We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful, perfect place to stay in Kauai; we all...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Koloa, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Windy456
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful, perfect place to stay in Kauai; we all loved it! BEST EVER!”
Reviewed 4 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Instead of overpaying for airfare to meet at Christmas in San Francisco where my 2 kids (28 and 30) live , we decided to all go to Hawaii in January. We're on the east coast, so it's a longer flight. I have been to Kauai/Oahu/Maui and the Big Island in the past, several times, but this is the BEST vacation rental I have ever stayed in and the price was very reasonable. Nihi Kai 401 is perfectly located with a view of the ocean; yes, it's looking over some of the other condo roofs and some trees, but it's still good enough. The top floor has the kitchen, dinnig area with large round table and living room with flat screen TV. The furniture is very nice for a rental condo. The upstairs balcony/lanai has a breakfast table and chairs and is roomy enough to enjoy while looking at the nice view. Downstairs are 2 bedrooms and 2 full bathrooms. Each bedroom has sliding glass doors to private lanais, the master with King bed faces the ocean and the 2nd bedroom has twin beds and a garden/sidewalk view. The beds were very confortable. The only thing I would update is the master bedspread (I didn't like the print). Each bedroom has a ceiling fan, which is nice since there's no A/C. There's always a nice breeze though. It's just a few steps away to the outdoor gas grills. The kitchen is fully equipped with nice pots and pans, etc. The stuff here is not cheap. They provide beach mats, towels and beach chairs too. The pool was well kept and not overrun with people all day. We enjoyed sitting there, reading and floating in the pool. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous, with lovely flowers and colorful plants everywhere, very nice landscaping. The office staff was very friendly and helpful. Everything was perfect here. It's just a short nice walk to the beaches, which are so beautiful here, Poipu and Brenneke's. Calm water to swim in, another alcove with good waves for boogie boarding and even a keiki (kids) swimming area. Gorgeous sunrises and sunsets around 6am and 6pm can be seen, especially from the road that fronts Nihi Kai or the beach. Monk seals come up on the beach on a regular basis, cool! Brenneke's is a good place to eat and just a short walk away. There is also a close-by restaurant called Casa di Amici on Nalo Rd, which runs up the side of Nihi Kai and is a real short walk away. It's Italian with very good food, including fresh fish entrees.

I love this place and this particular condo and plan to return as soon as possible. The owners provide a book with recommeded things to do in Kauai. It has a lot of good and detailed info that really helps you make decisions on what to do, what to eat and where to go. This is a relaxing place to stay while enjoying Kauai. It has free WiFi, a free safe for your laptop, etc. and washer dryer combo downstairs.

Date of stay: January 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large living room, nice furniture, nice view of the ocean, beautiful grounds
Liked least: master bedroom bedspread print; dark in bathrooms; electric stove (I like gas)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teapotgir...
bellingham, wa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place we could have found! Already recommened to others!”
Reviewed 2 March 2011 for a stay in February 2011

We stayed at the Nihi Kai villas #401 mid-February 2011 and it was an absolute dream. We loved the entire stay at the unit. It was spacious, very clean comfortable and quiet. The view from the veranda was wonderful, the pool was within easy reach for our teenager plus 1 and the parking was right there, just as if you were staying at your own home. In fact, the entire stay could be described as 'like home' for us. We went to the market twice to stock up on food; the first time I went early in the morning while everyone slept off our long flight and the second time we went to a larger market and really stocked up. We had all we needed in the kitchen as well as plenty of linens for the pool and beach. There were beach chairs if you want to take them with you. The only thing we could have used and didn't find in the unit were umbrellas. We forgot to bring our own and it did rain a couple of days.

The unit itself is dated, but we didn't care. It has everything we could have needed. They also provide soaps, shampoo so you don't have to lug anything.

The best was everything was in easy walking distance to keep our visit really peaceful. We went to a couple of restaurants that we walked to, the wading pool-like beach area was in easy walking distance and right next to Poipu State Beach which is a very nice grassy area. People were very relaxed in this part of the island.

The Parrish Collection arranged a couple of trips for us and they were fantastic. I always like a referral and they were my referral. Feel comfortable working with them for your special activities.

We will go back again as soon as we can. Enjoy your stay.

Date of stay: February 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Reviewed 20 October 2010 for a stay in October 2010

Date of stay: October 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: ocean view
Liked least: stairs and no grab bars or mat in tub
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Arizona
Reviewed 15 July 2010 for a stay in June 2010

Date of stay: June 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CO
Reviewed 29 October 2009 for a stay in September 2009

Date of stay: September 2009
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: It is close to the ocean and the pool is lovely
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AZ
Reviewed 11 July 2009 for a stay in May 2009

Date of stay: May 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TX
Reviewed 5 September 2008 for a stay in July 2008

Date of stay: July 2008
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.