We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True Island Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilauea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North Country Farms
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“True Island Experience”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

What a truly relaxing vacation. We had been to the other islands on previous trips, however our experience at North Country Farms will have us returning to Kauai.

Staying in the Orchard Cottage on the farm was an unforgettable experience. The hospitality shown from Lee, her family, and staff was very warm and made you feel at home yet was very unobtrusive. The cottage had all the little comforts you need and really felt like a home away from home.

We too split the trip between North County Farms and one of the bigger resorts which gave us two different perspectives of the island.

This really is the perfect place whether you want to just unplug and relax or make this your base camp and venture around the island. Our vacation was a family trip with our 8 and 9 year old daughters who absolutely loved it. When we visit Kauai again we will definitely return to North Country Farms.

Room Tip: There were two options. The Garden Cottage and the Orchard Cottage. We loved our Orchard Cottage and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    9
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brownsville, Oregon
Level Contributor
134 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed in the Garden Cottage for 8 days over the Christmas holiday. The island was very crowded, but we were blessed by having our own little piece of rural Hawaii at North Country Farms. The organic farm was beautiful, and there was nothing better than sitting on the lanai and watching the lettuce grow while drinking coffee in the morning. The cottage was in a quiet and secluded location. It is made totally of wood, with excellent craftsmanship and an eye for detail. The bed is very comfortable, and the open design of the cottage allows the tropical breezes to keep the place cool. Our friends, the geckos, helped deal with any mosquitoes that managed to slip by the screen door. Showering in the hot outdoor shower was a treat, surrounded by bromeliads and orchids. Although we mostly ate out, it was nice to have fresh produce, and I enjoyed picking oranges for fresh juice. Lee made sure everything was clean and stocked (right down to fresh flowers in the bedroom and bathroom), and was easily available for questions. If you are looking for daily room service, constant fawning of staff, and a sterile environment, this place is not for you. If you're looking for a quiet, out-of-the-way spot that lets you enjoy being back to nature in Kauai, this is it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelVet61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Garden Cottage was great. Owner stocked the room with lots of goodies upon our arrival from coffee and creamer to oatmeal and fruit, chips, granola, you name it! We picked salad from the garden. The kitty cats were nice friends, the internet under the gazebo worked fine. Peace and quiet. Nature at it's finest. Bed and pillows were clean and comfy. Owner provided beach towels, chairs, umbrellas, toys for the kids. A great "secret" beach less than 5 minutes away. We thought that their TV would be connected to something (antenna, cable, satellite) but it wasn't. Luckily there are lots of DVDs and CDs to keep the kids entertained before bed. You can even have a camp fire in the yard. Invest in one of those "Off" lanterns because the mosquitoes are relentless. That way you can enjoy the porch in the morning for breakfast. There is no door separating the bedroom from the living room so that might be an issue for some who plan to have people sleeping on the couch. My recommendations for the property: a full size coffee maker instead of the tiny one and more ice trays in the freezer.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We only had four nights there but wished we could have stayed for our entire trip on Kauai. Our other four nights on the island were split between two big resorts and they just couldn't compare to our time at the farm. We agree with other reviewers in that it is hard to want to recommend this place because we want to keep it all to ourselves. It was simply perfect for us. The owner Lee made us feel at home and really that's the best way we can describe our stay there, we felt like we were at home (except in paradise!). It is what every vacation should feel like, completely relaxing, worry free, comfortable.....perfect. The owners really go above and beyond to make you feel at home. When we left I forgot something in the room and Lee quickly mailed it back home to us in New York. Thank you Lee! We hope to be coming back soon and have recommended it to all of our family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Damon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed at the Orchard Cottage. This was a delightful little cottage with a wonderful atmosphere. Nice lanai with a hammock and place to eat out side. Grill for grilling and great for early morning reading and coffee. We had a nice avoacado tree outside our window and always a breeze. We had fresh vegatables and fruits to eat which were picked by the very knowledgeable staff. The owner Lee was very helpful in finding great places to get fresh fruits and fish which we cooked on the grill. After you go down the palm tree laden drive, you realize that you are in a very special place. If we are ever blessed to come back here again, we will stay here ...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wlmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed in the Orchard Cottage - a great cottage in the middle of farm trees. The wooden cottage is a well equipped little appartment and has a lovely interior with a rural style. Everything is one large room: a nice kitchen with everything to cook your own meals, a nice living area with flatscreen TV and DVD player and some DVDs, and a table where everybody can eat. The bed is nice and comfortbale.
The place has very large windows, so you feel you're being being out in the middle of nature. And, in addition to the inside bathroom, there is a wonderful outside shower, where you feel like taking a tropical shower.
We enjoyed our stay at the farm very much.
And yes, there are the occasional mosquitos and bugs, and you can see (and sometimes hear) the friendly gekkos inside of the cottage. If that's not for you, choose another place. (And no, there weren't cockrages).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank redbeakbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriola Island, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

Clearly, there are polar opinions in regards to this property. I'll do my best to be as factual as possible, and omit emotional hyperbole as best I can... although I have a huge aversion to cockroaches.

We live on Gabriola Island, B.C., so the rural thing no longer charms us. This is everyday life at home, and chose this "B&B" because it looked familiar. The Orchard Cottage was clean, and well laid out. We appreciated the flowers, fruit, granola, tea, and many DVD's and games provided. However, the bathroom had no privacy, as the walls around the area do not extend to the ceiling. Whatever goes on in the bathroom, you might as well be two feet away in terms of what you hear and smell.

My daughter was planning to sleep on the pullout couch. Upon pulling out the mattress, two 2 inch long cockroaches scuttled out from the bed. Sitting on that couch, let alone sleeping on it was OUT from this point onward. The cockroach situation was an ongoing theme for our three nights at North Country Farm. I stopped using the bathroom, and chose to shower outside because of this. (The outdoor shower was quite pleasant). Cockroaches on Kauai are big. If you don't like big, really fast, greasy looking bugs that make clicking sounds when they move, you won't like North Country Farms. I grew up in Japan where the cockroaches are a different colour, but equally menacing in size. There are ways to eradicate these critters. It is my opinion that if you are charging money for people to stay, you need to apply due diligence to minimize the chances that these spooky bugs inundate guests.

In addition, there are rodents. I did not see them, but I found basmati rice sized and shaped, brownish black pellets across the kitchen counters and even my pillow as I pealed back the bed spread. Gross. I'm a country girl, but I do NOT feel good about rat feaces on my pillow.

About internet - there is wireless, but not from the cottage. You must endure becoming a mosquito buffet in the outdoor gazebo if you would like to access the internet.

We stayed at two other cottage rentals during our trip to Kauai. North Country was our last. We were very pleased with the value of the previous rentals, and were therefore disappointed with the negative contrast in value when we stayed at North Country Farms. We paid the same amount for a cleaner, more comfortable, more convenient, cockroach free environment where the host was warmer, more accommodating than this place. I will return to our first hosts, as they went above and beyond what we expected. We will not go back to North Country Farm. I see the majority of comment are positive. I find it telling that there lacks an element of grace when a negative review shows up. Defensiveness never serves anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NaomiClement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kauaifarmer, Owner at North Country Farms, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Cockroaches are seen here. Period. Sometimes many, sometimes none, as the reviews show. I am truly sorry my winter guests were offended. But, the little poops that were in the cottage are not rodents, but rather from the most delightful and helpful critters - our geckos. Without them, the insect life on the island would be abysmal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilauea
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
1,694 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Country Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Country Farms

Property: North Country Farms
Address: P.O. Box 723, Kilauea, Kauai, HI
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kilauea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Kilauea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
North Country Farms Kauai, HI - Kilauea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing