We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and Fresher”
Review of Koloa Fish Market

Koloa Fish Market
Ranked #2 of 44 Restaurants in Koloa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Edgewater, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Fresh and Fresher”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

On a recent stay in Kauai, my wife and I decided to stay in a condo that had a full kitchen. We did this to see what it would be like to grocery shop and cook while visiting Hawaii. The Koloa Fish Market is a little hole in the wall in Old Koloa Town where we bought our fish.. If you blink you will miss it. They have the freshest fish on the island. Everything is freshly caught that day and it is cheaper than any other market we found. You do have to go early and they only except cash.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    172
    42
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Must have been an off day”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Heard all the hype and convinced my friends to go. We decided to try the two pork plate lunch that came with a small bit of poke and lomi lomi. The kalua pork was grey and tasteless, the poke was the worst we had, the long rice had little if no chicken at all. thankfully we were able to try poke again in Princeville at the grocery store and kalua pork at a luau. Both amazing!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lifesastitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Haupia!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Can I just tell you that the Haupia (coconut dessert) is the BEST I have EVER TASTED! I don't know what they do to make it so perfectly delicious but its simply TO DIE FOR! Their poke (raw fish) IS AMAZING too!

Helpful?
Thank NEVAMINE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Awesome Local Food! ”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

One of the best places for local food on the island. Their Ono with caper sauce or teriyaki sauce is my boyfriends favorite! And I personally love just the traditional Lau Lau plate or Kalua Pig. You can also get the combo plate where you get both lau Lau and kalua pig. And their ahi poke is amazing! GOTTA TRY THIS PLACE WHEN YOU VISIT KOLOA TOWN! :)

Helpful?
Thank KaylanBarretto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Gem on the island.”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Cash only take out only. Only open during day and no Sundays. Insane amounts of food for under $10. Doesn't look like much but I can bet you want to go back for more! You can also buy fresh fish and seafood. So any timeshare owners out there looking for a spot to grab your filets for the grill. Here it is!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samurai242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Koloa Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to Koloa Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing