We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tony took great care of us!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilauea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Green Acres Cottages
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We spent five days with Tony, the owner of Green Acres Cottages, in the “Nautical Dreams” cottage which lies directly behind his house.

Tony took care of us through thick and thin. When I was sick and vomiting for two days straight, he offered to take me to the hospital, gifted me a bottle of Tylenol, Pepto-Bismol and cans of chicken soup. His care was truly genuine and comforting. When you are not feeling well far away from home, a host’s kindness can really make the difference.

His selflessness didn’t stop there, when our Apple didn’t pick up the wireless signal, he let us borrow his personal laptop anytime we wanted so we could watch Netflix movies. His friendly wife and son were also on-hand to assist us with anything we needed.

Our cozy cottage overlooked Tony’s fruit orchard, which guests are free to pick from and nosh on. Upon check-in we found fresh fruit form the garden and homemade brownies in our fridge.

Our stand alone suite cost $75 a night, which is really the price for standard room, but we were upgraded free of charge due to availability. There cottage had a small kitchenette equipped with the essentials: dishware, a hot plate, microwave and refrigerator. We also had bath towels, beach towels and a cooler at our disposal. Tony allowed us to launder our clothes complimentary as well.

They have boogie boards, old beach chairs and snorkel gear stacked up on the side of the house to use for a day at the beach. In the middle of the cottage cluster sits a hot tub, which always seemed like a great idea, but we never dipped in.

When I say that Green Acre Cottages is a hidden gem, I really mean it. There is a very small, almost imperceptible sign, bearing its name next to a dusty driveway. In the day it was difficult to find. At night it was so laughable it became a game; we had to memorize every landmark in order to use as clues for when to slow down and begin the search for our driveway.

To stay at the Green Acres Cottages we definitely needed a car. It was about five-minute drive to the closest beach on the North Shore, a 30 minute drive to Kapa'a, and a one-hour drive to Poipu; all of which we visited from there, and many times in the same day.

What we loved most about our stay was that we were supporting Hawaiians who lived and worked in the community. They were a lovely family and we felt very welcome and comfortable in our cottage. I would recommend it to anyone looking for an economical accommodation off-the-beaten track on Kauai.

Room Tip: Our Nautical Dreams cottage was large, it is great for a family traveling with children!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nora W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed here for the extra days waiting for our condo on the south shore. Loved it. The room was clean and had everything we needed. The bed was comfortable and the pillow was good. The orchard was a treat, we had fun picking grapefruits and lemons for breakfast. And macadamias for later in the week. For the price you can't beat the comfort or location. Can't wait to go back. Hosts are very nice and had a snack with banana bread and fruit waiting for us. Also had a cooler, mats, and beach gear for our use while we were guests. Nice and quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtmanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We, two friends, stayed here for three nights to have a home base to explore the north coast and go hiking. We stayed in Plumeria cottage which was very clean, cozy, a bit kitschy in decoration and wonderfully equipped (no stove, but toaster and microwave, fridge etc.). It is very peaceful, the beds are good - only minus: Mosquitos :) I guess they love the fruit garden around the buildings as well. All cottages have very well maintained mosquito screens, so it's only for sitting outdoors on your own porch that you need repellent. The hosts Tony and Diane were awfully nice, let us do laundry, picked me up when I got lost in the dark - I can recommend this place to anyone. (You need a car to get here, but you need it for the northcoast anyways.) Price level: Inbetween hostel and hotel, worth every penny!

Room Tip: all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annana2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

my wife and I stayed here three nights while exploring the North Shore of Kauai. We were extremely satisfied with our room and the grounds, esp for the price! our hosts were so thoughtful, giving us a bowl of fresh lychee and macadamias, cooking the eggs we brought with us and letting us use their washer/dryer. the place was silent aside from occasional cars on 25 in the night. A special treat for orchid lovers; there are species and hybrids all over the grounds in pots, on trees...hundreds! The antelope dendros and vandas were standouts!

we would stay here anytime we are in Kauai!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exxtreem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

we stayed in the Plumeria cottage as a base for visiting the north shore. The cottage had a kitchenette that we found handy. Thank you to Diane and Tony for a great little place to stay on our travels.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Dee0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed at Green Acres Cottages in 2009 and 2010. Both stays were excellent. The cottages are clean and well stocked with breakfast. You have the option of picking fruit from the grove. Take advantage of this option. It is wonderful. The location is great - quiet and secluded. For Hawaii, it is an incredible value.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IllinoisTravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

The place is a hidden gem for those who travel on budget but like clean and nice places. The hosts, Diane and Tony, are extremely kind and available. The cottages have all you need; clean towels, beach towels, soaps and cleaning products, a kitchenette. We were able to sort out two meals a day by relying on appliences and a small fridge.
The location is perfect, close to the best part of the island. The cottages are attached to the house, just off the main road, but are extremely silent at night.
We did not taste any of the fruits from the orchard, but received baked treats from the hosts several times. The cottages are close to stores and restaurants, but a car is needed (the shoulders of the road are often really slim and not bike/walk friendly). We recommend the place without hesitation for those who like practical and unexpensive ways to travel without sacrifiying quality of living.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tramonteL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Green Acres Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Acres Cottages

Address: 50421C Kuhio Hwy, Kilauea, Kauai, HI 96754-5531
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kilauea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Kilauea
Price Range: £57 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Green Acres Cottages Kauai, HI - Kilauea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing