We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden Island Inn - Offers one night stays.”
Review of Garden Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Island Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Garden Island Inn - Offers one night stays.”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Trip Advisor:

Garden Island Inn - Kauai: Stayed May 2nd and May 10th, 2013

We were very pleased with our two one-night stays at the Garden Island Inn [hotel] It is a budget hotel and as such I would give it five stars for the amenities it offers. The staff was very friendly and helpful providing us with a cooler, free cookies and information on sites to see and things to do. The hotel is clean [even immaculate]. It offers comfortable beds, coffee, tea, a refrigerator without a bunch of junk in it; and even a small microwave. The bath was small but plenty of hot water. The grounds are nicely landscaped; and there is even a small pond with coy and in back an artifical [man-made] waterfall. Original paintings are throughout – in the lobby, in each room and even the the doors.
The location is very convenient – across the street from a shopping plaza [ABC store, restaurants, etc ; as well as a park and the city bus stop. It is within easy walking distance to the cruise ship or Kalapaki Beach. We asked for a ground floor room as there is no elevator [we are in our 70’s]. We stayed there on arrival since we couldn’t get into our timeshare exchange until the next day and we also stayed there at the end of the timeshare week as we couldn’t get into our rental apartment on the north shore without a one day gap as well. No extra cleaning charges for the one-night stay. Would we stay there again? In a heart beat. Great little budget hotel. Oh, yes, the ubiquitous rooster and chickens are there as they are anywhere on Kauai. Finally, the hotel is just a couple miles from Lihue airport; Walmart; the Times Supermarket; Home Depot, and the Cheveron gas station [Rice Street].

Room Tip: No elevator. Best views are upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WDG123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    217
    49
    7
    8
See reviews for
174
405
63
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilo, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

If you are looking for a basic and comfortable location to explore Kauai from then this hotel is ideal. It is about 5 minutes drive from the airport and beside the beach. There are several restaurants you can walk to including Duke's. There is also an ABC store across the road. The room doors open to the outside like a motel. There is a small fridge and microwave in the room. Everything is clean and in good order and the staff are very friendly. I love to stay at fancy resort hotels (don't stay here if this is what you are looking for) but I really enjoyed the Garden Isle Inn. Other reviews mentioned traffic noise but I did not notice this.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank small_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Garden Island Inn is a great place to stay in Kauai! Right in the heart of Lihue, it is across the street from Kalapaki Beach, and a mile from a great shopping mall (Kukui Grove) as well as stores within walking distance. The staff is wonderful, the units are beautifully decorated with artwork by Camille Fontaine. There are a lot of complimentary beach items available for use, which came in very handy! The coffee and fresh flowers were also great! Many wonderful memories of our stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue_Marty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Kauai can be an expensive place in terms of accomodation if you haven't booked anything in advance (mainly "vacational rental" as they call it).
So this is a small hotel, well located in Lihue, at a walking distance from a beach that will suit kids.
Staff is great, very helpfull and attentive, free use of small boogie boards or other "beach" equipment that you could need.
cons : curtains can't manage to keep the room dark, and wall are not that thick...so you could expect a bit of nois in case of a late or early shower from the room next door.
Stiil a very good deal for the area. Would recommand it, but just a making it your "night base" (i mean : don t think spending anything else than the night time..)

Room Tip: second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jochina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Wouldn't stay anywhere else. In the two weeks I have been here I feel like part of the family. Complementary beach towels & chairs, snorkel equip, books, movies, nutrition bars, cookies and coffee provided in the office. Cosy, quaint, charming. Super friendly staff. A true taste of the ALOHA spirit.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This is a well loved, beautiful property that reminds you of the way things used to be. Local calls are free, vending machine cokes are $0.75, and beach equipment is available to check out. The staff treats their guests just the way they would want to be treated and are wonderful people.
Although the rooms are small, they are clean and well appointed with beautiful island paintings done by a local artist. Fresh flowers from the many gardens on the property brighten the rooms.
If you are expecting a high end hotel, this isn't the place for you. If you are looking for amazingly friendly service, a "happy" old fashioned hotel..then stay here. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly to book the type of room that meets your needs. Booking online gives you mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nursejudy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I have been intending to write about our fabulous 11 night stay at the Garden Island Inn two months ago in February. We found this gem right here on Trip Advisor last fall. It looked just like the warm and friendly place we would love, and it truly is! I was just looking at our pictures of Kauai and recalling how happy we were with the Garden Island Inn and the lovely folks who took such good care of us! The location of the inn is also perfect, within a short walk of the beach and a great variety of restaurants, central to everything on Kauai, and just a short drive to the airport.
Kauai is an incredible island and the Garden Island Inn is a cozy retreat with everything we wanted (at a very affordable price!). We are looking forward to a return visit to both Kauai and the Garden Island Inn.
Aloha and Mahalo to the folks at the Garden Island Inn!

Room Tip: We were room 18, third floor. Probably more spacious than we needed, but it was pleasant to relax a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CFandJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,313 reviews
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn

Property: Garden Island Inn
Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9590
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Garden Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing