We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wailua Bay View #204 - Great condo, great location, great vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wailua Bay View Condominiums
Ranked #3 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wailua Bay View #204 - Great condo, great location, great vacation!”
Reviewed 11 October 2009

My husband and I stayed at WBV #204 for a week in Sept 2009. The condo was very clean, nicely furnished and the kitchen well equipped. The flat screen tv and internet access were a big hit with both of us. Chuck, the owner was very friendly, easy to work with and he gave us some great tips on places to see while visiting Kauai. The location was perfect too. We enjoyed sitting out on the balcony in the mornings an watching the waves. Some days there were surfers, paddle boarders and even a kite boarder enjoying the surf. Other days, the water was very calm. There are some good restaurants nearby within walking distance. And it's in a great central location for enjoying the island.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MizNadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    63
    11
    8
    9
See reviews for
35
166
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

We had a wonderful stay at the Wailua Bay View. Our unit was on the first floor and, like all others, had an amazing view of the beach and ocean. We spent almost all our spare time out on the lanai just enjoying the view and the weather. The unit was completely furnished and outfitted with everything we needed - full kitchen with supplies, bed linens, pillows and towels, some beach gear and chairs, and entertainment (cable, CD player and music, books, card games, etc.). It's basically an apartment that is set-up and ready to go. The place was clean and we left it the same way (as you're required to do). We didn't even realize until a few days into our stay that the sofa was also a pull-out bed, so the unit can accommodate 4 people easily. The beach is within walking distance - about 50 steps away. The complex has a very small pool (no hot tub), a library, BBQ grills, and a lot of pamphlets to pick up for activities around the island. We thought the location was excellent for exploring the island - it's in the center of the island so you're not too far from anything in either direction. Plus, you are very close to two main grocery stores and the Walmart and Kmart for your food supplies. Unfortunately, people ignore the advice to not feed the chickens so other units managed to bring flocks of chickens to the common areas each day by throwing down food bits. There are also tons of mosquitoes - despite keeping the screen and windows closed (and using repellent!) we were attacked by them day and night. The only major downside was the construction noise from about 9-5 daily (they were fixing the roof on the complex). I think we got a September construction rate though, so I can't complain too much. Plus, free wireless in your room (or ethernet cable) and free parking! We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewit24u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2009

I stayed at the Wailua Bayview Condominiums, unit # 203, Sept. 9th-15th. I chose this location thru a site called VRBO due to the generally positive comments by others and the location of the condo in relation to where things are on the island.
I arrived late and even as I opened the door I knew things were going to be good because I could hear the waves crashing on the beach just outside the window it seemed. Dropped off my things and headed a few miles north to Safeway and bought some staples. The condo has pretty much everything you would want in your own condo, all up-to-date appliances, well furnished, lots of ceiling fans and a modern air conditioning unit that runs quiet and pumps out nice cool air.
The beach is quite close and there is a gas station not too far away. Noise from the station was a concern (noted by others) but in truth, it was a non-issue because it was actually quiet there and with the ac on, you couldn't hear anything outside at all. It was a treat to be able to have a nice breakfast on the balcony eating fresh fruit and watching the sunrise in the mornings. Sometimes you'd see some of the locals out there fishing from the beach and later folks laying out getting a tan.
Just a few tips for those that have not been to Kauai or any of the Hawaiian islands. If you plan going somewhere for the day, go early. Parking on some of the north shore beaches fills up fast and early. Planning on hiking the Na Pali? Yep, go early. Less hikers and the view are great earlier in the day, later on the clouds roll in and blot out your views. (I recommend the Awa-'awapuhi trail, breathtaking from the lookout but a bit of a haul headed back :)
If you are looking for a very nice, comfortable, conveniently located place to stay you would have a hard time finding a better place. Ted, the owner, made the whole experience pleasant and a wealth of knowledge about the local area. Thanks, Ted

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank lifetimietraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicaco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

We stayed in #205,which was very nice,and recently redone in 2008.The location is excellent,and close to everything you may need,or want to do.Kapaa is centrally located on the east side of Kauai,so it is an easy drive to the north,or south shore.Ted has another unit there,and it was redone also.We used VRBO and booked online.
We had like 16 pictures to view,so i think multiple pictures are a plus,to avoid disappointment after you arrive.
Mahalo!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GMJ59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

We stayed in 205 from July 15-30th and had a wonderful time. This is our 3rd time back at WBV and the first time in 205. 205 is updated very nicely and had a wonderful view. Our 2 young boys slept on the sleeper sofa and enjoyed listening to the waves at night. Other reviews might complain about the noise at night - but with the A/C on, you don't hear a thing from outside. And I highly recommend the A/C as it gets quite humid. We used the pool almost every day and 90% of the time, we were the only ones there. So it feel nice and private as well. Ted, the owner of 205 was terrific to work with and if you go, you won't be disappointed! We are trying to plan for next year too and we would use Ted and 205 again!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeLoveKauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KS
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We (wife, myself and two teenage boys) stayed at Wailua Bayview unit 203 the first of June for 8 days and you can't beat the accomodations. The owner has done it up right with the best of furnishings! I've read comments about the noise and the locals on the beach in front - nonesense! If you are looking for value for your money, ocean breezes, ocean view off the balcony close enough to hear the surf breaking, small complex environment that is well maintained - this is the place for you - no, I am not the owner. Everything you need is nearby - grocery store, restaurants, boogie board and snorkelling rental. The unit is a one bedroom with AC in the bedroom (sufficient for the condo) and a wonderful balcony directly overlooking the beach. Beach access is a 90 second walk around the perimeter of the complex. Waves are sufficient for medium boogie boarding without having to go anywhere else. We had a great time and will be back! Beach charirs, umbrellas were provided and we left portable coolers for the next guests. Thanks to Ted the owner for sharing the place!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KansasVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
466 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 781 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

We stayed five nights at the Wailua Bay View in early June for part of our honeymoon. We were in unit 315. As promised, the unit overlooks the ocean and you can hear the waves crashing against the shore out on your private lanai. You also have a great view of the curving shore and lush mountains in the background.

Even though the complex sits on the ocean, to access the beach you have to walk about 100 yards off the property to the right. The good news is once you reach the beach, you will find it uncrowded and refreshing. I highly recommend setting up early one morning and seeing the spectacular sunrise from the east facing beach.

An additional advantage to this property is its location on the east side of Kauai. This puts you in the center of the sights you can drive to on the island. It is only about a 10 minute drive from the airport and there are plenty of restauants and grocery stores nearby.

Since we were in Kauai during the summer, it was quite warm and humid. We used the a/c in the bedroom, which drowned out any noise from the street below. This unit is also the farthest from the street, so it probably gets the least amount of noise. My only complaint is that the remainder of the unit is not air conditioned. It got a little bit uncomfortable in the unit during the afternoon and evenings because of the hot weather even with the lanai door open. Therefore, we could not sleep in the living room and listen to the waves crashing below as we slept.

Besides the lanai, you have have a good sized living room, a full kitchen, a large bathroom, and the previously mentioned air conditioned bedroom. If I am ever fortunate enought to get to vacation again in Kauai, I would stay here again. Overall, this unit is a great bargain compared to staying at a resort on the island. You would get 1/2 as much space, no kitchen, and at twice the price.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.4 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.3 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
533 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
6.5 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
766 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wailua Bay View Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailua Bay View Condominiums

Property: Wailua Bay View Condominiums
Address: Papaloa Road, Coconut Coast, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wailua Bay View Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wailua Bay View is a three-story oceanfront condominium complex overlooking Wailua Bay, a popular surfing and kite surfing beach in Kapaa. Each condo has a private lanai overlooking the ocean, full kitchen, washer/dryer, and private bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Wailua Bay View Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailua Bay View Condominiums Hotel Kapaa
Wailua Bay View Condominiums Kauai, Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing