We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our meal”
Review of The Bistro

The Bistro
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Kilauea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$25
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Bistro: A small restaurant serving moderately priced meals in a modest setting.At the Bistro our goal is to serve fresh,local,and great tasting food, while trying to minimize our environmental impact. Please enjoy yourself in our modest bistro,and be assured that we put faith in taking time to enjoy food,drink,and life.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our meal”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Recommended by our timeshare this place was a really good meal. Service was great. Food was really good. I had a Mahi special and my wife had the steak special. The kale salad was very good too. All local source for food. Atmosphere is casual family.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    191
    51
    32
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Burt Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
117 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Lunch with a definite Yum-factor”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

If you find yourself in Kilauea, Kaua'i in Hawaii, you can't do better for a casual lunch with family than the Lighthouse Bistro. The food, service, atmosphere, and price are all excellent. We were there with our son and his family on vacation. They had been there several times before and as this was our first time in Hawaii recommended it to us and we weren't disappointed. They have a little of everything, and with our party of six, ranging in ages from 10 to 62+, it was a good thing. From fish to burgers, it's all good!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilauea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A Great Dining Experience in Kilauea!”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Open for lunch & dinner, The Bistro offers many interesting choices and is definitely worth the price. We especially love the appetizers.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KilaueaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troutdale, Oregon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Mai Tai of our trip”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We drove into Kilauea to check out the shops and have dinner at The Bistro. Unfortunately, by the time we were finished shopping it was only 4:30 and dinner doesn't begin until 5:30. We decided to stay for Happy Hour. Very friendly bartender. My husband had the steak sliders with ice tea and I had a delicious Caesar salad with a Mai Tai. Best Mai Tai I had while we were on Kauai. Even though it wasn't served in a fancy tropical glass, it was made to perfection! No need for another drink, one was plenty!

Wished we could have had lunch or dinner. Next time!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raider10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
663 reviews
418 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Pleasant setting, good food”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stopped in at The Bistro on the way to the Kilauea Lighthouse and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. I had a beet salad that was tasty and creative. The greens were very fresh and the dressing tangy and sweet (a good combination). My companions had fish sandwiches. The setting is modest. That said, The Bistro has a full bar and a wide range of wines by the glass. I would definitely return to the Bistro if I were on Kauai's North Shore again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank too_few_trips_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing