We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pool side place”
Review of Lava's on Poipu

Lava's on Poipu
Ranked #20 of 43 Restaurants in Koloa
Price range: US$4 - US$32
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Lava’s on Poipu Beach offers lovely open-air ocean views of Poipu Beach at Sheraton Kauai Resort. This casual, locally inspired bar and grill offers a great open-air dining experience with service from sunrise to sunset. Located next to the resort's Ocean Pool and just steps from the beach, Lava’s on Poipu Beach gives a fun and delicious twist to a traditional bar and grill, adding to the excitement of the Poipu Beach's oceanfront playground. Check out our Live Entertainment. Drink Specials 4-6pm Everyday!!
Hanford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good pool side place”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Food was okay for this venue but being able to sit and enjoy some of the most incredible ocean views known to mankind made every good. Bar service was a little slow.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    115
    92
    44
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A bit sterile”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Great service. Decent drinks. Did not eat, but the menu looked good. The atmosphere seems confused. Too sterile for a "pool bar" yet too casual for a restaurant. Seems to have an identity crisis.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Lunch”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a good lunch at Lava's. The waitress was very attentive. We only ate here once but did have them deliver the pork nachos and drinks to our cabana.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank whoneedsajob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast or lunch”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We ate at Lava's for breakfast twice and lunch once. The $25 American Buffet is a great way to start the day--great selection of food. The wait staff both times for breakfast were outstanding. The waffles are are also excellent. For lunch the fish tacos were good. Service is a little slower if you're in one of the bungalows by the pool. Overall they do a good job and the view can't be beat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArdenBensenhaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenient”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Great food. I wish they were open every night for dinner besides Sunday and Monday. We ate breakfast there everyday since we were staying at the Sheraton. I think they could lower the price based on what they offer to eat- especially for the actual buffet. Service was great and it was very clean.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SMcBeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lava's on Poipu also viewed

 

Been to Lava's on Poipu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing