We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable cottage at reasonable price”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilauea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Green Acres Cottages
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable cottage at reasonable price”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Green Acres Gazebo Cottage. Our arrival was welcomed by homemade carrot cake and fresh grapefruit, bananas and papaya in our cottage. The cottage was comfortable and sweetly decorated. We used and appreciated both ceiling fans and windows with screens. The shower and tub had plenty of hot water. The kitchen in the unit had everything we needed to cook simple meals. We ate both at the indoor table and at the outdoor table on the lanai, enjoying the beautiful plants and flowers in the garden.

The hot tub was a great way to relax every evening after snorkeling and exploring the north and eastside beaches and towns. There was a stock of fins, masks, beach mats, sand toys and shoes to borrow which was thoughtful and helpful.

Cracking macadamia nuts on the lanai was a new skill with delicious rewards, and the cracking apparatus was intriguing. We loved strolling in the orchard and picking fresh grapefruit and lemons. It is by far the best grapefruit we have ever tasted.

We liked being on our own as much as we wanted, yet Tony and Diane are very kind and hospitable and were helpful in suggestions or answering our questions. We appreciated the relaxed and quiet stay at Green Acres.

We had an excellent experience at a reasonable price. We have recommended Green Acres to our family and friends, and hope to stay there again.

Paul and Lynn

Room Tip: Cottages are detached from main house and from each other. Covered walkways go between profusion of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul and Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    21
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed one night at the Nautical Dreams Cottage.
Room is nice and clean. Tony is a wonderful host!

The room offers two twin beds and a queen bed. There is a small kitchenette and a small bathroom in this room.
The breakfast includes some local fresh fruit and some banana bread/muffins.

The location is convenient however hard to find when arriving late. We missed the unmarked driveway and had to scramble to turn around and locate it.

Overall a very pleasant experience staying there, i would recommend staying there.

Again, extremely nice and helpful hosts and a very clean and well taken care of place! Keep up the good job Green Acres!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller187B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We arrived at the Plumeria Cottage and found a sign that said: "Please keep your foods inside the refrigerator to avoid ants from getting inside" (see photo). But the hosts had left a banana bread for us over the counter, and there were ants all over the place! Not really a good start. Throughout our stay we had to be really careful to close the trash bag immediately and never to leave any food anywhere (we had a bread that we left in the bag for 10 minutes on a shelf that seemed unaccesible to ants and we had to throw it away because ants were all over it (see photo)). That was really annoying. We know Kauai has ants, but we've stayed in 3 other places in the island and never had this problem: if you're clean enough, ants don't go inside like this.

The place looks pretty much like the pictures, really badly decorated but we could live with that and that's why we made the reservation. But we could't really enjoy our time there because it wasn't clean (see photo), everything was really old, even the sheets were worn out and there were some old filthy rugs that we had to take out of the room after we saw a mouse/small rat right outside. Like with ants, we know there are rats in the island, but they don't go to clean places, this is the only rat we saw in the 25 days we stayed in Kauai so far.

We booked this place because of the good reviews and because it was the most affordable in the expensive north shore, but we really wish we hadn't gone there, it would have been a better idea to explore the north shore from Kapaa since there are better lodging options there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank María Emilia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband and I are from the big island and went to Kauai specifically to hike the Napali coast. Our first night at the green acres cottage was on Christmas Day-great customer service, Tony the owner was so nice despite us arriving around 8pm he sat with us and told us stories about people he knew who had hiked the trail. We loved that the rooms had movies, new and old. Although the fruits went in season, the property was beautiful to walk around. The also had macadamia nuts and a cracker on the property. Tony warned us about leaving our surfboard in the rental car at the entrance to the hike, so he offered to let us leave our board in his storage room. I really enjoy supporting small businesses and felt that the cottage was worth the money so we ended up staying another night there at the end of our trip. HIGHLY RECOMMEND STAYING HERE! This is the real Hawaiian experience :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed for 3-1/2 weeks in the Gazebo Cottage. It is beautifully decorated, very clean, and has a terrific lanai. We enjoyed the lanai for every breakfast, watching the sun come up over the orchard, listening to the birds, watching the huge bee on the hibiscus, and in general loving being outside. Although it only has a kitchenette, it is well-supplied, and includes a microwave, toaster oven, coffee maker, hot plate, crock pots, and lots of dishes, pots, and containers.

The best part about Green Acres, however, is the hosts. Tony and Diane are friendly, helpful, and generous. We received multiple gifts of banana bread, cookies, carrot cake, and fruit. Imagine our surprise when we came back from two nights on the other side of the island to find a carrot cake in the fridge, or from a day at the beach to find a coffee cake on the table! We were also welcome to all the fruit we could pick and all the macademia nuts we could crack and eat. When Tony saw us coming and going, he would always ask how our day was or where we were going, and if we needed anything. They also have a supply of coolers and beach mats, flippers, etc.

I will recommend Green Acres to all my friends and relatives.

Room Tip: The Gazebo Cottage has a very nice lanai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed at Green Acres for 3 nights on our 2 week stay.
We were staying on the west side but thought we would take a side trip up North for few days so we could explor the area. Green Acres was a very resonable priced property in good location to get out and see the sites. Although a little small (everything in one room) was perfect for short visits. There was a kichenette no stove and only bar fridge but they do have a large electic bbq and microwave, toaster oven and even a one burner hot plate. This property is clean with so many lovely details. Charming is a word that comes to mind. Tony and Diane oviously work hard to keep the house and grounds in immaculate condition
Totaly recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perk2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed in one of Tony's cottages for three nights while staying in Kauai. It was the perfect spot to land for a few days. It's a quaint, clean space that has everything you need. The space is on a citrus farm and you are free to wander the land. The complimentary breakfast was especially nice. The cottages are right near Common Ground-- an incredibly good farm-fresh restaurant. The jacuzzi wasn't working when we were there but the spot is so perfect we didn't even seem to mind. The cost is half that of a traditional hotel and has much more personality. Tony and family are very genuine and generous. We had a great stay.

Room Tip: Two are smaller and one is a little larger. Three rooms in total.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilauea
7.2 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
12.8 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,270 reviews
10.0 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
8.8 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
1,734 reviews
8.0 mi away
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
#1 of 12 in Princeville
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Acres Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Acres Cottages

Property: Green Acres Cottages
Address: 50421C Kuhio Hwy, Kilauea, Kauai, HI 96754-5531
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kilauea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Kilauea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Green Acres Cottages Kauai, HI - Kilauea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing