We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner”

La Spezia Restaurant and Wine Bar
Ranked #4 of 43 Restaurants in Koloa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$27
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Took my family here for an early dinner. From the outside, this place blends in with the original charm of Old Koloa, but once you walk in, it transforms into a very new, city-like atmosphere.

My son has food allergies, and they too were very accommodating to his needs.

Food was great, as well as the service. Would definitely visit here again.

Helpful?
Thank gcvsd-cy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    153
    42
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax VA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Appetizers -- Entrees Need Some Help”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

With the closing of Pomodoro in Kalaheo, I was on the hunt for a new regular Italian restaurant in the southern part of Kauai. The locals recommended La Spezia, so we tried it out. No reservations are taken for parties under 6, and it was easy to walk-in and get a table mid-week. The appetizers were really good, particularly the pizza, and the baked mozzarella with proscuitto and figs. The main courses were not as good the appetizers. I think the biggest problem for me was the red sauce. For example, the bolognese just lacked unique quality or authenticity. When combined with problems in a couple of the basic Italian restaurant standards, for example, the lasagne, where the addition of zucchini and an unknown pungent cheese threw off the taste a bit, I'd recommend going there only for the appetizers and the very good wine list for a restaurant on Kauai. I would give La Spezia 4 stars for the appetizers and the wine list but overall it deserves a 3.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EGSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
191 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“High class and conveniently situated”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

La Spezia celebrated it's one-year anniversary last night. In addition to an exhibition by local artists Sam Angell and Thomas Green (scuba Tom), we were entertained by Kauai singer/guitarist Lance, performing hawaiian and contemporary favorites.
Shardey Reed, the taco specialist, was there creating tacos for myself and many others. I had the veggie-tacos, 4, yes four, and they were excellent.
La Spezia has a regular menu of up-scale italian dishes, and is the only restaurant serving food weeknights till 10 pm and Thursday and Friday until 12:30 am.
Come in for a great meal and authentic ambiance.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank capncusp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Kauai High!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was our favorite find in Hawaii! A charming small scale "real" restaurant. Loved it so much we came 3 times during our 5 day stay... Brunch, dinner and breakfast on our last day. We loved the "bloody Mary bar" at Sunday brunch.
The place is in Old Ko Ola town in a restored original building ....no a/c,But ceiling fans and plantation shutters kept it comfortable.
Beautiful food prepared by a talented chef.GF zucchini noodles were fantastic.
Not open on Monday or for lunch .

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hankieladie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All hail the bacon and chicken sausage”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The iced tea and coffee left a lot to be desired, but the omelet, amazing bacon, and decadent chicken sausage more than made up for it. The ambiance is fun with great light fixtures. The food will NOT disappoint. Koloa is a cute, quaint strip in the south shore, a perfect place to walk off the calories after brunch!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RDinKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Spezia Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to La Spezia Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing