We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful location, hospitable owner, clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Garden Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Garden Island Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Mainland U.S.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful location, hospitable owner, clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2008

My husband and I recently stayed the night before leaving Kauai. This is our 4th year to stay there. Last summer we stayed for 3 nights. It's close to the airport and is located just across the street from Kalapaki Beach.
This last visit proved to be better than ever -- the place was spotlessly clean, seemed to have new bed linen with new pillow protectors and nice mattress pad (yes, I check these things!)
We stayed on the 2nd floor with balcony. It was small but cozy with a glass-topped table with two chairs inside -- and a table and two chairs on the lanai. Good lamps, TV, chest of drawers and night stands. Nicely painted inside with beautiful paintings by local artist. The gardens are lovely with plumeria and other flowers.
The sunrises from the balcony are spectacular. Beautiful views of Kalapaki Beach. Easy access--just walk across the street. Beach towels, snorkel gear, boogie boards, mats are all available at the office. Wash sand off in the gardens where outdoor shower is provided. Fun. Cookies -- yummy! Lots of aloha.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hokulealinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    204
    48
    7
    8
See reviews for
159
375
59
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2008

I was a member of the same reunion group and couldn't agree more. Anything we asked for was cheerfully virtually always granted. Plenty of fluffy towels. Comfortable beds. Convenient location with easy access to breakfast places, ABC store shopping and Internet cafe. Nothing fancy or posh but so old-time Hawai'i. Couldn't have been happier.
MAHALO, GARDEN ISLAND INN!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank tutunene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2008

My high school graduation class of 1958 had a reunion on Kauai and we chose the Garden Island Inn for a two night stay. I was a little nervous about making the choice for 20 people....BUT, Bravo! the class loved our choice. The owner made a sign for us saying "Welcome..." The staff had snorkeling equipment, towels, tatami beach mats and coolers we could use for no charge. They have coffee and oatmeal cookies available at all times. The gardens are beautiful and the whole place is filled with original art. I felt that this small hotel carried the aloha spirit to the max. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — caring staff and owner; colorful original art; good location
  • Disliked — some rooms a little dark and maybe a little traffic noise on weekends
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2008

The hotel was nice, the room was spacious with fridge and microwave and if you book the second floor or higher, you get a nice balcony with a view towards the ocean.
Wireless internet available.
www.gardenislandinn.com

Overall I enjoyed the hotel. I think the price is reasonable for Kauai. It is conveniently close to the airport (about 4-5 min by car). Near the hotel is ABC store that is open late in case you need some wine or munchies. Also there is a nice japanese/chinese restaurant in the shopping complex near the hotel for a good price.
Not too far is K-mart and Barnes and Noble.

There aren't many hotels in the vicinity of this hotel thus it is more calm in the area.

  • Liked — The room was nice and calm. Not for people who like resorts.
  • Disliked — The chairs were not the most comfortible.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank laotzu_ching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2008

We stayed at the hotel the first two nights and my honey and I decided to go camping at Anini beach, tent and all. The staff was accommodating (Susan is super nice!) and the hotel has a room full of beach stuff (snorkel gear, beach chairs, travel books, etc) that guests may borrow. There is a picturesque garden area and the property was extremely clean and well kept. At the end of our stay, we donated the camping gear that we bought to the hotel.

Nearby perks: The Marriott Kauai Resort is a 2-minute walk away, so I booked a massage (ask for Les!) and we ate several times at Duke's Barefoot Bar and Restaurant, which has a view of the ocean. The hotel is just a few minutes from the airport, and our second-floor Tropical room had a lanai, fridge, microwave, DVD player, TV, wireless internet access.

Only downsides: The first two nights we were there, we had a queen-sized bed in room #9 but on the last night we stayed in room #10, which was nicer, but had two twin beds pushed together made to look like a king-sized bed. We could hear the traffic as well as the horn of the cruise ship a few times. The remedy for this was to close the windows facing the street and turn on the air conditioner. Would be nice to have coin-operated washing machines and/or dryers for guests.

Overall, terrific experience and wonderful memories.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank AlegriaLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2008

Budget, budget, budget. You pay for what you get. We are out and about most of the day and wanted a place that was centrally located where we could basically just sleep. It fit the bill even though it was noisey on Friday night. A party in the neighborhood and someone was playing the stereo in their truck. Our room was pretty clean and we could walk to the beach after dinner. Don't count on a view.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — shadey
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Alavare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2008

Great place to set your anchor on this island!! Beautiful lush garden and ponds of fish with orange trees. There'a a beach across the street and all the necessary amenities are within walking distance.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Hearing traffic
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jojodancer987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn

Property: Garden Island Inn
Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9590
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing