We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going back next year!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden Island Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Going back next year!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Wow, what a wonderful place to stay! we absolutely loved it. This is not the place for you if you need 5 star amenities such as room service, spa etc. If you want friendly staff, very comfortable room, a lanai with a view, and a central location then this is the spot. We stayed 6 days, and found this fit our needs perfectly. We certainly will be going back next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nole75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    201
    48
    7
    8
See reviews for
153
368
56
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
88 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We picked this hotel because we wanted somewhere close to the airport as we were coming in on a late flight and wanted somewhere for a coup[le of days before going for a timeshare week in Princeville.It fit our needs perfectly was perfect.The office was closed when we arrived but there was an envelope on the office door with the keys to our room.The hotel is older motel style but clean and well maintained with some interesting art as well.It was great base to explore the south of the island and 2 mins from one of the best swimming beaches on the island…Kalapaki.Dukes is also on this beach.The only downside is that is on the highway so you have traffic noise particularly in the morning but this was outweighed by all the positives about this place.

Room Tip: secind or third floor if you want a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farrercove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Hotel is in a great location, 1 hour from Waimea and 1 hour from Princeville. We had ground floor room 7 facing the parking lot with a "queen bed" (which was actually 2 twins pushed together, so bed was a little shorter than a regular queen) Room was spotless, very clean and nice to have a microwave and mini fridge for snacks. Free parking and free wifi are a great bonus as most hotels charge a "resort fee" as well as charge for parking. We were able to stay for 12 nights due to the reasonable price of this hotel. The front desk staff is amazing and so helpful. They also have any beach gear you could possiblly want for use at the front desk. Towels, boogie boards, sunblock, bug spray, umbrellas, coolers, etc. There are 2 small shopping centers within walking distance as well as a Marriott across the street with resturants and shops. If you are looking for nightlife, bars, etc this is not the place for you. Very quiet area with residental area all around. Most shops are closed by 8 and it quiets down significantly after that. Overall this hotel is a absolute hidden gem and truly makes going to Kauai affordable. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the property if traffic noise bothers you. We are sound sleepers, so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bridgette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

I was in room 8 on the second floor and paid 130 a night, stayed seven days, I was right next to the cleaning closet which was very noisy, however I just used this room to sleep at night so it wasn't an issue.

The location is close to the highway but the traffic noise didn't really seem to bother me, and it is much quieter at night. My room was spacious however the bathroom was the size of a small closet, the water pressure was strong. Their was a nice coffee machine with quality kona coffee, microwave, bar fridge, tv, free wifi , and a nice balcony.

The motel is centrally located on the island so you can choose to go either north or south if you have a rental car, if you're walking it is very close to shops, restaurants and the beach. The friendly staff were extremely helpful and provide free beach gear, movies and breakfast snacks in the mornings.

I really like the way the owners have decorated the place in bright colours, you can tell they put their heart and sole into the place, very nicely done. This hotel has a homey feel to it and I prefer this to a five star any day.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank curious24seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Central location, good for island sightseeing. Restaurants and beach nearby. Free coffee and free selected breakfast items in the morning, free Wi-Fi, free parking, free DVD borrowing. Owners and staff are unusually friendly and helpful. Traffic noise from nearby road might bother some, but not us. (We're sound sleepers, plus our room was near the fountain/waterfall which provided a pleasant background sound). An excellent choice at a modest (for Kauai) price. We stayed there for 10 nights over the 2013 Christmas holidays, and hated to leave.

Room Tip: A room located near the waterfall, in back of the hotel, minimizes the sound of any road traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearl Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

I booked online. The allocated room 221 is on the ground floor tucked behind reception. Very dark, cramped. The ?kitchen? is blessed with a microwave and single bed. No balcony, no view, smelled of lack of little use as if others had looked at it and left. The main room is small yet jammed with a queen bed, a single bed, a small round table, two chairs and a tv. Simply awful. Claustrophobic. I cancelled, and booked elsewhere. The receptionist is delightful and I suspect has heard many similar complaints about this particular room. The other rooms may be better but I did not see them as the Inn was otherwise booked out.

Room Tip: Avoid room 221 at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank GordonPell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve l, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
We are sorry the room you booked didn't suit your needs. I am very glad to hear the staff gave you a full refund, and tried to find a different room. The Garden Island Inn has only 21 rooms and many different bedding configurations, room sizes, view & balcony options. I truly wish you would have called our hotel to make this reservation, rather than Expedia because we would have made sure you were booking a room with a balcony, a view , the proper bedding arrangement, and the size of room you would have been comfortable with. This ground floor room you booked is a good choice for many people with certain needs, handicapped or small family. Please call or use our website, which has pictures and discription on the rooms, our hotel reservation staff knows the best rooms to accommodate the perfect room for your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We arrived at the Garden Island Inn in a rainy morning. Lihue is definitely not the most beautiful area of Kaua'i. However, the instant we set foot on the front desk room, we were received by a lovely lady who greeted us happily, checked us in early, showed us our comfortable and cozy room, and let us know so many perks of this small boutique hotel that nothing but shocked us. First of all, the room we stayed in had a queen-sized double bed and two single beds. Standard bathroom and kitchen area, with fridge, microwave and dishes. Cozy island decoration and cable television. Every morning, fresh coffee and pie at the front desk, plus cookies, snacks bars and coffee for free during the day. Office hours from 7:30 am to 9 pm really were put in practice, but an emergency phone was given and encouraged to be called were anything to happen. There is a nearby big gym that charges $15 for a day pass. Kalapaki beach is a gorgeous spot, and you can check-out free towels, beach chairs and other interesting stuff at the front desk. It's just a 2-mile ride to a Macy's if you need some urgent shopping. There is also a small center right across the street. JJ Broilers, Duke's and Kalapaki Joe's are good nearby food choices. All in all, what we most absolutely adored was the congenial and comfortable atmosphere of the place. No, it's not a Grand Hyatt, but the staff compensates :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adrian0f2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn

Property: Garden Island Inn
Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9590
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Garden Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing