We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We're still talking about the breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marjorie's Kauai Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marjorie's Kauai Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Lawai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We're still talking about the breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Wonderful stay! We rarely write reviews for places we stay, but always read them! So it is about time we posted our own. A fabulous place to visit, the hosts Michelle and Jodie were so welcoming, knowledgable and helpful. We borrowed snorkels, chairs and bodyboards making for an easy stay. Fabulous views, great pool and hot tub. Breakfast is out of this world for people that love breakfasts! Gorgeous fresh fruit, granola, delicious coffee, and homemade eggs/quiche/sausages - simple perfect! Beautiful views and nice private balcony. We stayed in the trade winds room, exceptionally clean and good value. Thank you for a wonderful stay, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPA555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    17
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
14
282
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed in the Tradewinds Room 3 nights in early May. Spent 4 nights elsewhere. Why? Can't think of a reason now! The Inn's price is right. Room very comfortable for a couple, clean, modern. Inn location allows easy access to rest of island. Mike's breakfasts and conversation--great! Lanai view over the valley at breakfast--fantastic. Plenty to do in the vicinity. Good advice from Mike regarding touring options. Beach and related gear available for guest use. All pros, no cons from our perspective. Made our stay on Kauai all the more memorable. Thanks, Mike.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trier, Germany
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Big Mahalo to Jodi and Michelle. We had an excellent stay with you. The location was one of the best we have ever seen. Great view, plus pool and jacuzzi, plus plenty of beach stuff to rent, plus, plus, plus...
Well prepared for storms iselle and julio. Perhaps an A/C in our room was the only thing we missed. Great pick!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bernie_P82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marjorieskauaiinn, Owner at Marjorie's Kauai Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for the nice comments. We do not rent our beach "stuff" it is free for all of our guests. Also, we do have an air conditioner in our Sunset View room. Very few rooms have air conditioning on Kauai as there is only about 6 weeks when it would get used throughout the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was our second visit at Marjorie's Kauai Inn and once again, it was absolutely perfect. Our innsitters, Jodi and Michelle, were wonderful hosts; they were helpful, generous and very entertaining :)

Our room was first rate - very comfortable and absolutely spotless. Breakfast was always cooked beautifully and enjoyed on the amazing lanai with its breathtaking view.

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and will undoubtedly return soon.

Thanks again for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Li_and_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed three nights in the trade winds room and it was heavenly! Our guest hosts Jodi and her sister were wonderful; so accommodating and helpful. The amenities that Marjorie's Inn offers makes it extra special. Upon our arrival we were given some wine with a fruit and cheese tray which we so enjoyed. The views from our lanai were so beautiful it was hard to leave in order to do some sightseeing! Definitely a real find in Kauai!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

what a nice find this place was.. in a neighborhood, perched on a hill overlooking a valley.. the sunsets were great. Mike is a very good host, with good conversation, island ideas, and geez - he sure cooks a mean french toast, even accommodating our gluten free needs. the breakfast was outstanding, with quality continental items, and with always one hot dish (eggs, pancakes, french toast). Our room (Tradewind) was very nice, with a mini fridge, 4 post bed, spacious deck with lounge chairs, and a cool wall art (I will include the picture). I also availed myself of the pool and hot tub - great after a long day of hiking in the Canyon. One more unexpected treat: Mike's offer to use the washer dryer if we needed to. I REALLY needed to wash our hiking clothes. that was most welcome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in the Sunset view room and everything was perfect! Alexis and Mike's place is just stunning and they are very welcoming.

They gave us many advices such as snorkeling spots, great restaurants and things we couldn't miss in Kauai. They manage to book Luau show for us, which we really enjoyed by the way. Mike also booked a last minute helicopter tour for us and we even had front seats: it was just amazing!

And the breakfasts were delightful: freshly squeezed fruit juices every morning, eggs, pancakes, local organic granola, yoghurts, cakes, fruits... you got it: a very complete breakfast that you have on the lanai with a breathtaking view on the valley.

Our room was also perfect: the bed was very comfy, and we had a private hot tub on our lanai from where we could enjoy the sunset and the valley.

Also, many beach equipments are available: chairs, coolers, beach towels, snorkels etc.

Mahalo Alexis and Mike, we really enjoyed our stay and if we come back in Kauai one day (we hope so), we'll definitely stay at your place again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chocovore261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lawai
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marjorie's Kauai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marjorie's Kauai Inn

Property: Marjorie's Kauai Inn
Address: P.O. Box 866, Lawai, Kauai, HI 96765
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lawai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lawai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marjorie's has a 50' salt water pool overlooking the beautiful Lawai valley. There are 2 hot tubs for our guests to use. We want all of our guests to feel at home so we provide boogie boards, fins and snorkel equipment, bikes, a kayak, a large bbq by the pool, and a surf board. Our guests can use the washer/dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Marjorie's Kauai Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marjorie`s Kauai Hotel Lawai
Marjorie's Kauai Inn Lawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing