We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK place for a warm piece of average pizza & great smoothy”

Kilauea Bakery & Pau Hana Pizza
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Kilauea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Portland, OR
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“OK place for a warm piece of average pizza & great smoothy”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We hit this cute compact shopping square after visiting the lighthouse (highly recommend both), and after hanging out while my wife shopped and my daughter played mind games with the bird, we decided to have a bit to eat. This place must have good WIFI because there were about a dozen young folks hanging out with their laptops on the porch. There was plenty to pick from inside, but we passed on the the great looking baked goods and got pizza. I ordered a smoothy that came out florescent green but tasted great. The meat pizza was very average. I did not see Jennifer Aniston or Adam Sandler, which was good as I prefer to keep my celebrities in the cloud where they belong.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OriginalMurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    162
    69
    21
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Well executed”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Bakery component mixed with pizza shop? Why not? It works. Pizzas are among the best in the islands. Pastries are fresh, and decadent. Crammed in the back of a corner shopping center - open air - can be easily overlooked, but overall mall location easy to spot en route to Kilauea Lighthouse. No room to eat inside, so take your meal outside.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank originalXfactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best bakery”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

On the lighthous stopped for some coffee and walked into the most amazing bakery that rivals any French bakery--just excellent offerings--didn't get a chance to try the pizza, but going by how wonderful the breakfast items were I can only imagine how good the pizza is-mahalo

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rptrcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Turnovers”
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We had a breakfast turnover that was amazing! I also got a coconut chocolate eclair that was also delicious.

It's located in the back of a little shopping center on your way to the lighthouse.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmiamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good pizza.”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Stopped in to get a pizza to go ... 30min wait ... but it was worth it. I ordered the Island Style'n pizza ... very good. A little hard to find ... it is behind the Kilauea Bistro ... but once you've found it, sure was obvious :-/

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kilauea Bakery & Pau Hana Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Kilauea Bakery & Pau Hana Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing