We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as it used to be”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tomkats Grille - CLOSED

Tomkats Grille
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Barbecue, Delicatessen, Contemporary, Pub, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol
conway, ar
Level Contributor
206 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Have eaten here before and really liked it; however, this time it wasn't so good. I ordered the fish (Mahi Mahi) and chips and the fish was very dry and the batter was not quite done. There was very little flavor. Hubby had the grilled chicken and said it was just o.k. We were told they have new owners. Probably will not go back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ucatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    120
    44
    18
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Poulsbo, Washington
Level Contributor
102 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good dinner, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Had dinner on a weeknight. Good menu, all our food was well prepared with good sized portions, service was good too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Small place on the local strip of stores in Koloa. Best Mai Tai I ever had. Lunch was above average and the scenery is great. The local cat chilled by our table and added to the laid back environment. Great for a tasty lunch. Happy hour deals were great

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RiniSimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor service, terrible food, don't waste your time & money!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I went there for lunch with my dad.

The place was almost empty except for a couple in the corner, took about 10 minutes to be seated despite the waitress spotting us approach.

It took even longer for them to take our order.

We ordered a combo meal of scampi scrimp with pasta and steak accompanied with onion ring sides.

Upon receiving our food it was obvious that presentation wasn't there strong point and the plate looked liked something a 5 year old had put together!

Not only was the steak poorly cooked and despite us requesting the steaks to be cooked "medium" it was painfully obvious that the steaks were closer to "rare" that a "medium" cook!

On the same plate the pasta was swimming in water from the pan that it had been cooked in and it was not seasoned or had any pasta sauce on it. Frankly it tasted bland and unimaginative.
We didn't get scampi shrimp but rather dull unseasoned prawns that tasted like they had been warmed up in a microwave! What a JOKE!!!

The onion rings were the best part of the whole meal! At least they were crunchy!!

Don't bother with this "tourist trap" of a place. To be honest the few restaurants in Koloa town are not very good either. Over priced and disappointing!

Save your money and eat at the Poipu shopping village or kukui'ula shopping village instead. There are better quality choices at both of these locations.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great local joint!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

The mahi mahi was huge, and flavorful. The Poki Bowl had huge flavor, and the service was friendly and refreshing. The three women running the place when I went were just amazing. I love this place... Bang for your buck and then some!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tomkats Grille also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing