We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the "fresh" meat and fish.”
Review of Sueoka Snack Shop

Sueoka Snack Shop
Ranked #22 of 45 Restaurants in Koloa
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beware of the "fresh" meat and fish.”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I went into the grocery store and bought some ready to cook teriyaki chicken thighs and "fresh" ahi tuna.

When I opened the packaging to the ahi tuna, it smelled very fishy. #1 rule when buying fish, it shouldn't smell fishy. It shouldn't smell like anything. I seared it and against my better judgement, began eating it. It tasted like it smelled, rotted fish. For my safety, I threw it in the trash immediately.

The teriyaki chicken wasn't much better, it was super tough and chewy. Beware of the "fresh" meat and fish.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank power_foot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    62
    25
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Just Outside Nashvegas, TN
Level Contributor
145 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good food full of locals and visitors alike”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Sueoka Snack Shop is right in the heart of Old Koloa town. It is located off the right side of Sueoka Market. If you don't look hard enough, you could miss it. It is a walk up joint full of locals and visitors.
They have many options from plate lunches to burgers and fries. My burger was good but it did not have all the fancy toppings. This place is very low key but great. Give them a try if you are in Koloa town.
There is plenty of parking but really no where to eat as tables are not provided. We had to end up walking around the corner to sit down and eat. Not a big deal. Give them a try!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ROLLTIDE8401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent plate lunch”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Sueoka's has a decent plate lunch. Teri beef was pretty good, but overcooked. The fried chicken teri is chicken wings. Mac salad is just ok. Cash only, but prices are pretty low for this area. Nowhere to sit, so grab it to go.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just Not Good At All”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Food tasted like old rancid cooking oil. Awful. I went with 2 star because it is cheap and i like the adjoining store.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyBrown77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Small place - Big flavor”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This little shack is a main staple for locals. The food was exceptional and reasonably priced. If they are closed such as late hours, they also sell food in the attached Sueoka grocery store. We bought the Kalua Pig from them many times because it was spot on. It was the best we had on Kauai.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyInHawaii08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sueoka Snack Shop also viewed

 

Been to Sueoka Snack Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing