We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“out of the way”
Review of The Palmwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Palmwood
Ranked #1 of 2 Kilauea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed for 5 nights. I was ready to leave after a few. Edi is very nice, though pretty unavailable during your stay. She moved to Hawaii to get away from the chaos of L.A. (I think) and it seems that her intentions of 'staying out of your way' is really her staying away so she isn't bothered.

The setting is gorgeous and the rooms were clean/comfortable. The driveway is a bit scary - a winding hill that would be very tight for two cars should somebody be arriving when somebody else is leaving. The location is a bit out of the way. It takes at least 15 minutes to get to any restaurants and to get to some of the best dining in Poipu - you have close to an hour commute - guess you're not having that martini after all.

I liked the bed that was out on the Lanai and we even used it the first night, but when we went to take a mid-afternoon nap, there were ants swarming the thing. No, we did not have any food or beverages on it. I can only assume that somebody prior to us must have spilled a liquid of some sort that was never completely washed away. The most annoying part though was that a bunch of the ants strayed and got into the room. Yuck. I have no idea what they were after, but we never had open beverages in the room or left crumbs anywhere, so it remains a mystery to me. Lizards, I can deal with...ants, not so much.

The breakfasts were delicious, but Edi would appear, put the plate in front of you and disappear.....never to be seen again. Never checked to see if we would like more food or to see if we had our day figured out or needed directions anywhere.....she just did this magical disappearing act. There would be times I would go into the main level of the home and call out of her to no avail. I knew she was there b/c her car was there. It was just awkward and I felt like an intruder.

We stayed b/c we usually love b&b's and the experience we have, but next time we will just stay in Poipu at a hotel for the convenience of having great food and beaches close by......since we didn't feel the hospitality wasn't overwhelmingly gracious like some reviewers have stated.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MsTravlAlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2011

We had an amazing stay at the Palmwood. The place is so beautiful and private, a nice change of pace from the resorts. The location is great for visiting the north shore and has some more secluded beaches just down the road. The host, Eddi, is lovely and helpful and cooks a delicious breakfast!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jpphoto13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My wife and I decided to reserve a room at the Palmwood instead of the hotel chains in the south of the island and WOW are we glad we did! The B&B is tucked away from the main road to allow for peace and quiet, but close enough that it's easy to get around. As far as beaches go, our absolute favorite was Tunnel Beach. It is a well known beach with lots of other visitors, but the scenery is amazing. We were not as impressed with the beaches right next to the Palmwood, but that did not spoil the fun for us. It was still the perfect base for us to come back to after hiking, snorkeling, etc. The breakfast Cindy made us each morning was unbelievable! As far as activities, I should mention that we booked a helicopter tour for our first morning in Kauai with Blue Hawaiian and were very impressed. All in all, my wife and I could not imagine a better way to celebrate our 10 year anniversary trip and Palmwood was a big reason why.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Semester1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

When my boyfriend and I found The Palmwood, it looked like a romantic hideaway. When we arrived, it met our every expectation. Everything was as advertised on the website. It was tucked away enough to feel secluded, but it was only a 15-minute drive to the key locations on the north side of the island (Princeville, Hanalei, the Napali Coast).

Fruit trees lined a long driveway leading to a private hilltop home in Kilauea overlooking lush, green mountains and the rolling hills below. We stayed in the West Room, which was located at the back of the house with a direct view of the grounds, an Asian sand garden, and the mountain range beyond. The yard was landscaped so as to maintain privacy without obstructing the glorious view. Our room was cool and crisp, dressed in white with soft island details. Between the ceiling fan and patio doors leading onto the room's private lanai, a constant breeze not only kept us comfortable day and night, it also kept mosquitos away. Had we wished to use it, our room did have a flat screen TV, though we barely noticed it because it was tucked against the wall. We did, however, use the available wireless internet service, which wasn't incredibly fast, but allowed us to look up the essential information we needed.

Additional features of the inn made it unlike anywhere we had stayed before. To our room was allocated a private outdoor jacuzzi and hot water lava rock shower kept private by a trickling stream and a curtain of tropical plants. We used both on many a moonlit night, the geckos singing softly in the distance. There was a hammock in the back yard large enough for both of us to lounge in at once. We made great use of a lovely bamboo furnished BBQ area as well.

Perhaps our favorite part of our stay was breakfast. One of the main reasons we chose the Palmwood was because the proprietor and chef, Eddie, told us that she would be able to accommodate our dietary needs, whether it be vegetarian, vegan, dairy free, gluten free, etc. Every morning she presented us with fresh, locally grown food that she prepared herself. We enjoyed daily fruit smoothes of various varieties (orange-banana, mango, berry, coconut orange...). We delighted in dishes like homemade coconut banana bread (gluten free if you like), delicate fruit salads, free range scrambled eggs, rosemary potatoes, homemade Portuguese sausage, and buttery grits. We ate our meals in a lovely great room appointed with lounging couches, a coffee table, a television projector, a beautiful natural wood dining table, and extra space to practice yoga, do pilates, or (if you have kids) play.

Eddie was wonderful, always available to answer our questions and suggest local points of interest, but never intrusive or nosey.

This would be the perfect place for a couple's getaway, honeymoon, or a fun vacation. Because there are only two rooms in the inn, it would also be a great place for a private family vacation - kids in one room, parents in the other. There is plenty of room at the dining table for all, and the back yard and great room would be a great place for the kids to play while you sleep in.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laceyfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

My husband and I just returned from a 10 day honeymoon in Kauai. We stayed at a few places while there: a boutique resort hotel, a b&b, and then the Palmwood. It was by far the best of the three. It was perfect for our honeymoon: quiet and remote with amazing views and accomodations, and the most delicious breakfasts we had in Kauai. It was close enough by car to the great neighboring towns and all of the activities and beaches. There was also snorkeling gear and beach stuff we were able to use. Everything was clean and spotless with beautiful and thoughtful design. Eddi was a wonderful host and a fabulous cook. Homemade chimichangas and banana coconut bread! We loved having a private hot tub and outdoor shower, and there is even a theater room with a projector, so bring some dvds. Great place to stay all around!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimi-bw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We stayed at the Palmwood for 5 days while on our honeymoon and had a great time. the location on the North Shore is great with easy access to Kilauea and Hanalei for activities. The room was nice and comfortable and since it is a small B&B we quickly got to met the rest of the people staying there. Eddi is a great host and easily prepares the best breakfast I have ever had at a a B&B. She even made sure we had breakfast at 6:00AM one morning when we had to leave early for a catamaran tour.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcannon916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

My husband and I recently had the pleasure spending a wonderful week at The Palmwood on the island of Kauai. This was our first experience with a B&B, and I can truly say we were pampered and our stay could not have been better! The views from the inn are truly breathtaking and are very reflective of the island itself - lush, tropical, and beautiful. Our room was lovely and beautifully appointed. It was very comfortable and peaceful, and had every amenity we could possibly need. Eddi is a very warm hostess with a great eye for artistry, and she pays great attention to every detail. Our breakfasts were absolutely amazing both in presentation and preparation; healthy, fresh, delicious, and our favorite part of the day! I’m convinced that no hotel could have provided such a pleasant holiday for us. So far we’ve visited three of the Hawaiian Islands, and Kauai is definitely our favorite, and we'd love to stay at The Palmwood again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ComedicRelief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilauea
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,395 reviews
Makai Club Resort
#1 of 1 in Princeville
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmwood

Address: 6867 Koolau Road, Kilauea, Kauai, HI 96754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kilauea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kilauea
Price Range: £221 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your The Palmwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmwood Hotel Kilauea
The Palmwood Kauai, HI - Kilauea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing