We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, nice and close to airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Island Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Pleasant staff with beach chairs, towels and videos. Little kitchenette with table and ceiling fans. I was in room 21 with a wraparound deck. See attached photos. Short walk to beach and close by eating places.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 833 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

Garden Island Inn is a cool, funky and colorful place to stay. The staff is very pleasant and helpful, from the desk clerks to the gardener. They have beach towels, umbrellas, boogie boards and beach mats to lend. We walked to a nice beach in 5 minutes. I guess you could spend your whole Kauai vacation here...we just needed one night before our morning flight out.
There is free parking, free wi-fi, a fridge & microwave, very colorful decor. We recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilfromDayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here on the way in. Nice place to stay right off the plane. Close to
food and everything in Lihue. Staff is incredibly friendly, hotel it self is funky and
fun. Not the Hyatt for sure, but for the price would be hard to beat.
Call early as fills up quick!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HawaiianStyle808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Two friends and I recently spent two nights at the Garden Island Inn. We chose the hotel because of its great location (Lihue is centrally located for day trips to any area of Kauai) and moderate price. (Unlike many of the big chain hotels in the area, Wifi is free as is parking, which is just a few steps from your room.) We stayed in room #20 with a king-sized bed and three single beds. We had a great kitchenette (a full room with a frig, microwave, and hot plate plus all the kitchen amenities you might need, including a coffee maker, dishes, and cutlery). The bathroom was huge and the place was absolutely spotless. (Seriously, the tile floors sparkled! Thank you Judy and the great cleaning crew!) We had a small lanai off our room and a positively huge lanai off the back side of our room with a full table and chairs, set in a garden-like spot of cascading flowers and palms. There is a small amount of street noise but it's very minor. We would definitely return to this wonderful spot!

Room Tip: Room #20 can't be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddolsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Those who are used to 4 and 5 star Grand Hotels, covered with mahogany and marble will no doubt have little appreciation for this place, but we certainly did! It is like going back in time to what was common in Hawaii before all the big hotel chains started putting up mega-palace high rises... a nice clean room furnished with bamboo furniture and decorated island style with colorful murals, paintings plus lots of tropical trees and flowers.

From the time we arrived, we had nothing but 5-star personal attention from the staff, especially ERIN. We had come with a few things that required refrigeration, but the unit in our room was not plugged in and cool, so she willingly volunteered and scrambled to come up with a cooler and a bag of ice in a quick 5 minutes. Done. Later that afternoon, when we needed directions to Costco, she put us right. Done. That evening, when we wanted to find an adequate & reasonably priced restaurant nearby for breakfast, she recommended "Bamboo." It was just a short walk away, and both the food and service were excellent. Done again.

On our second and last night there prior to moving to a condo with friends for the following week, we came back from dinner to a surprise: a hand-written Thank You note and a box of chocolate covered Macadamia nuts. How many places would do that!??? Especially for a two-night guest. Very extraordinarily nice, and much appreciated.

Yes, there is traffic on the loop road that bottoms out at the shoreline just across the street from this place, but it does settle somewhat at night and we had no trouble sleeping -- on the VERY comfortable bed and pillows. When the locals got the music going too loud across the street (our windows were literally vibrating from theover-driven bass), she called the local police and within a reasonable time, they had it shut down.

The nice thing is the convenience: within just a couple blocks walk, you be on the beach or at a very fancy restaurant in the nearby cove; you can grab a cheap hamburger, shop for souvenirs, hang with the locals at the park, get a great coffee drink, watch the cruise ships come in to the harbor, etc etc. And you're only a couple miles from the airport, making it a convenient stop for an arrival or departure day.

Summary: Great value, superior personnel, convenient location, old-style ambience. Book it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobW75087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Glad we stayed only one night before our flight back home. Our room (#3) on the main floor was basic, small and dark, being a little bit clautrophobic I had a hard time and didn't sleep. It is located close to the road, and it was very noisy. The Staff was very welcoming and friendly though. We borrowed beach towels to spend the afternoon on Kapalaki Beach close by. Coffee and Tea with microwave are available in the room. No breakfast served (some fruits, pastries, coffee available at front desk), but there are several restaurants across the street.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dom-Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed 6 nights in room 21 from Feb 5-11 before heading to Maui. Our room was huge for the two of us with a wrap around balcony. Yes, you are on a busy highway but the noise dies down at night. Shame on you if you sit in your room all day when there is so much to see and do anyways. Staff was super friendly and all the included things like parking, wifi, beach gear and snacks and coffee throughout the day made it a great deal! Will return for sure !

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank vegas1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
3.7 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,395 reviews
9 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
6.6 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.8 mi away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#6 of 11 in Lihue
383 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn Hotel

Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9590
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: £109 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Island Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Hotel Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing