We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modest hotel with affordable price”
Review of Garden Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Garden Island Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
McLennan, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Modest hotel with affordable price”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Nice location that is close to shopping. Rooms are modest but clean. Beds are European hard. Might want to mention your bed preference when booking.. Owners and staff are wonderful. When we complained about the bed alternate arrangements were offered as well as cancelation without penalty. Recommend this hotel for adding a few days to your timeshare.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ShaRays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    213
    49
    7
    8
See reviews for
170
400
61
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

What a find! The friendly staff is tireless in their efforts to make their guests happy. You will be surrounded by lush greenery and original art. The rooms are outdated, but efficient and clean. When you walk to the beach they will lend you whatever you need: umbrellas, chairs, coolers, boogie boards. The fresh-squeezed juice from the tangelo trees outside was a delightful touch! Don’t overlook this gem because their customer service is 5-star.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kendra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This hotel is a 2-2.5 star hotel that has all your basic budget hotel amenities. The price and location are very appealing and I would happily stay here again. We had a view of the ocean from our balcony and the beach is literally across the street and through the park. The staff is very friendly and has plenty of beach towels, chairs, umbrellas, etc. for you to borrow. Rooms are clean but furnishings, towels, and bedspreads (yes, bedspreads) are dated. If you want a resort, stay at a resort; but if you want a cool little budget hotel with an artsy look and lush landscaping, this hotel is for you. The free parking is nice, too. Tip, no elevator so pack light.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tsf_tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chardon, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at the Garden Island Inn in December of 2013. We found the staff to be very welcoming and giving. The owners/innkeepers were interested in telling us specific details about activities to do and places to visit on the island. They answered all of our questions thoroughly. They generously loaned us snorkeling sets, boogies boards, and beach chairs which saved us from renting or buying the items. Every day they served coffee, freshly squeezed juice from the tangelo tree, and granola bars. On Christmas morning and the next couple of days after, they baked fresh coffee cake and pumpkin pie sprinkled with coconut. We were encouraged to pick and eat as many fresh tangelos as we wanted. I loved that the rooms and public areas are filled with colorful artwork! The Inn is close to the airport and is in a convenient location to explore the whole island. Waimea Canyon State Park is an easy drive to the southwest, and the Napali Coast is an easy drive to the northwest. The Inn is close to stores and restaurants in Lihue. There is a beach close by as well. The rooms have jalousie windows which encourage great air flow. We never needed to turn on the air conditioner. The rooms are not large, but we really didn't hang out inside - no need to! We had a balcony with a bay view. Outside, there is a space to relax with tables and chairs among the lush vegetation. In the back they have installed a waterfall, which helps to block out street noises. We did get some mosquito bites, so bring your insect repellent for sitting outside. I highly recommend the Garden Island Inn, and would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SMSPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The Garden Island Inn is, without a doubt, the BEST find on Kauai. Everything about the place personifies the whole Kauai experience.....laid back, relaxed, and friendly.
Everything here radiates beauty, from the staff, to the views and location, and the locally commissioned art around the hotel.......EVERYWHERE!! The doors, the walls, even the mailbox.
The prices, and cleanliness, can not be matched.
And the location.......you really don't need to rent a car. Everything you can imagine is within walking distance. From the beach, to shopping, to restaurants and bars. Even the airport is a 5 minute cab ride away.
The staff and owners are amazing people, who are always ready to help with directions, suggestions and recommendations, to almost whatever your room needs.
My wife and I are counting the days until we return to this fabulous place.

Room Tip: Rooms 20 & 21 are, I believe, the largest rooms. Room 20 even has a counter top 2 burner stove.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

The room is very small and sad to say I got bitten by a lot of mosquitoes. What I liked about it is the friendly staff. They offered free wifi and have a coffee maker in the room. You can cross the street and have drinks at Duke's and have a buffet breakfast/brunch at the Marriot's. Close to the airport hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank eli173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed for 5 nights over Xmas, and enjoyed it. The hotel isn't fancy at all, but they gave us tangelos and granola bars and all the beach gear we needed.

Location is ... okay. The view, even from the 3rd floor is mostly highway, not ocean, and because of highway noise, the lanai isn't super great to use. The beach by the hotel is okay by Kauai standards (which means it's great, but others are still better!). The highway being in front of the hotel is handy for driving around the island: since we'd not been to Kauai before, we didn't know which side of the island we'd enjoy, and if we'd been in Princeville and liked Poipu, or vice versa, that would have been a pain. Being in Lihue was good for a first time.

The decor is LOUD, but we mostly didn't notice it after a couple days. The A/C is also loud, in a different sense. Oh, and there's no pool.

Overall, I'd call this a surprising value.

Room Tip: I don't think the view rooms are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melted_snowball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn

Property: Garden Island Inn
Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9590
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing