We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like being in the middle of nature”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilauea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North Country Farms
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Feels like being in the middle of nature”
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed in the Orchard Cottage - a great cottage in the middle of farm trees. The wooden cottage is a well equipped little appartment and has a lovely interior with a rural style. Everything is one large room: a nice kitchen with everything to cook your own meals, a nice living area with flatscreen TV and DVD player and some DVDs, and a table where everybody can eat. The bed is nice and comfortbale.
The place has very large windows, so you feel you're being being out in the middle of nature. And, in addition to the inside bathroom, there is a wonderful outside shower, where you feel like taking a tropical shower.
We enjoyed our stay at the farm very much.
And yes, there are the occasional mosquitos and bugs, and you can see (and sometimes hear) the friendly gekkos inside of the cottage. If that's not for you, choose another place. (And no, there weren't cockrages).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank redbeakbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    9
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gabriola Island, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

Clearly, there are polar opinions in regards to this property. I'll do my best to be as factual as possible, and omit emotional hyperbole as best I can... although I have a huge aversion to cockroaches.

We live on Gabriola Island, B.C., so the rural thing no longer charms us. This is everyday life at home, and chose this "B&B" because it looked familiar. The Orchard Cottage was clean, and well laid out. We appreciated the flowers, fruit, granola, tea, and many DVD's and games provided. However, the bathroom had no privacy, as the walls around the area do not extend to the ceiling. Whatever goes on in the bathroom, you might as well be two feet away in terms of what you hear and smell.

My daughter was planning to sleep on the pullout couch. Upon pulling out the mattress, two 2 inch long cockroaches scuttled out from the bed. Sitting on that couch, let alone sleeping on it was OUT from this point onward. The cockroach situation was an ongoing theme for our three nights at North Country Farm. I stopped using the bathroom, and chose to shower outside because of this. (The outdoor shower was quite pleasant). Cockroaches on Kauai are big. If you don't like big, really fast, greasy looking bugs that make clicking sounds when they move, you won't like North Country Farms. I grew up in Japan where the cockroaches are a different colour, but equally menacing in size. There are ways to eradicate these critters. It is my opinion that if you are charging money for people to stay, you need to apply due diligence to minimize the chances that these spooky bugs inundate guests.

In addition, there are rodents. I did not see them, but I found basmati rice sized and shaped, brownish black pellets across the kitchen counters and even my pillow as I pealed back the bed spread. Gross. I'm a country girl, but I do NOT feel good about rat feaces on my pillow.

About internet - there is wireless, but not from the cottage. You must endure becoming a mosquito buffet in the outdoor gazebo if you would like to access the internet.

We stayed at two other cottage rentals during our trip to Kauai. North Country was our last. We were very pleased with the value of the previous rentals, and were therefore disappointed with the negative contrast in value when we stayed at North Country Farms. We paid the same amount for a cleaner, more comfortable, more convenient, cockroach free environment where the host was warmer, more accommodating than this place. I will return to our first hosts, as they went above and beyond what we expected. We will not go back to North Country Farm. I see the majority of comment are positive. I find it telling that there lacks an element of grace when a negative review shows up. Defensiveness never serves anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NaomiClement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kauaifarmer, Owner at North Country Farms, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Cockroaches are seen here. Period. Sometimes many, sometimes none, as the reviews show. I am truly sorry my winter guests were offended. But, the little poops that were in the cottage are not rodents, but rather from the most delightful and helpful critters - our geckos. Without them, the insect life on the island would be abysmal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bere Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We stayed in Garden Cottage at North Country Farms at the beginning of October 2010.

When we arrived, we were overwhelmed by the presentation of the cottage; there were freshly picked Birds of Paradise (Strelitzia's) and orchids on the tables. A basket containing fresh fruits and gorgeous sundries had been left for us.

The Cottage itself is very well appointed with all you could wish for including; TV, DVD, videos, library, games, beach equipment and great free internet access.

Lee Roversi, the owner,and her lovely family, gave us a very warm welcome and was charming throughout our visit, without intruding on our privacy in any way. The organic farm was absolutely immaculate and the staff work very hard to maintain the high standards.

For us, as holiday makers, it was a joy to stay in such an exceptionally beautiful place, surrounded by gorgeous shrubs and orchids, with fruit trees and prolific avocodo fruits for us to eat!

We would really recommend a stay here for anyone who has an appreciation of horticulture or the beauty of nature as this is a very special place. The farm is situated in the best part of the best Island in the Hawaiin group.

Some previous trip advisor reports mentioned the local insect life; all we can say is, if you can't get on with harmless insects and geckos then don't go to Hawaii!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bootstrapbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2010

My family and I stayed at NCF for 6 nights this summer. It was our primary destination for our time on Kauai. I am so glad we discovered this gem. The location was perfect for all north shore and east shore sightseeing and beaches, but also a very laid back location with privacy, peace and quiet.

We stayed in the Garden Cottage, just right for a family of 4. The deck had ample room to stretch out, and a very pleasant view of the nearby field. The kitchen is fine for simple meal prep. Bathroom is fine. Outdoor shower was sublime -- we never used the indoor shower even once. The sitting area (during the day) is super comfortable. The main bedroom is very comfortable, with enough room for everyone's luggage. Very comfy bed. Ceiling fans (plus a brief rain shower) kept the cottage remarkably cool at night, even in July. The cottage is open plan, so even though there is a separate bedroom it is partially open to the living room sleeping area.

Our hosts were extremely friendly but left us to our privacy throughout the week. They were absolutely available for questions, and gave us a brief tour of the gardens on our first day. From then on we were able to find seasonal produce for our evening meals. Most other questions (trash, compost, recycling) were all in the welcome information in the cottage.

Kilauea is a charming small town, between the town center, plus the larger shops in Princeville / Hanelei, we had everything we needed. Like other reviewers have noted, many evenings we bought fish in town (local! fresh! sustainable!) and combined that with produce from the farm. Simple and wonderful.

We all found it very easy to sleep in (even with birds, roosters, etc.) almost every day. All of the great beaches were a short drive away, so after a quick snack from the welcome basket we could hit the road and find a great beach spot for the day.

I highly recommend this lovely getaway. As other reviewers have noted, this is a farm, so there are some critters and bugs. They were a minor irritant, no more. And of course this is not a property for people who want to be waited on. But for reconnecting with your kids, lazing around with a good book or crossword puzzle, and having access to some of the best beaches anywhere, North Country Farms cannot be beat.

PS: We started our Kauai vacation at a Lihue resort, to sleep off the jet lag and visit Waimea Canyon, but in retrospect the farm is quite convenient to the airport, and a very easy drive. Literally a moment or two off the highway, yet feels very remote.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle, wa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2009

This was the most magical place to stay. We really wanted to avoid the resort scene and get an authentic experience of the island of Kauai. From the second we arrived we knew we had made the right choice. The farm is beautiful, and the songs of the birds was one of my favorite parts of the trip, as was the after-the-beach outdoor shower. The family was helpful, warm and welcoming without being intrusive at all. The fruit and vegetables from the garden were delightful, and we enjoyed going outside to pick our breakfast and dinner directly from the garden. This place is gorgeous and charming, and I can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marissaoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2009

I can;t say enough good things about this place, but will! Comfortable, roomy, arrived late at night so the welcome was really nice after a long delayed flight. Convenient for anywhere on the island! A well stocked kitchen with coffee, tea and all the herbs and spices you would need. A great find for us as we prefer to stay in out of the way places. Sleeping out was great for my 16 yr old Daughter and as for the bugs, I'm glad they are still in the areas they are supposed to live! Seriously ,there, were many in the evening but fairly mild bug stuff did the trick. Lots to do and see nearby, recommend the Hindu Temple, take a sarong. A great place for a family holiday and they also have games books beach towels boogie boards etc!

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank salmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2009

North Country Farms is for a certain type of traveler. It's not for people looking for a resort with a jacuzzi, pool and cable TV. However, if you're someone who is really looking to get back to nature, unplug and relax, you'll love this place. Birds chirp all day, the wind blows through the trees, it's a nice change from the city. The cottage is very comfortable, there's a functional kitchen and a comfortable living area. Do yourself a favor at least once or twice while you're there, go to the local fish market, pick up some fresh produce and grab some basil and cilantro from the garden, you won't be let down. Again, if you really want to let go of it all and just unplug, this is the place.

  • Liked — the sounds, the smells and relaxation
  • Disliked — mosquitos, what are you gonna do?
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoshuaCutsFilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilauea
5.1 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
14.1 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,270 reviews
17.3 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
1,734 reviews
6.9 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
9.9 mi away
Hanalei Colony Resort
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Country Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Country Farms

Property: North Country Farms
Address: P.O. Box 723, Kilauea, Kauai, HI
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kilauea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Kilauea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
North Country Farms Kauai, HI - Kilauea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing