We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Garden Island Inn Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Kauai Inn(Lihue)(Great Value!)
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$274
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$605
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$525
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$401
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$365
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$411
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$354
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$660
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$617
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (945)
Filter reviews
945 results
Traveller rating
628
248
53
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
628
248
53
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboogie boardsbeach towelsgranola barspumpkin piehand paintedsnorkel gearoffice doorgarden islandroad noisesmall hotelbeach itemscoffee makerwithin walking distanceclose to the airportabc storekalapaki bayneeded a place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
696 - 701 of 945 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2012

What an awesome, adorable and relaxing place to stay before going to our Princeville 3 week vacation and returning for a stay prior to boarding our plane to return to Ohio. Everyone was so helpful, friendly and we "talked story". We will surely stay here again and for a week ....or more, along with our timeshare.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank granmamicham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We really enjoyed our short 3 day stay. The property is older but wears its age well. The rooms and doors are adorned with hand painted pictures that are a perfect match for the area and atmosphere. Manager friendly and accommodating would visit again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKcharger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 6 wonderful days.
Room 21 was very comfortable and the quirky hotel supplied chairs, mats, boogie boards for the beach plus DVD's, juice from their own "tangerone" tree, cookies and every courtesy.
We would certainly stay here again if we visit the beautiful green island of Kauai again.
A wonderful change from major chain hotels.
Bring ear plugs. Some rooms are near a main road and the island wide chicken infestation can mean cocks crowing throughout the night.

Room Tip: Stretch to an orchid suite. The extra space is well worth while.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

My brother and I stumbled upon the Garden Inn as we were aimlessly driving south-east to get away from the rain after a long, wet, multiday hike on the Napali coast!! I walked in to check the rates and asked to see a room (you just never know). We were so pleasantly surprised with the sweet and cheery rooms. Everything we needed to dry out and get a few comfortable night's of rest. I normally prefer to stay in 4+ star hotels (when I'm not camping), but that's because most motels and cheap hotels do not have the charm and comfort of this little place. Total score. The beds were perfect and comfortable (and there were 2 beds which is great if you're sharing with your brother!). Really loved the little balcony overlooking the gardens below. The office staff were incredibly nice and so were the housekeeping staff! One of the nice ladies even let us throw our absolutely-soaked-to-the-core rain jackets in the dryer:) The office had free movies and pocorn, and coffee, fresh juice and granola bars in the mornings. Just really nice little touches that add up to a great little place to stay. Great location to walk around too, good shopping and eats nearby, and a little surf beach. I stayed last year, and have such fond memories, I'm definately staying here again. Thanks for saving me from a boring hotel room and having the best value around:) Seriously, stay here if you want something a little different with a lotta good!

Room Tip: Go for a room on the second floor with a balcony.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hoboprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This place is a jewel. The hand painted walls; doors and ceilings are great, original art work everywhere. The place is very quite; convenient and lovely. The gardens are great. Fresh flowers in the room everyday were awesome as well. Even better no big resort "hub bub"!! A couple of mornings the staff even brought in fresh squeezed tangelo juice!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews