We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place-unfortunate location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Garden Island Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2012

For our first trip to Kauai and being budget-minded, we wanted a place near Lihue airport with proximal accessibility to both the North and South shores. We had heard good things about the Garden Island Inn, not only on Trip Advisor but in major travel guides as well, and they turned out to be spot-on.
The rooms were clean and appointed cheerfully with vibrant local artwork and wicker/rattan furniture. We chose to stay on the third floor, having heard about the road noise which is due to proximity to the major thoroughfare through Lihue. We still heard the noise, but the view was wonderful. From our bed we watched the sun come up through the palm trees lining Kalapaki Beach.
There was no elevator to the third floor so if you don’t travel light as we did that might be an issue. We only stayed two nights but would have been very comfortable for a longer stay. Our room, #19, was huge. The king bed was very comfortable. The kitchenette had bowls, plates, utensils, dish liquid and towels for clean-up. There was a microwave, coffee maker and fridge with freezer compartment.
The only drawback to the room was that the shower spigot was very short in length and my 5’7” sister had to crouch to wash her hair under it. The lone air conditioner was of the window type and very rinky-dink. In a hotter climate it certainly would not have been adequate for the room, but we found the trade winds were enough to keep us cool at night. Granted we were not there much during the day so cannot attest to the level of comfort during midday. In the end we did not run the unit at all.
The nearby “mall”, mere footsteps away, had about three restaurants but they reminded me of taverns or pubs where college students and partiers would gather. Indeed on our first night our sleep was disturbed in the wee hours by partying pedestrians setting off firecrackers across the street. We ate twice at the Feral Pig there, only because we were exhausted and didn’t feel like driving anywhere else. Again, it was very pub-like. Their breakfast fare was fine but neither of us finished a large but unpleasant burger we ordered for supper one night.
The staff at the Inn was very pleasant, and I will relate one story to illustrate their commitment to the comfort of their guests. This being our first visit to a tropical island, we were rather alarmed to be greeted by a small ”lizard” when we arrived in our room. I immediately called the desk and asked if there was someone who could remove the lizard for us. The woman calmly reassured me that we were in no danger, that the “lizard” was a gecko and were quite common in tropical destinations. She said she had difficulty walking but would find a member of housekeeping to come to our aid. Minutes later, not only did this friendly limping woman show up but so did two other women, mature members of the housekeeping staff, locals undoubtedly. They assured us, not only with words but with their friendly, motherly arms around our shoulders that we would likely never see that gecko again and that there was no way it would enter our bed or be crawling on us. They said it was more scared of us than we were of it. They said besides, the geckos are what keeps bugs away so we can feel happy about that! My sister and I were touched by their response and our fears were allayed, and what’s more they were right, we never saw the gecko again!
The only reason I would look for Kauai accommodations elsewhere, now that I know the lay of the land, would be due to the road noise. You can see and hear vehicles from dawn to dusk and many of them are trucks. It is a shame because otherwise this property is most pleasant; very pretty, if tiny, grounds that look like a botanical garden, a lovely waterfall that fills your room with sound all the time, pleasant staff, supplies like towels, beach chairs, boogie boards, ice chest, books and DVDs that you can “borrow”, and a great value for the money to boot.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loofer, Owner at Garden Island Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Thank you for choosing the Garden Island Inn. I appreciate you taking the time to review the good points of your stay. The car noise at night is unfortunate, as it is just a 2 lane road with the park and beach across the street; as you pointed out to the beautiful Kalipaki Beach.
Guests who close the sliding door and use the air condtioning with the rear windows open to hear the waterfall, have reported a very pleasant night rest. The shower height is an easy fix and we will replace the shower heads to make the showers more comfortable, thanks for the "heads up".
Your repeat business and referals are what we strive for, hope to see again soon.
Sincerely, Lis & Steve Layne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

628 - 634 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2012

If you want fancy, stay at the Marriott Resort across the road from GII. This place is bargain funky. Good location. Yes, there is some road noise. Pleasant and clean rooms. Great beach a few minutes away. Close to the airport, but "almost" on the water. 2 minute walk to Kalapaki shops and restaurants. I'd stay here again! This visit was 5 nights.

Room Tip: Second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmrapDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The Garden Island Inn lets you escape the sameness of standard Hawiian hotels and resorts. It is a family friendly motel-like facility with very helpful staff (especialy Germaine), located just across the street from the pleasant beach at Kalapaki Bay. The Inn has free parking, Wi-Fi connectivity as well as beach ammenities from towels through snorkel gear. The Inn has no restaurant however multiple restaurants serving local food as well as fine dining are within easy walking distance. Rooms are adequate in size with kitchenette appliances and window air conditioning. In Lihue with easy access to the airport, the Inn is centrally located mid-way between Hanalei and Poi Pu beach resorts. Evade the tourist masses and stay at the Garden Island Inn.

Room Tip: Second story rooms have easier to see sunrise views but there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Our first night of a two-week visit to Kauai was spent at this Inn on the main road through Kalapaki Bay. We were greeted warmly and efficiently by the reception lady and given an upgrade to a larger room without even asking. The room was clean and fresh, with nicely tiled floors throughout. This room could easily have accommodated a family of four. The mini kitchen had all the necessary equipment for a family stay. From our front lanai (fancy Hawaiian for porch or balcony) we could see Kalapaki Bay and from the rear we opened on a lovely garden and waterfall. They provide chairs and other gear if you want to walk across the road to the beach. The beds were comfortable.

The downside - the Inn is located on the main drag through town, with an intersection in front. The sound of trucks went late and began early. And, at $135/nght it was not a great bargain.

Room Tip: All rooms open on the passing road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loofer, Owner at Garden Island Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Thank you for the nice report of the room accomidations. We strive to deliver a great guest experience. The truck noise that you reported is unfortunate. The Nawiliwili Road which The Garden Island Inn is located off of is a 2 lane road with no intersection traffic signal or major cross roads. Sleeping with the sliding door closed and air conditioner on along with the noise from the rear waterfall provides most guest with a pleasent night sleep. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Sincerely, Lis & Steve Layne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We were disappointed with our stay at garden island inn. The room was TINY. It was probably the most cramped room i have ever stayed in. THere is no tub - only a shower. Everytime one of us took a bath the smoke alarm would go off for a good 30 minutes.

Having said that - the rooms come at a reasonable price. If you are looking to stay in lihue this is a good spot close to the beach/shops/restaurants. The staff was very friendly. They provide beach mats,snorkel gear for a day on the beach which is a major plus. the kalapaki beach is a 5-6 minute walk across the street and there is easy access to resturants.
Overall if you want to stay at a reasonably priced inn in lihue close to the beach and restaurants this is a good place. Be prepared for the paucity of space.
We left after 1 night as we were unable to work with the cramped rooms. My husband and i felt we were tripping over each other. The staff expedited our check out process and were friendly through the whole experience.
bottom line - If you are prepared for really really small rooms this is good value for the money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vidalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Our family recently stayed at Garden Island Inn in Kauai. Our parents were celebrating their 50th Wedding Anniversary.We also had newlyweds with us,my husband and myself. This place is central to everything on the Island. It is very clean, great prices and has the best staff ever!
You can look across the street and watch the Cruise Ships come in. We felt like "family". They let us use their ice chest,lawn chairs,towels,etc. It is well worth it to stay at Garden Island Inn!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I stayed at the Garden Island Inn last week, for 6 days. It was my first time on the island, so I wanted a 'launchpad' so I could explore the island. The location worked out really well for me - centrally located -easy access to both the North and South shores. There is a beach across the street and several small restaurants and shops across the street too - so you don't have to drive everywhere if you don't want to. The room was basic; plenty of space with a microwave and a fridge - small balcony - comfortable and clean - bed was ok. The staff were very friendly and willing to provide info. Hotel is on a busy street/highway so I wouldn't choose to hang out there all day, but it was quiet at night for sleeping -- I plan to return!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zangmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
3.7 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,378 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
60 reviews
9.0 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.8 mi away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#7 of 11 in Lihue
383 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn Hotel

Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9590
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: £121 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Island Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Hotel Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing