviews for
310
961
81
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We booked this hotel mainly because we had enough points to cover half the nights we were staying there. I wasn't super thrilled about it because I didn't really equate the courtyard with a nice vacation. However, this wasn't your everyday courtyard. I've never been to a courtyard resort with a spa, etc. All of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and nice. Yes, the balconies are small. Not a big deal to me. It's right on the beach. The pool is nice. It's a great value and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bleujello7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaAmbassadorTeam, Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, 24 July 2015
Aloha bleujello7,
Mahalo for letting out the secret that the Courtyard by Marriott at Coconut Beach is a "different" kind of Courtyard. We are one of the few if not the only Courtyard that is really a resort with resort ammenities. Our central location on Kauai offers so many options for fun and dining experiences. We are located right on the beautiful Kauai bike path and have bikes available for our guests to enjoy the beauty of the ocean for many miles. ( it is mostly flat so guest of all ages can enjoy it)
We hope to see you again and please feel freee to let out our "resort" secret.
mahalo,
DougM, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We hosted our daughter's wedding here last week and our 105 guests cannot stop complimenting the hotel and team for all they did for us. Let me start with Liana, our Hawaiian angel, took care of all the wedding details to ensure we all had the best experience. She even summoned the angels to take a break from drizzle and rain. The beach wedding site, the wedding rehearsal, the reception, the dinner setup, and breakdown was incredible. As a certified wedding planner, Liana helped us select talent for the luau show, DJ and florals. I couldn't have done all this without her. Nadia took such wonderful care of everyone especially my senior parents, aunts and uncles, even giving them a ride to shop vs taking a taxi. The team up front especially Aunti Bernice, patiently handled our requests, split billing and registration. We had the EOF room and Desiree handled all our requests for adjoining rooms and lower floors. The food at both the Voyager and the lounge was incredible. Thank you to the entire team for all you did to create a lasting memory for our family and friends. Mucho Mahalo!!!!!! Sonja

Room Tip: I always choose a ground floor for easy access to the beach and it's kind of an extension of you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Village, Ohio
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Grounds of the hotel were well kepted. But the rooms needs upgrading. beach had a lot of litter on it. Nice pool and hot tub. Had rain shortly after checking in and the ceiling in the lobby leaked in two places. One was an old leal because the paint was peeling at the spot.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kennys416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberlee C, Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Aloha Kenny,
Thank you very much for sharing your observations during your recent stay. I am happy to report that the comments you relayed have already been addressed by our Chief Engineer and maintenance team. We are also proactive in maintaining the beachfront area more consistently and appreciate your feedback. It's reviews such as yours which we learn from and use to improve. Mahalo for staying with us on your trip to Kaua'i, we hope to welcome you back to The Courtyard at Coconut Beach in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel is clean and comfortable. It was about half the cost per night vs hotels in the area. The grounds are well kept and the location is wonderful. It only takes about 30 minutes to get to the north or south side of the island. Would stay here again

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was one of the best hotels we've stayed in (four nights). When we arrived, my husband and I were both greeted with fresh flower leis. The Lobby was very nice, all open air, and there is a beautiful outdoor area in back overlooking the beach with a bar/restaurant and pool. The rooms were very nice, and they included a refrigerator which we like for storing breakfast foods. There was entertainment at night and other special events like a hula demonstration in the mornings a couple days a week. This hotel is near the airport which we liked, because we were visiting another island as well as Kauai.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yale, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We were supposed to have an ocean front room with 2 double beds as I was traveling with my adult son. We arrive and have us down for a king size bed. We have to take another room without the view. They didn't comp us for the problem. We also wanted maid service. We returned from the beach at 3:00 and no one had even touched it. Other than that it was a descent hotel. Centrally located on the island.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jrgipe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberlee C, Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Aloha Jrgipe12,
Thank you for your review and comments in regards to our great central location. I am just as disappointed to learn of your experience as you have portrayed. I sincerely apologize that we were unable to meet your request for two beds at the time of arrival. I will follow up with the Front Office Department to reiterate that in the case this unfortunate event arises again, we should be offering an array of options to try to accommodate all guests comfortably. We truly hope the remainder of your visit to our beautiful island was memorable and hope to welcome you back soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.6 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
14.9 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
6.8 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Property: Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1402 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard Kaua'i At Coconut Beach Kauai, Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing