We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hideaway!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koloa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kahili Mountain Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Koloa
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We are so happy to have found this little gem! Absolutely beautiful setting, off the beaten path at the foot of the green mountains of Kauai. It was the perfect place to get away from it all and enjoy the peace and quiet, but within a quick, easy drive to the ocean and shops in Poipu. And the property manager was so wonderful and sweet and brought us the most amazing Kauai Avocado on our first day there - we ate it for three days! We will be bacl "=_

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Yoga_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

Spent a week in the canvasback cottage one month ago and had a very peaceful amazing experience. Different geckos, lizards, and huge colorful moths adorn the cabin at night ( as well as mosquitoes } ...a beautiful male stray cat would come visit us every evening as it was obviously lonely and was semi used to human contact and being fed. Really lovely cat, passive and affectionate, doesn't belong out there alone. Neon green crickets abound, wild pigs, especially baby ones visited the backyard at night. Roosters and pheasants strut around you as you sip coffee on the porch in the morning. Trade winds boom down from the mountains with a sound that has to be heard to be believed. This place is special, no doubt, and I will never forget it. The SDA conference and the Church has finally succeeded in terminating the current park operators lease. The current land owners and the church do not want the cabin rentals to continue on the property and have been trying to shut it down for years. I was informed by the current park operators ( who are seventh day adventists themselves and lovely people who operate a school on the property ) that reservations will not be taken after May 2014. Pity as I was planning to come back next year. The only hope is that the owners will lease Kahili Mountain Park to a new company that will operate it, which I find doubtful. This 200 acre lush mountain rainforest escape will most likely be developed into residential condos with a possible water bottling plant being set up as well. These are rumors that I imagine will come true unless a miracle happens. Change and overdeveloping areas that are best left untouched. The school will probably be shut down as well. So sad. Best vacation I have ever had....or probably ever will.

Room Tip: The Canvasback cottage was great....their biggest cottage, 2 master bedrooms, 2 washrooms, full kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We visit Kauai every year and typically stay at ocean front locations. Wanted to try something new and absolutely loved the beauty, peace and serenity of Kahili Mountain Park. Ridge Trail hike directly from the park has an amazing view of Kauai, perhaps the best of all hikes we've endured on the island First time ever taking a shower outside under the stars and moon. Water was perfect temperature for outdoor showers. The property has dozens of chickens, ducks and peacocks that love to be fed directly from your hand and they love to follow you in a bird parade. We had three baby pigs visit the trees right behind our cabin several nights. This is definitely a place to get in touch with nature and all the other beauty of Kauai that is not centered around the ocean. Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Chose cabins with outdoor showers. Showering under moon and stars is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

It was such a joy to return to the Kahili Mountain Park for another visit. It is a wonderful place, full of beauty and peace. Our cabin was perfect for us and we spent many happy mornings on the front porch drinking Kauai coffee as we watched the sun rise and the clouds drift over the mountains. The cabin was rustic but with the new mattresses and linens and towels it was comfortable and cozy. Penny Brewer and her husband were gracious and accommodating hosts and tended to our needs and made our stay a delight. We loved the unique features of the property: the ubiquitous chickens, the variety of citrus fruit from the trees, the hiking trail to the ridge of the mountain, and the wide open spaces through out the camp. Truly a special place to come and relax, to slow the pace of life and savor the beauty of creation.

Room Tip: Cabin #32 faced the east and on nice days we could watch the sun rise. It is very private and overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MaisieBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I have been taking my hiking groups to stay here since at least the early 1980s. Penny is an excellent manager and goes out of her to help you get the right cabin or rental house for your party. It is a quiet place to stay amongst nature. We will definitely book there the next time we are on Kauai. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BILL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

In an expensive hotel in an over commercialized city. Kahili Mountain Park proves that you can have a good time without spending a lot of $$$. I am here during the winter season, which was the cheapest we could get the flight for. Be advised that it rains A LOT here during that time, so dress appropriately. The cabins range from dirt cheap $15 a night) to I think $180 a night for a cottage. The cabins just have a bed with sheets and a thin blanket, a mini fridge and a hot plate. It also has a sink. Bathrooms and showers are a short walk away. No tv. The cottages are pretty nice, they have bathrooms and showers inside plus washing machines/dryers and a real stove. Polished hardwood floors.

I recommend that if you come during the rainy season you rent an all wheel or 4 wheel drive vehicle because the roads can get quite muddy and a car can get stuck. Also bring an extra warm blanket if you can or a small heater.

Room Tip: If you have multiple people rent a cottage and bring sleeping bags and sleep on the floor. Much more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank douglas h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

When you stay at the base of a volcano, the clouds back up to the mountain top and can rain every half hour in the rainy season. Yet, leave the property and go to the beach and the sky can be clear and wonderful. Such is winter in Kauai. I've stayed here before. it's gotten a little run down but it is still a wonderful and beautiful location. The school (which includes the cabins) has a very long lease on the property but the children, I've heard, of the man who gave the school the lease have become greedy and are trying to make business difficult for the cabins. So, prepare yourself for it being wet, damp and paper curling in the winter. Go to the town library is you need air-con. They are very helpful there. And free computers. Enjoy Kahili Park just know what you're getting into. You are in a rain forest after all! I'll go back, I'm sure.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mooseremote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koloa
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahili Mountain Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahili Mountain Park

Address: Kahili Mountain Park, Koloa, Kauai, HI 96756
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Koloa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Koloa
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Kahili Mountain Park Koloa, Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing