We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Garden Island Inn Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$660
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$617
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Kauai Inn(Lihue)(Great Value!)
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$274
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$605
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$525
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$425
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$365
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$411
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$354
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (945)
Filter reviews
945 results
Traveller rating
628
248
53
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
628
248
53
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboogie boardsbeach towelsgranola barspumpkin piehand paintedsnorkel gearoffice doorgarden islandroad noisesmall hotelbeach itemscoffee makerwithin walking distanceclose to the airportabc storekalapaki bayneeded a place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
621 - 626 of 945 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Other Tripadvisor reviews were on the money
Garden Island Inn is a great place to stay
Friendly, nothing was a problem
Rooms were great
Beach close by, shops as well
Great position being about the middle of driving to either end of Kauai
Definitely will be staying here when we return to Kauai

Room Tip: Can choose your room on their website, spend the extra and get a room with a partial ocean view
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wiiiildbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We needed a place to stay during the day since our flight was leaving really late. Garden Island Inn was so great to give us a special day rate!! The rooms are decorated so beautifully with tropical paintings, and the rooms are very clean! The staff was so friendly, and very accommodating!! As well, the price is so reasonable! Great place, and right across the street from the beach and great places to eat!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We expected a good experience from the reviews we read, but we were still surprised -- and delighted. The Inn is not for those that are happy only in an opulent resort atmosphere -- the beach isn't right outside the door and our shower was too small to be comfortable (not enough to dent our 5-star rating), but the bed was incredibly comfortable, the room was clean, the proprietors and staff are friendly and helpful, all the necessary amenities were in place; and games, movies, beach and surf gear are freely available to borrow. Beach, the airport, and good, reasonably-priced restaurants are nearby. And the room and gardens -- and the proprietors -- are INTERESTING! We'll stay here again in a heartbeat!

E. Lee

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Elliott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The pictures online made it look like the place was on the beach so we were disappointed when we saw that it was across a busy road then a public park and then the beach. The room we got was very small - I mean claustrophobic small - double bed accessible from one side only as it was up against the wall. This room was right for one person on a quick overnight. We decided not to stay and they offered us an immediate refund but also offered to up-grade us so we checked out the new room and it was fine. Nice size, balcony, view of the water. We stayed three nights and they really won us over. Germaine was the leader of the pack - friendly and full of very useful suggestions and information. All front desk and room attendants were very friendly. Coffee and cookies each morning at the front desk area as well as beach towels, folding chairs and other good stuff.

Location is perfect to start your trip out or for an overnight before early departure as it is close to the airport. There are a number of good restaurants and shops within walking distance. We liked JJ's for BBQ and island food (pulled pork and cabbage with an island flavor was my favorite).

Room Tip: Third floor, center area that faces the water.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Where do I begin with the review? Amazing, perfect, one of the highlights of the trip? Those would be a few words to describe my stay at the Garden Island Inn. From the moment my friend and I arrived we were treated like family. Use of all the beach items they had, tips on where to go, staff that were genuinely interested in you and what you were doing. At one point they even tried to find a toaster oven for my friend to use because she was craving cookies, where can you find a place that will do that for you?

The room was cozy and comfortable. The kitchenette suited our needs and we were able to have some breakfasts and snacks in the room saving on our eating out all week.

The staff were amazing. I have stayed in resorts, 5 star hotels and have never had the experience as I did here. Both my friend and I were very touched that on our visit it was a staff members birthday, and we were actually invited to their home to celebrate with them. Each morning there was fresh coffee and a smile asking what we had planned for the day, and the housekeeping staff were fantastic. We were never for want of anything.

This is not a resort destination, you will not find a lavish pool or over priced restaurant on property. You will find a quaint hotel steeped in Hawaiian charm that makes you feel like you are actually in Hawaii. The grounds are very well maintained, with ample areas to sit outside and enjoy the beauty of the gardens. You will hear chickens... you are on Kauai, so really you will need to get used to it.

I loved its location as it was within walking distance of the ABC for little things needed, Dukes and The Feral Pig (both great places to eat) and right across from the beach.

I will come back, and this will definitely be one of those places that I tell everyone about if they want to get a good feel of Kauai and experience a more local flavor.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tinaann2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews