We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Views”

Koloa Heritage Trail
Ranked #11 of 31 things to do in Koloa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 10-mile hiking and biking trail on Kaua'i's south shore.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

If you like fantastic views of the ocean, turtles and rugged surrounding mountain, this hike along the coast is for you. It is a very easy hike along the shoreline. It does get warm, we went in the morning, so make sure you bring plenty of water.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Radtraveler58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    27
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun Hike - Very assessible”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hike is easy to start. It's basically right out of the Grand Hyatt Resort. It's not a difficult hike, but lets you be on the cliffs above the beach. A short detour takes you onto the Hyatt Golf Course.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mariel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
249 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Wonderful Trail/Look for Endangered Bird”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

There are signs along the way alerting you to the possible nest locations, so pay attention and you might get a glimpse. The views out onto the ocean are spectacular! What wonderful, sea air to fill your lungs!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TBeaupre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Easy hike in Poipu”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is an easy walk along the cliffs off of Shipwreck beach. The views are beautiful. It takes you up on the cliffs, past an ancient heiau and along the rocky coastline. Definitely worth doing! The entire trail is about 4 mi round trip. I would rate this hike as easy.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank snickpep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Views Along Coast”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My son and I walked part of this trail from the Grand Hyatt to the west, from Shipwreck Beach heading towards Poipu Beach Park. We didn't make it all the way but enjoyed the views along the length that we went. The lava rocks are beautiful in contrast to the ocean. Definitely worth exploring farther. We also inadvertently traveled parts of this trail by car through Old Koloa Town. A very interesting drive.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Butterfly_n1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Koloa Heritage Trail also viewed

 

Been to Koloa Heritage Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing